Building a Server - Page 5 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 05:19 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
U people may be decided on that u need huge amount of RAM but i dunno, all my servers have had no more than 2gb and ran fine, my mate decided to run a cs:s server on his Athlon 1400mhz coz he thought it woulkd be fast coz it had heaps of RAM but it was heaps slow. Basically, Web/FTP/Telnet/POP/SMTP server = need more RAM less CPU, Games = More CPU less RAM

frupert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 11:56 AM
Security Sleuth
 
KoSoVaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Thats what I was trying to say, a mid-ranged CPU would be excellent for a game server. I had dual xeons 2.8ghz with 2gb ram and it was overkill.

Moving fast, every day.
KoSoVaR is offline  
post #43 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoSoVaR
Thats what I was trying to say, a mid-ranged CPU would be excellent for a game server. I had dual xeons 2.8ghz with 2gb ram and it was overkill.

Sempron 64 = Mid-ranged, right?


[Edit] By the way, all who have posted here have been repped. Thanks guys!

amped is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 03:06 PM
4.0ghz
 
Malachor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hmm I have a Sempron myself and most of my games load at amazing speeds but the fact is that when playing a game like BF2 it loads pretty fast but once done loading you will be lagging like crap because of your other system resources. SWBFII loaded in seconds which was amazing but same thing when done loading.

This is just from experience so if Im right you should be able to host a server with a decent amount of people depending on your sources. But its a fast CPU once OCed so its probaly the Cache that might cut you down. So um...

Malachor is offline  
post #45 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 03:22 PM
4.0ghz
 
el mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
talk to hollowman8904 hes selling his server right now

http://www.overclock.net/sale/74819-...50-server.html

el mailman is offline  
post #46 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 03:57 PM
Security Sleuth
 
KoSoVaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I wouldn't buy that server for a gaming server. I have no problems with my sempron - but your not going to use it as a PC - it's going to be used as a gaming server. As long as you know what your doing with your resources, the sempron should prove very well.

For webserver, I would use LightTPD - http://www.lighttpd.net/
After that, try not to run all your game servers at once. I would reccomend maybe 2 or 3 instances of a counter-strike server, like a private one for scrimmages/matches, and a public one for everyone to play on. When your not using the private one, shut it down.

It's just common sense. Your not building a ultra performance server. I truly believe that the sempron will be a very good budget performance server processor.

Moving fast, every day.
KoSoVaR is offline  
post #47 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 05:15 PM
4.0ghz
 
NOS---'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 108
OK, i have put togeather a list of goos parts...

http://cgi.ebay.com/DELL-GX150-PIII-...QQcmdZViewItem

The Main stuff....

As for serve wise...

Sata RAID card...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815124022

GigaBit LAN card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127134

Possibly another 512MB stick of ram, and any SATA HDD you want...

NOS--- is offline  
post #48 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOS---
OK, i have put togeather a list of goos parts...

http://cgi.ebay.com/DELL-GX150-PIII-...QQcmdZViewItem

The Main stuff....

As for serve wise...

Sata RAID card...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815124022

GigaBit LAN card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127134

Possibly another 512MB stick of ram, and any SATA HDD you want...


Refuse to use a Dell motherboard.

amped is offline  
post #49 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 07:32 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Dorado, CA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by amped
Refuse to use a Dell motherboard.
Agreed, never use a prebuilt system motherboard, or any component for that matter.

Aid in the research, fold for team 37726!!
Neocold is offline  
post #50 of 57 Old 03-03-2006, 07:43 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I think this will all be a waste, it really depends on the internet connection. I have cable and I tried hosting a dedicated cs:s off one of my old intels and it was all about the internet, I have cable, the cable couldn't handle more then 9-10 people.
Chopes is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off