[Solved] Replacing my OEM AM3+ board, would like suggestions - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
BBEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: What's a party van?
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
So, I've got this 955 that's sitting around (sig rig), doing nothing (daily driver), but needing some love (I'm not that abusive).

Right now, I've got this: GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2P. It's not a bad board, but I'm finding it lacking in some of the newer features of modern motherboards. No USB3 means slower external backup drive transfers. No SATA3 means newer, better HDDs and SSDs are wasted. No SPDIF output isn't quite as big a deal, but it means I'm effectively down one USB slot if I want to continue to use an external DAC and amp. I'm not miffed by the single PCI x16 slot, as I'm not investing in this as a multi-monitor gaming monster, but I am annoyed that with one dual-slot graphics card I lose one PCI Express slot and the other can't be used without blocking off air to the graphics card. Top-facing SATA ports make it difficult to plug stuff in with a big graphics card in the way.

TL;DR: I'm looking for a new motherboard and I'd like you guys'/gals' help.
  • AM3+ (need compatibility with my 955)
  • ATX or micro ATX
  • SATA 3 (more is better)
  • USB 3 (more is better)
  • 8-16GB memory capacity
  • SPDIF output or at least 5 total USB slots (including heads for the case)
  • At least one accessible PCI Express slot that will not choke a dual-slot graphics card
  • Side-facing internal SATA ports
  • < $200

Since my case has more cons than pros, I'll be replacing it with a Fractal Define Mini (if mATX) or R4 (if ATX).

BBEG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 09:26 PM
Overclocker
 
EpicAMDGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 73
EpicAMDGamer is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 09:28 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
thepoopscooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 181
i would get the gigabyte Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 for $105
BBEG likes this.

Funny Stuff! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skripka go_quote.gif

You playing Doom in your grocer's meat freezer?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewHighScore go_quote.gif

Oh man this keeps getting more and more entertaining. This guy must be giggling like a little school girl as he types this nonsense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 go_quote.gif

Depends whose cooking, I've burnt cereal several times.
Twice this morning alone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSfreak go_quote.gif

Look what landed on MY doorstep!!!
An Audi RS6 V10 tuned by MTM untill 900HP!!!
Oh yeah... I'll post the picture of it in 2018 rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 go_quote.gif

I don't want to lay my eyes upon these Beelzebubian gene pool disasters again. I've already suffered enough.
thepoopscooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 11:45 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
BBEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: What's a party van?
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Heh, I think I found a good middle-ground between the two: GA-990FXA UD3 for $145. Sabertooth has more USB 3 but the expansion slot layout in the 990FXA UD3 looks much better for my uses. That PCI 1 slot above the first x16 means I can put a sound card above the graphics card without interrupting air flow to the graphics card. A second x16 slot three down gives a one-slot space (assuming a dual-slot air cooler on the first card) if I decide to add a second graphics card.

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I'll leave a note somewhere around the house with both boards on it and see if anyone is nice to me for Christmas, or if I'll be treating myself. biggrin.gif

BBEG is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 11:50 PM
5.0ghz
 
dixson01974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 529
AsRock 970 Extreme 3 is a very good and cheap mobo.
BBEG likes this.

dixson01974 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-02-2012, 08:20 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
thepoopscooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

AsRock 970 Extreme 3 is a very good and cheap mobo.
the only thing about that is that it has a 4+1 power phase design compared to the 8+2 of a higher end board.

Funny Stuff! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skripka go_quote.gif

You playing Doom in your grocer's meat freezer?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewHighScore go_quote.gif

Oh man this keeps getting more and more entertaining. This guy must be giggling like a little school girl as he types this nonsense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 go_quote.gif

Depends whose cooking, I've burnt cereal several times.
Twice this morning alone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSfreak go_quote.gif

Look what landed on MY doorstep!!!
An Audi RS6 V10 tuned by MTM untill 900HP!!!
Oh yeah... I'll post the picture of it in 2018 rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 go_quote.gif

I don't want to lay my eyes upon these Beelzebubian gene pool disasters again. I've already suffered enough.
thepoopscooper is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-02-2012, 11:20 AM
5.0ghz
 
dixson01974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepoopscooper View Post

the only thing about that is that it has a 4+1 power phase design compared to the 8+2 of a higher end board.
Yes, but it can handle any FX chips just fine. He can oc any FX chip to 4.5ghz without problem.

dixson01974 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-02-2012, 11:37 AM
 
Roadkill95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
OP I upgraded from a M68MT S2 to a 990FXA UD3 and I have to say that it's completely worth it. The UD3 is god tier compared to the crappy M68MT. Absolutely hate that board.
BBEG likes this.

Roadkill95 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-02-2012, 11:38 AM
Overclocker
 
EpicAMDGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill95 View Post

OP I upgraded from a M68MT S2 to a 990FXA UD3 and I have to say that it's completely worth it. The UD3 is god tier compared to the crappy M68MT. Absolutely hate that board.


Yep that is a pretty good upgrade.
EpicAMDGamer is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-02-2012, 11:43 AM
5.0ghz
 
dixson01974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill95 View Post

OP I upgraded from a M68MT S2 to a 990FXA UD3 and I have to say that it's completely worth it. The UD3 is god tier compared to the crappy M68MT. Absolutely hate that board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicAMDGamer View Post

Yep that is a pretty good upgrade.
Yes it is. I was only suggesting a cheaper route if he wanted to go that way.

dixson01974 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off