Build Log: Cha Ching! - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 82 Old 12-05-2006, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
What would i screw the screw into?

Theres just a hole through the NB, and a hole through the mobo, through which the pushpin goes.

Also, i've decided, so that i don't void my warrant; I'm not going to remove the metal cap on the NB.

Instead, im going to attach a 60mm fan to the side of it, so that the cap helps channel the air through the HS.

I'll probably use some cotton or fine string to hold it on. Cotton might be a bit weak.

noxious89123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 82 Old 12-05-2006, 03:26 PM
4.0ghz
 
g8m3rtag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
small zip ties maybe?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace of Spades go_quote.gif
and finally get the Girl, scratch that last one get the FRAG!
g8m3rtag is offline  
post #23 of 82 Old 12-05-2006, 03:43 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
The hole in the motherboard is just the right size for the screw to screw into.
PaRaDoX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 82 Old 12-05-2006, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Why do you want me to use a screw??

I'm not putting anything metal and pointy into my new £120 motherboard, mm kay?

Thanks for trying to help anyway.

noxious89123 is offline  
post #25 of 82 Old 12-06-2006, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Well, i got a reply:

Quote:
Dear *Nox*

In response to your RMA request, we have reserved returns code
RMA____ for you to return your item(s).

Please review the following information and ensure it is correct:
==================================================
Products on RMA:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus P5B Deluxe (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Please only return products that are on the RMA, anything not on this
RMA will cause the processing of your return to be delayed.

Problem / Fault description: Damaged (Packaging Intact),
Desired action: Replace,

Any replacements or returned goods will be sent to *Nox* @ ____

If any of these details are incorrect please send us a webnote
referencing your RMA number above before sending any goods back - do not assume
a letter in the parcel will be read and actioned.

If you are returning an Intel 775 motherboard you MUST fit the socket
protector before shipping. If the board is shipped without this
protector your warranty will be voided.

Unless your have purchased an OcUK full system (such as a Primo or
Ultima) do not return your components built into a system. Products
purchased as components must be returned in their individual boxes as they
were received.

Any non OcUK built systems will be rejected and will need to be
collected at your cost. OcUK cannot accept liability for damage to systems
returned in this way.
Doesn't really answer my question(read; demands) from my first message. (on the previous page)

So i sent them another message.

Quote:
I recieved a reply from my last message regarding RMA'ing the damaged motherboard, but received no reply to the rest of my message.

Will Overclockers.co.uk pay for the shipping cost (for me to send it to you), and ship it back with next day delivery?

I feel very unhappy about having to pay to return something that shouldn't have arrived damaged in the first place.
Still not received the DVI -> VGA adapter.

noxious89123 is offline  
post #26 of 82 Old 12-06-2006, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Also, on a side note: Very unimpressed with overclockers.co.uk's packaging of the motherboard and cpu.

The two items were just in a plain brown box (not even a 'fragile' sticker) and were not wrapped in bubble wrap, foam, or anything. The only thing stopping them moving about was the fact they were jammed into the box.

Tbh, im surprised the CPU isnt smashed to bits. It looks all ok though.

As im only sending the mobo back, i've got a bit more space in the box then they had.

My mum is a star, she grabbed me a CRAP LOAD of bubble wrap from work, so i wrapped the mobo box in lots of that, then put it back in the brown box, and sealed it up good with parcel tape.

Also, big thanks to TheEddie for hooking me up with a cheap copy of Windows XP Pro! (Rep+++++ Btw!)

Now i can start using the new components as soon as i get the replcement mobo!

noxious89123 is offline  
post #27 of 82 Old 12-06-2006, 02:11 PM
 
TheEddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minooka, IL
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Hey man, did it work? Pm me!
noxious89123 likes this.

TheEddie is offline  
post #28 of 82 Old 12-06-2006, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
W00tness.

Now i don't need to buy a copy of windows!

Also, overclockers.co.uk is getting in some 36Gb Raptors tomorrow! Shame i don't have the money on hand.

£166 for a pair. Not bad!

Was gonna cost me £230~ for two + windows CD from chillblast. So £64 less i have to spend.

Should have the new rig up and running by monday/tuesday next week, and a couple of raptors by the next week.


noxious89123 is offline  
post #29 of 82 Old 12-06-2006, 05:43 PM
4.0ghz
 
g8m3rtag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
why would you bother wrapping a broke motherboard with bubble wrap????

and i think you need to change the status of the E6600 in your sig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace of Spades go_quote.gif
and finally get the Girl, scratch that last one get the FRAG!
g8m3rtag is offline  
post #30 of 82 Old 12-07-2006, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by g8m3rtag View Post
you need to change the status of the E6600 in your sig
Hehe

Thanks for pointing that out!

I wrapped it in bubblewrap, because if it gets ****ed-up in transit then overclockers.co.uk will NOT take any responsibility for the damage, and will basically expect you to get £££ compensation from the delivery company, and just buy another.

And the bubblewrap was free. And its fun ^^

noxious89123 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off