[LOG] Finally! My i7 rig is Done! Time for water cooling :D - Page 9 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 02:35 AM
1.3ghz
 
felix.vollrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
with that expensive system try harder with the cable management. it looks untidy. use the holes under the graphics cards.

Windows 7Fan Club
felix.vollrath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 03:16 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
3D Modeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Co. Durham, UK
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's nothing wrong with the cable management. In fact...you can't do better with that case. Only the small cables at the bottom are a little untidy.

The cables for the GFX cards are too bulky to bend in a tiny hole!



Quote:
Originally Posted by SmoKing Fit View Post
Yh, lets see the cooling result as soon as you get them
Will do. It'll take a while though.

*
[ 3DMark Vantage Score: 37824 @ initial OC ] - - [ 3DMark06 Score: 24914 @ initial OC ]
3D Modeller is offline  
post #83 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 03:22 AM
1.3ghz
 
felix.vollrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
there are two large holes rig next to the graphics card. why are you routing the wires through the top one. since the corsair 1000 hx cables are soft it should be easy to put them through there. Also the corsair fan cable is routed badly. there are a lot of small things that can be done better. the graphics cables are the major bad looking cables.

Windows 7Fan Club
felix.vollrath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
3D Modeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Co. Durham, UK
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah I see what you're seeing. Well...because they bulk up too much behind. There's no point in it looking good on one side and being crap on the other. The case has issues closing when they're all bulked up.

I'll take that on board though...I see your point. I'll take a look at it

As for the corsair fan cable...that is the way it's made. It's nothing to do with bad routing. There is no other way to do it other than shortening the cable which I'd love to do but have no tools to crimp the plugs.

One thing I'll never do though is bend cable too much. It's BAD for them.

As for a 'lot of things that can be done better'. I have to disagree...you seem to be seeing other things that aren't there ?!?! Lots?

*
[ 3DMark Vantage Score: 37824 @ initial OC ] - - [ 3DMark06 Score: 24914 @ initial OC ]
3D Modeller is offline  
post #85 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 07:48 AM
1.3ghz
 
felix.vollrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
cpu cable can b done better,
one cable under the graphics card
can't you route the ram fan cable behind the mobo tray
as for the graphics put the thick graphics cable into the bottom card, route the bottom one's cable through the bottom directly to the psu, and the two thin one's from the modular parts (that are really thin) through the 2 holes.
it won't look bad and it will fit

Windows 7Fan Club
felix.vollrath is offline  
post #86 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
3D Modeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Co. Durham, UK
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix.vollrath View Post
cpu cable can b done better,


CPU cable? It can't be done better/different! What you on about?!?!?!

one cable under the graphics card

Oh **** yeh...it's got a dip in it!

can't you route the ram fan cable behind the mobo tray


I'll look at that again. But I remember it being annoying looping around back into the power.

as for the graphics put the thick graphics cable into the bottom card,

the gfx card cables are identical in 'thickness'. And they're not rigged for looks...they're rigged to be on the correct rail lol

route the bottom one's cable through the bottom directly to the psu, and the two thin one's from the modular parts (that are really thin) through the 2 holes.

Nah...I'll leave it thanks! lol They're all the same thickness (but this means nothing anyway) and like I say...they're on the correct rails for a reason other than looks.
Basically....1 thick cable instead of 3 separate ones is far better for airflow and turbulence. But I'll have a look at them coming out near each hole as I guess the split off will be the same.

But dude...you are picking on some of the funniest things I've heard recently. CPU one is funny and the little kink in one of the wires.

Who gives a **** basically!

*
[ 3DMark Vantage Score: 37824 @ initial OC ] - - [ 3DMark06 Score: 24914 @ initial OC ]
3D Modeller is offline  
post #87 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 11:39 AM
1.3ghz
 
felix.vollrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
cable management fanatics!!!
I have done a build with the same case and the same psu, only I had the rampage 2 extreme. and yes the modular thin cables are enough to power the main graphics and not just the slave ones. they are all 12v, which is more then enough.

Windows 7Fan Club
felix.vollrath is offline  
post #88 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 11:46 AM
4.0ghz
 
quakermaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany (Irish)
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix.vollrath View Post
cable management fanatics!!!
I have done a build with the same case and the same psu, only I had the rampage 2 extreme. and yes the modular thin cables are enough to power the main graphics and not just the slave ones. they are all 12v, which is more then enough.

felix are you having a laugh or what ?
Giving out advise, after what you told us about you own computer in your last thread and all the pins you bent on the motherboard.

Laptop: Dell XPS 17 L702x ~ 128GB SSD + 320GB HDD
Netbook: Samsung NF310 ~ 40GB SSD
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S 4

quakermaas is offline  
post #89 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 11:49 AM
1.3ghz
 
felix.vollrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
well at least my cable management is AWESOME

Windows 7Fan Club
felix.vollrath is offline  
post #90 of 98 Old 06-20-2009, 11:49 AM
Jeep + c4 = tanker rage
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: the NC Zoo
Posts: 2,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix.vollrath View Post
well at least my cable management is AWESOME
so post the pics back in the thread where you killed your computer and stop crapping on this thread. This guy, the OP, has an awesome machine and should be proud of it.

edit: I think we're all still waiting on you back in the other thread cookmast... I mean Felix.

CM 690 Club We Are Gr33n Machine
Sector 7G Airflow330
4042.87MHz Vantage:16413
I fold for 37726

camera.gifOfficial OCN Camera Club camera.gif
Nikon D70s & Nikon D90 & SB-800
|
Nikkor 18-55 f/3.5|18-200 f/3.5 VRII|70-300 f/4|50mm f/1.8|
trogalicious is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off