STH10 Build log_ A Water Cooling Noob's diary - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 79 Old 07-21-2012, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So this is my first water cooled build project. In fact I've never built a PC before, just swapped bits out and upgraded. So it's a daunting task but one I hope will be interesting. Build logs are usually people uploading pics and saying what they're doing etc, but since I am a total noob at building pcs, let alone water cooled ones, I'm kind of hoping people here will add their ideas and point out any issues they can see or anticipate. Would be much appreciated.

The build centres around the STH10, so day one is all about assembling the thing. Here are some images...

A big box

And very well packaged at that

Every single item, big or small, was packaged like this. Pretty impressive.

An overwhelming amount of stuff was in the box. Didn't know where to start. Instructions helped a lot.

Another angle

I started by joining the chassis compartment with upper and lower mid plates

This is what it looked like once both were attached. Couldn't work out how to join the pieces, and then realised the screws were countersunk for a reason...I'm an idiot.

Next up was to attach the rear chassis

And then the top and bottom chassis

Front chassis and cover was next, followed by I/0 panel.

Lovely design for SSD, HDD bays

Now the motherboard backplate. It was a little tricky since it slides out and I had to make sure it was all level. Nothing too stressy, just fiddly.

Closed...

And open

Top cover goes on

All covers

Front door goes on

And protective film comes off (sorry about the focus)

Well, that's it for now. Tomorrow I start on the rad mounts, rads and fans and case fans. Monday the hardware arrives.

Regards.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 79 Old 07-21-2012, 05:47 PM
Security Sleuth

Liked: 11
Sexy sexy case biggrin.gif Good luck! thumb.gif