[Build Log] Merlin (Water Cooled r-atx SM8 w/dual Pedestals / Z97X-UD5H) - Page 15 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #141 of 2434 Old 10-19-2012, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Wires R US.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #142 of 2434 Old 10-19-2012, 05:08 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrix View Post

Funny you should say that. I had a hernia operation earlier this year and I'm still sore.

Hi,

Have been following your build from the beginning and am in awe of your skill and patience.thumb.gif


Cheers,
John
johnmw1 is offline  
post #143 of 2434 Old 10-20-2012, 03:20 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
PM sent.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #144 of 2434 Old 10-20-2012, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Yesterday I was about to bring the AQ5 online and imagine my surprise when it would not turn on. I made a mistake when I wired the 4 pin, thinking that the AQ5 only needed the 12v line and ground but apparently it also needs the 5v line as well. The PA2 will run on just 12v, and I must have gotten my signals crossed and thought the AQ5 was the same.
Learn something new every day! Thanks to cpachris for getting me straight on the AQ5 voltage requirements.

So I pulled the psu 6 pin to double 4 pin power lead I made and the extension to the AQ5 and PA2 and added the additional 5v and ground lines to them, and sleeved it up. I'm very slow at making up all this wiring and sleeving I must admit, but it is what it is.
Again, most of the wiring I'm making up from scratch, "custom" if you will, so it's taking longer than simply sleeving existing wiring.

Everything there should be ready for a go again and I'm hoping to get all the fans up and running through the AQ5 today so I can load the OS on the SSD RAID drives.

6 pin psu to split 4 pin molex power

4 pin power extension to AQ5/PA2

Not as good at this as some, I know, but I do the best I can. redface.gif

A shout out to the good folks at Case Labs. The original Vertical/Horizontal Accessory Mount I ordered had some minor appearance dings in it due to the sanding process they used. Nothing bad and not enough for me to be worried about, but I brought it to their attention because I know their commitment to quality.
Yesterday I received a shiny new replacement. It's clear they modified their process, for this one is just as perfect a piece as one could hope for, visually perfect.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #145 of 2434 Old 10-20-2012, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Got the OS installed today on the RAID disks. That's the good news. The bad news is that one of my graphics cards is not working.
At first I thought everything was OK, but later I noticed I had plugged the HDMI into the top card. Since the board is mounted r-atx I forgot the leading card would be on the bottom. But when I plugged into it I get nothing.
Looking like tomorrow I will be partially draining the system and pulling the cards out so I can see what's up. The Aqua tubes between the cards were sort of difficult to fit in place and I'm thinking maybe something happened to the pci slot. I hope not but the only way I know to check this out is to disconnect the tubing and pull the cards out, look for damage/trash/etc and do some testing.

Not that it matters since I know both cards were working before, but this is the older card (that has had the water block installed for months and been in use) so I know I didn't damage anything installing the block on the new card.
I have enough spare tubing around to temporarily bypass the cards in the loop long enough to do some testing. Worst comes to worst I'll rob my other rig and steal the board (same board).

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #146 of 2434 Old 10-20-2012, 06:06 PM
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
OUchie ! a little bit rolleyes.gif Well one thing for sure, you didn't damage the slot by lifting THAT case and dropping it, like I did with my tj-04. Those dagnabbed slide out psu filters - nice to have, but if you forget, and grab the bottom by the filter and it slides out - BAM!! - once I got it on the table and hooked up and got no video, did I slowly come to realize what had happened. I took out the card and sure enough, the pci slot was a little bit twisted. Also, my cpu temps - air cooled - have gone up a bit. I need to check that out.

Good luck with the expedition tomorrow ;-)
socketus is offline  
post #147 of 2434 Old 10-21-2012, 03:58 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Thanks, I'm not looking forward to it. I almost did the same thing as you with my Switch.
Ran out of blue wire I was using. 100 ft sure went fast! Got plenty of black and white left though, and I still need to make up the 6 pins for the 7950's.

Anyway after coffee I'll start draining the system so I can pull the cards.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #148 of 2434 Old 10-21-2012, 06:38 AM
 
cpachris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 2,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 228
If it turns out that you damaged the motherboard slot, could you just move the card to a different slot...instead of robbing rig B? How many extra slots do you have?


Signature Worthy Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prathik7 go_quote.gif

if it annoys you so much please refrain from seeing it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axis24 go_quote.gif

Ok so here is my report....IT AIN"T HAPPENING!
cpachris is offline  
post #149 of 2434 Old 10-21-2012, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
mmmmm maybe, I could probably use the x4 slot at the bottom if necessary, not sure about the spacing. If I have to swap boards it's no big deal (except for all the work and hassle) the other rig is running 2x6850's and I'm honestly not worried about the graphics performance on it as long as the crossfire bridge will reach.
But first things first.
I have the loop draining now, and will be pulling the cards out after morning chow and walking the dog and we'll see what we have.
updates later this morning.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #150 of 2434 Old 10-21-2012, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Got the 7950's in the x8 & x4 slots and both are showing up in CCC. So I guess the x16 PCIe slot is blown. Anyway I have video so I'll continue on. thumb.gif At some point I may swap boards with my other build. Top water block slam up against the front panel header but everything working.
Now I'll let Windows update and then I'll get Office etc installed.
Haven't fabbed/sleeved wiring for the graphics cards yet, using the stock Seasonic cables right now so I need to get started working on that pretty soon.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off