[Official] Asus CrossHair IV Formula/Extreme Club - Page 978 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9771 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 08:40 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Tweeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by incurablegeek View Post
Even though I didn't think it could solve the problem (there is a separate red warning light for DRAM), I did try that and it did not solve the problem.

And yes my RAM is Dual Channel (4 Gig X4 = 16 Gig): Corsair DDR3 XMS3

So $hitsky, it sure looks like I need to remove the heatsink and check the CPU, not a lot of other choices I guess.

As Henry Ford once said, "You can have any color you want as long as it's black." Only one choice, so easy to decide.
there are 4 led right of the 24 pin power connector see page 2-5 in the formula manual ----- boot_device_led is at the top
Tweeky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9772 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 09:13 PM
Hardline upgrade!
 
Ceadderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West of the Pecos.
Posts: 18,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeky View Post
there are 4 led right of the 24 pin power connector see page 2-5 in the formula manual ----- boot_device_led is at the top
I don't know about anyone else but my system tells me when the OS isn't found.

~Ceadder

10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  Foldathon Participant 2016 

Ceadderman is offline  
post #9773 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 09:17 PM
PC Gamer
 
OneAsusExtremz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeky View Post
There is a program called RaidXpert it comes on the ASUS DVD its part of the AMD chipset Driver and you will find the program under the AMD directory
RaidXpert i thought was only for online viewing status of your harddrive and raid status?

OneAsusExtremz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9774 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 09:18 PM
Hardline upgrade!
 
Ceadderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West of the Pecos.
Posts: 18,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneAsusExtremz View Post
RaidXpert i thought was only for online viewing status of your harddrive and raid status?
Nope, it's your RAID driver.

~Ceadder

10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  Foldathon Participant 2016 

Ceadderman is offline  
post #9775 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 09:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hooterville, TN USA
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
there are 4 led right of the 24 pin power connector see page 2-5 in the formula manual ----- boot_device_led is at the top
Yeh, I know that. I was just trying to give the location of the CPU Red Idiot Light, because I did such a sloppy job in my initial post. I only wanted to pooint out that LED I was talking about was not for CPU voltage but rather the integrity of the CPU - no need to be exhaustive.

For what it's worth I never feel slighted by a correction on my posts. You guys are like family and have helped me so much. So I know there's no snippiness involved.

incurablegeek is offline  
post #9776 of 13132 Old 05-11-2011, 09:58 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Tweeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneAsusExtremz View Post
RaidXpert i thought was only for online viewing status of your harddrive and raid status?
on the asus dvd there is a manual that explains the use of raidxpert in detail
Tweeky is offline  
post #9777 of 13132 Old 05-12-2011, 02:00 PM
vf-
Console Gamer
 
vf-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Why are the other fan settings so poor for thermal management on the Crosshair IV Formula? for example I have a PWM fan plugged into (D) OPT_FAN2 for the graphic cards to exhaust. Duty mode is just a fixed percentage and the fan will be stuck at that fixed rpm. The options are poor as well if you set to manual. 30c ambient for low speed, 60c ambient for high speed but I seem to hit a temperature in between and can feel the case side exhaust vent to really heat up and the fan doesn't change speed from relatively low to high. As my case doesn't get anywhere near 60c.

Should the fan be plugged into the next header? (E) CHA_FAN3, this is also the problem though. Looking through the options for those the fan settings are just the same for all those last 3 fan settings. So I'm no better off.

Right now I have it left plugged into (D) OPT_FAN2 with a fixed duty mode of 60/70% which is running at 1500rpm. I would like it to run at full speed when gaming which is 2000rpm and relatively slow when idle for a whisper quiet PC.

Even in the ASUS AI Suite, FanXpert I can only adjust CPU fan and Chassis fan, nothing else for the rest of the PWM fan headers. Why is this? I have those 4 fans finely tuned for when I need the heat to expel.

Why wont Asus let you set your own temperatures? they leave you bogus settings all in 10's. Especially when some wont go lower than a specific value.

vf- is offline  
post #9778 of 13132 Old 05-12-2011, 02:06 PM
Overclocker
 
crunkazcanbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Atlanta,Georgia
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hello people I just bought this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231461 Will that work on my board? Does anyone know?
crunkazcanbe is offline  
post #9779 of 13132 Old 05-12-2011, 02:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kahbrohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by vf- View Post
Why are the other fan settings so poor for thermal management on the Crosshair IV Formula? for example I have a PWM fan plugged into (D) OPT_FAN2 for the graphic cards to exhaust. Duty mode is just a fixed percentage and the fan will be stuck at that fixed rpm. The options are poor as well if you set to manual. 30c ambient for low speed, 60c ambient for high speed but I seem to hit a temperature in between and can feel the case side exhaust vent to really heat up and the fan doesn't change speed from relatively low to high. As my case doesn't get anywhere near 60c.

Should the fan be plugged into the next header? (E) CHA_FAN3, this is also the problem though. Looking through the options for those the fan settings are just the same for all those last 3 fan settings. So I'm no better off.

Right now I have it left plugged into (D) OPT_FAN2 with a fixed duty mode of 60/70% which is running at 1500rpm. I would like it to run at full speed when gaming which is 2000rpm and relatively slow when idle for a whisper quiet PC.

Even in the ASUS AI Suite, FanXpert I can only adjust CPU fan and Chassis fan, nothing else for the rest of the PWM fan headers. Why is this? I have those 4 fans finely tuned for when I need the heat to expel.

Why wont Asus let you set your own temperatures? they leave you bogus settings all in 10's. Especially when some wont go lower than a specific value.
Fan controller time for you. The Sunbeam Rheosmart would be a good choice since you want full power while gaming but bring the noise down a bit when not gaming. This controller hooks into a PWM header on your mobo but you can also manually control the fans as well.

AMD FX Clubsniper.gif
Validation - Updated as of 4/21/12

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Kahbrohn is offline  
post #9780 of 13132 Old 05-12-2011, 02:19 PM
Moderator
 
superhead91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by crunkazcanbe View Post
Hello people I just bought this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231461 Will that work on my board? Does anyone know?
It should. Ceadder has a set of snipers so he could tell you for sure, although I know he's had a few issues with his.

 

Vehicles (My Honda Ratio Is Slipping) (Click to show)
'98 Honda Accord EX-V6 sedan: totaled
'00 Honda Civic EX coupe: stolen, recovered, and then sold
'05 Honda Accord EX-V6 coupe: sold
'79 Corolla wagon: sold sad-smiley-002.gif
'97 Honda Civic DX hatchback: sold
'03 Honda CR-V EX: wife's car/family hauler
'91 Honda Civic Wagon DX: sold sad-smiley-002.gif
'14 Ford Fiesta ST: DD

 

Things TheBlademaster01 Doesn't Understand (Click to show)
English cooking terms
Coffee
Alcohol
Love for winters
Washington, D.C.
Ducks
Jokes
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBlademaster01 go_quote.gif

 

spuerhead

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBlademaster01 go_quote.gif

Winter = best season

 


Chimp Challenge Participant 

superhead91 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off