amd cool and quiet is being a problem! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gresham, oregon
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via AIM to masterofthepuppets99
ok i want to use amd cool and quiet becaue my 6000 rpm cpu fan is loud lol!
so in the bios i enabled 1.asus q fan2.i enabled amd cool and quiet3.i tried to set acpi 2.0 but it was greyed out so i couldnt set that to 2.0, but it said it was enabled. so then i installed the cool and quiet(latest version) and then i went to the control panel and set power management to minimal or whatever your supposed to do. then i double click cool and quiet and it pops up and shows me my cpu speed and my vcore. my fan speed doesnt change and neither does my cpu speed which i dont want to change.

next question. if i get this to work will it change my cpu speed or vcore. because i dont want it to. i just want a program that lowers my fan speed when im just browsing the web or whatever and then i want it to crank up when i play games or do something cpu intensive.

am i an idiot, should i just buy a 15 dollar fan controller
masterofthepuppets99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 11:31 AM
CarForum.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /dev/sda
Posts: 7,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Send a message via AIM to Retrospekt
Downlaod a program called Speedfan, it will let you regulate your speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat
catmmm: my rack would love to play with your rack...
lhowatt: does it fit well on your desk?
catmmm: lhowatt: yeah it fits
catmmm: lhowatt: I kinda have a big desk though
Retrospekt is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 11:35 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
If you use cool and quiet, you can't OC.

StepsAscend is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 11:47 AM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via AIM to Komet Send a message via MSN to Komet
Quote:
Originally Posted by StepsAscend
If you use cool and quiet, you can't OC.
Not true, I'm using C 'n' Q right now. I think what is important is that you reach your maximum OC at your max multiplier. Also, make sure it's Prime95 stable with C 'n' Q on.

Komet is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 03:52 PM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
I'm seeing more OC with sucess with CnQ

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gresham, oregon
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via AIM to masterofthepuppets99
ok i chose to use speed fan and how do i change my cpu fan speed
masterofthepuppets99 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 04:54 PM
back with a mac
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Is the CPU fan hooked right on the motherboard? If so, then fan speed 2 should be the one to use to control speed. Set it to 75% and see how it goes. Play with all the fan speed options there.

Coming and Going.

Zipnogg is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 05:02 PM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
It is known that cool and quite can give you problems in an oc becasue i beleive it lowers the multi or something within the AMD cpu's to cool it down thus then it can reduce fan speeds. I would disable cool and quite and get a program like speedfan to regulate your fans.

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 
ENTERPRISE is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-28-2006, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gresham, oregon
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via AIM to masterofthepuppets99
t says taht fan1 is my cpu fan but it wont let me change it or i dont know how... and i know this is a bit off topic but what patch is the dual core patch for quake 4
masterofthepuppets99 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off