dont know what happen - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:13 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Those beeps are a message from your BIOS that something is wrong. Here you'll find an overview of what the different beep codes mean:
http://www.pchell.com/hardware/beepcodes.shtml

So I understand you get 2 beeps..then 3 seconds nothing, and one more beep? I'll check out if I can figure out which bios you have.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
i aslon put in my other ram stick right now just to try and i get like continuosly beeps they dont stop im going to take one offf right now and try the push power button after i take the power corrd..

SiCK is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chozart
Those beeps are a message from your BIOS that something is wrong. Here you'll find an overview of what the different beep codes mean:
http://www.pchell.com/hardware/beepcodes.shtml

So I understand you get 2 beeps..then 3 seconds nothing, and one more beep? I'll check out if I can figure out which bios you have.


wow bro i really dont know what bios i have

SiCK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:20 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
In summary, try all of the following:

- Unplug cords
- reset CMOS with jumper
- If not works, then remove battery for about 15 mins
- Try minimal config (CPU, 1 RAM stick)
- Try other RAM stick
- I noticed you have an award BIOS... looking into what the beeps can mean

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:20 PM
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Luckily for you, i went and found out

You have 'Award BIOS' or so say Gigabyte's website.

Chozarts link states this about Award BIOS:

Unfortunately there are many versions of the Award BIOS, and they are supported not by one company, but by the motherboard maker. Award's website states "Award Software software products are sold to a board or system manufacturer ("hardware vendor"), who customizes them further before selling the system. Award Software cannot supply upgrades for a BIOS that has been subsequently modified by hardware vendors."

For further help on Award BIOS problems contact:

Unicore Software (1-800-800-BIOS) handles all upgrades for Award Software BIOS products.
Their e-mail address is sales@unicore.com.

Unicore Software specializes in BIOS upgrades when the hardware vendor no longer supports your system. Additionally, upgrades from Unicore Software often support new technologies (such as larger hard drives, removable boot media, and new processors) that were unavailable when your system was designed.

The hardware vendor that designed your system is the best source for bug fixes and answers about your system.

Doesnt sound good :/

noxious89123 is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:20 PM
..the party can start now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 8,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 589
unplug it before taking the battery out. Otherwise, that won't do anything...

Sideburns is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:23 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Page 75 of your manual has the beep codes...

1 short: System boots successfully
2 short: CMOS setting error
1 long 1 short: DRAM or M/B error
1 long 2 short: Monitor or display card error
1 long 3 short: Keyboard error
1 long 9 short: BIOS ROM error
Continuous long beeps: DRAM error
Continuous short beeps: power error

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
by resetting the jumpers u guys mean disconnect it and connect it back on or what?and after i unplug how much i wait for it to connect back on and then i turned on my pc?

SiCK is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:25 PM
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Here's where your CMOS jumper is:



There should be 3 pins i think. you move it from the 2 its normally on, onto the other 2.

[. .] . -> . [. .] then after 15 seconds or so put it back.

Are you sure its 2 beeps 3 seconds 1 beep, and not just you coutning from half way through a beep cycle? IE. is it actually 1 long beep 2 beeps - 3 seconds - starts over

EDIT: i enjoy helping people on here, its cool. The rep system is good, make me feel good to know i helped some1

PS: yay! got my first flame!
Chozart likes this.

noxious89123 is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 04-23-2006, 07:34 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Wait one second ..
From manual, p 27:

"CLR_CMOS (Clear CMOS)
You may clear the CMOS data to its default values by this header. To clear CMOS, temporarily
short 1-2 pin. Default doesn't include the jumper to prevent from improper use this header."

I understand that this is a 2 pin header. If the jumper is placed on the header, CMOS is cleared. Check if you accidently put the jumped on the header that noxious89123 marked on his picture. If you did, REMOVE it and try to boot again.

EDIT: Nevermind.. he just posted there is no jumper.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off