[Official] MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Club - Page 565 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 9641 Old 03-17-2010, 08:42 PM
 
Rewindlabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackOmega View Post
Do you usually get the error upon first startup? I noticed with my GD70 rig that on cold boots it would occasionally lock up or BSOD. Then doing a hard restart and all was well.

And who is that musician btw?
The musician is John Darnielle of "The Moutain Goats"....i am a huge fan

No i have never seen this error before ASIDE from the occasional bad overclock that would fail....this just cropped up today from me turning off crossfire last night before i shut the rig off

I also haven't had many problems with cold booting either aside from setting my initial NB overclock too high and the board refusing to boot do to me not restarting it before i overclocked the NB
Rewindlabs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 9641 Old 03-17-2010, 09:28 PM
333mhz
 
algreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just installed bios 1.10B5 and everything went smoothly. I noticed faster startup as well. Something else I noticed was that the same overclock on the CPU (from bios 1.9) required one step up in volts and an extra jump in NB voltage (from 1.25 to 1.3) at 2600. My CPU is at 4000 with 1.5v. Seems normal, no?

algreen is offline  
post #5643 of 9641 Old 03-17-2010, 10:31 PM
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Kokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 6,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by algreen View Post
I just installed bios 1.10B5 and everything went smoothly. I noticed faster startup as well. Something else I noticed was that the same overclock on the CPU (from bios 1.9) required one step up in volts and an extra jump in NB voltage (from 1.25 to 1.3) at 2600. My CPU is at 4000 with 1.5v. Seems normal, no?
No worries, it's normal. When I do run 4ghz, it's at 1.5-1.52V. For my NB, I couldn't run 2600 stable at 1.25, but 1.26 works great. These settings are for BIOS 1.9 and 1.10B2.
Kokin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5644 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 05:23 AM
333mhz
 
algreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokin View Post
No worries, it's normal. When I do run 4ghz, it's at 1.5-1.52V. For my NB, I couldn't run 2600 stable at 1.25, but 1.26 works great. These settings are for BIOS 1.9 and 1.10B2.
Thanks. it sounds like yourcpu runs similar to mine. What voltage are you Running on your NB @2800 and 3000?

algreen is offline  
post #5645 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 12:16 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Sorry to break in here but do Any of you know if there are any adapters for the 24pin power plugs, coming from the PSU, that will plug in the same way but when the 24pin plugs into to it, it's at a 90* angle to the Motherboards plug? So it would be "L" Shaped... I'm wanting to free up a few cm to properly install a fan on my rad... Any knowedge of this or links would be helpful!


TIA
Mastiffman is offline  
post #5646 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 12:30 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
moorhen2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shanklin Isle of Wight. UK
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiffman View Post
Sorry to break in here but do Any of you know if there are any adapters for the 24pin power plugs, coming from the PSU, that will plug in the same way but when the 24pin plugs into to it, it's at a 90* angle to the Motherboards plug? So it would be "L" Shaped... I'm wanting to free up a few cm to properly install a fan on my rad... Any knowedge of this or links would be helpful!


TIA
Have a look on here my friend,you might find what your looking for,but no guarantees,worth a look i thought.

http://www.censuspc.com/Power-Cables...ters-c-65.html
moorhen2 is offline  
post #5647 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 12:34 PM
4.0ghz
 
Seanicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiffman View Post
Sorry to break in here but do Any of you know if there are any adapters for the 24pin power plugs, coming from the PSU, that will plug in the same way but when the 24pin plugs into to it, it's at a 90* angle to the Motherboards plug? So it would be "L" Shaped... I'm wanting to free up a few cm to properly install a fan on my rad... Any knowedge of this or links would be helpful!


TIA
Like this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812198007

edit: Damn NINJA

BFBC2 ID: Seanicy Stats
Xbox Live: Seanicy
PSN ID: Seanicy
Sig Rig Pics: camera.gif *UPDATED WITH PICS OF FULL 3D SETUP*

The Official MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Thread
Seanicy is offline  
post #5648 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 01:57 PM
Scout Master
 
Rockr69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Coeur d'Alene,Idaho
Posts: 2,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiffman View Post
Sorry to break in here but do Any of you know if there are any adapters for the 24pin power plugs, coming from the PSU, that will plug in the same way but when the 24pin plugs into to it, it's at a 90* angle to the Motherboards plug? So it would be "L" Shaped... I'm wanting to free up a few cm to properly install a fan on my rad... Any knowedge of this or links would be helpful!


TIA
Good Luck on that one Mastiffman. I been looking for better than half a year. For the life of me I don't know why MOBO manufacturers haven't made them at a right angle to the board. I know it would be hard to unclip once plugged in but I'd just cut off the clip. Not likely the connector would come out on it's own anyway.
Rockr69 is offline  
post #5649 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 03:16 PM
733mhz
 
antonio8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicAdam View Post
MSI just put up two new drivers

Realtek High Definition Audio Driver

Realtek PCI-E Ethernet Drivers for 790FX

http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=do...1&prod_no=1740
Anyone who can help me out.

I just got this board and can not get the ethernet driver to install. I seen this link and downloaded the file but there are no exe. files.

How do I do it to get the driver to install?

Thank you

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif
antonio8 is offline  
post #5650 of 9641 Old 03-18-2010, 03:25 PM
 
Rewindlabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonio8 View Post
Anyone who can help me out.

I just got this board and can not get the ethernet driver to install. I seen this link and downloaded the file but there are no exe. files.

How do I do it to get the driver to install?

Thank you
Windows 7 should have installed the driver automatically

Download the driver from MSI's website and follow this guide for installation

http://www.rm.com/Support/TechnicalA...p?cref=TEC6643
Rewindlabs is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off