Catalyst Omega Tweakrus - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pinellas Park, FLorida
Posts: 4,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 322
okay while lookin around the forums ive noticed for ati there are differnt sets of drivers out there of course theres ati drivers the catalyst but what are these other two.. Omega drivers and Tweakrus are these "hacked" drivers for performance or whats the deal with them.. and which one would you consider to be the best and why

Living Under Bridge

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Trippen Out is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:12 AM
4.0ghz
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
I use the Omega drivers generally because of the Ati tray tools that comes with the program, ease of use and all the overclocking and profiles are in there. all the tweaks under the sun can be made also. I used to get a bit of a performance hit but not so much recently. The Omega drivers are just modded Catalyst drivers.
http://www.omegadrivers.net/ give them a go for yourself.

tuchan is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pinellas Park, FLorida
Posts: 4,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuchan
I use the Omega drivers generally because of the Ati tray tools that comes with the program, ease of use and all the overclocking and profiles are in there. all the tweaks under the sun can be made also. I used to get a bit of a performance hit but not so much recently. The Omega drivers are just modded Catalyst drivers.
http://www.omegadrivers.net/ give them a go for yourself.

cool ill check it out once i get my new card.. im using the x1300 .. its crap unless ya take advantage of sm3.0 so ive got an 850pro on its way to take its place till i really truely need the sm3.0 by the way im so jealous at your c64 i bet that thing smokes my vic20

Living Under Bridge

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Trippen Out is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:46 AM
4.0ghz
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
yes it does smoke your vic 20 lol and so does my amiga 500 and 1200 , god I miss C=

tuchan is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pinellas Park, FLorida
Posts: 4,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuchan
yes it does smoke your vic 20 lol and so does my amiga 500 and 1200 , god I miss C=
yea i do too.. i had em all except the amigas which to me where a graphical powerhouse for their time the c64 the cpet the vic20 and i think i had one other one awe the days of cassett drivers and 10 goto 20

Living Under Bridge

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Trippen Out is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 05:56 AM
4.0ghz
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
It was all so much fun- and still is

tuchan is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 08:46 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I was just looking at the omega drivers as well and i'm wondering if i should uninstall the ATI's Catalyst driver before I install the omega driver. Or can i just install omega right away?

Mount Up With Wings Like Eagles
mrreilly is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 08:51 PM
333mhz
 
King Sasquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Unistall the Catalyst drivers first. Otherwise you might get some weird issues where you have 2 of a particular file and it causes your GPU to not run at its full potential. Uninstall current, then install new. Simple as that.
King Sasquatch is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-18-2006, 08:53 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Thanks

Mount Up With Wings Like Eagles
mrreilly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off