Tough ?? on Ocing my 3800+ 6800GS AGP! - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 Old 02-19-2006, 06:20 PM
Fortran lives!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by OreO
well the stock freq is 2.4 ghz laboit so i dont want to underclock it :-) but yeah the multipier is set at 12 your right. I just read it wrong thanks im going to take out that memory now and test a few things. ANd yes its the same brand or memory OCZ gig sticks are 3200 the 2x256 are 4000. But i kinda figured that might have been it. Thanks for the advice!
Actually, the stock speed is 2GHz. Try my suggestion, and see if it runs prime 95 stable. You might need better cooling. Also, make sure you have an equal pressure system for cooling - try to balance your intake and exhaust fans. If you used thermal paste, make sure you scraped off the old thermal pad. If all of that fails, then you probably have the wrong board.

I'm a graduate student, and I develop HPC codes in Fortran and Matlab to make the world better.
My user name too long or weird for you? Feel free to call me LBN. FYI, it's French for "the black box."
Official OCN Camera Thread | Flickr | Camera Stuff: Nikon D7000,Tokina 12-24 f/4 AT-X Pro, Sigma 30 f/1.4 EX DC HSM, Nikkor 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 VR
Film Gear: Pentacon Praktica LLC, Meyer-Optik Gorlitz 50 f/1.8 | Nikon N2020, Nikkor 50 f/1.4 AI-S
There's really nothing remarkable about it. All you do is hit the right notes at the right time and the instrument plays itself. - J.S. Bach
laboitenoire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 Old 02-20-2006, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
OreO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103531

Stock freq is 2.4
Ill try prime 95 in a sec need to d/l it
Brand AMD
Series Athlon 64
Model ADA3800BPBOX
CPU Socket Type
CPU Socket Type Socket 939
Tech Spec
Core Venice
Name Athlon 64 3800+
Operating Frequency 2.4GHz
FSB 1GHz
L1 Cache 64KB+64KB
L2 Cache 512KB
Process Type 90 nm


The mobo on its site says it will support up to a AMD 4000+
As far as cooling i have a Coolermaster Fan HS combo on the chip itself. NV5 Silencer on the 6800GS and 5 Case Fans all keeping cool n comfy inside the box at 78 Degrees Fahrenheit. Im thinking i just bought a ****ty mobo to be honest i just need to upgrade to PCI-E and get a DFI or something!

OreO is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 02-20-2006, 03:14 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
OreO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update fond the problem it was unlocking the pipes on my 6800 GS that was causing me to lock up on games and such. Havent tried OCing the rig as im too tired now ZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz!

OreO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 Old 02-20-2006, 09:24 AM
Ooooohh
 
lightsource's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 4,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Send a message via AIM to lightsource Send a message via MSN to lightsource
Niiice find. Good job finding it.

Begin clocking up!!!


lightsource is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 02-20-2006, 09:35 AM
 
svtfmook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: eastlake, ohio
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by OreO
Ok check it i just got my new stuff in yesterday put it all together and performs flawlessly. EXCEPT when i try to OC ANYTHING im pullin my hair out here. Mobo is my first part of my question i have Gigabyte GA-K8NSC-939 there are a TON of options for OC'ing my AMD 3800+ Venice right. So i use the MiT overclock features on it to adjust timing AGP bus the whole nine. I CANNOT for the life of me get it to run faster than 2.52 GHZ!! ***! I KNOW this can be OCed alot more. Is it the mobo or something im doing wrong "most likely" does anyone have a good guide on how to OC my 3800 on this mobo? Second qestion i have a 6800GS from eVga unlocked pipes everything np at all the second i try and OC it to say from the stock 350/1000 to an easy 400 1100 right nope not happening! i tried as low as 365/1050 Nope game crashes the lock ups the crap i dont want! WHAT IS THIS NOOB DOING WRONG! Tell me lol thanks and this is my first post so take it easy aight!
fyi
with a gigabyte board, you'd be hard pressed to get it to work on a FSB higher than 215mhz.

svtfmook is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off