New Q9550 Build - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-04-2009, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just ordered some new stuff for a new build. I've been running this system for a while now and now is the time to upgrade. It may not be bleeding edge hardware, but I'm sure I'll see a huge performance boost, and hopefully it lasts me quite a while.

Ordered my stuff on 9-3-09:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz 12MB L2 Cache
CPU Cooler: Scythe MUGEN-2
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Premium
Power Supply: Corsair 750W CMPSU-750TX
RAM: Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800

Already own:
Antec 900 Two
XFX Nvidia 9800 GT
Palit Nvidia 8800 GT
250GB Hitachi HDD

I plan to try flashing the 8800 GT to the 9800 GT BIOS and going SLI. If it doesn't work out, oh well, I'll live with using just the 9800 GT until I can afford a new card in the future. I'm not sure if I'm going to overclock. It'd be a first. If I do, I'll probably play it safe and just go up to 3GHz or so.

And of course, you need some lights. I've got pairs of green and purple-ish-pink cathodes so I can switch between when I want.

I plan to post pictures when it's complete.

Edit: Forgot to mention I'll be putting Windows 7 RC 64-bit on this

Update: 9-10-09

Few things, didn't SLI because I was stupid and didn't see the motherboard was only Crossfire compatible. I hadn't ordered this with the intention of SLI, the thought only came to mind after ordering it. But if I ever want to, I could Quad Crossfire with this board in the future.

The Scyte Mugen 2, I love this things cooling power, but I hated installing it. Especially after installation, getting to the 8-pin power connector at the top left of the board became a hassle with maybe half an inch of room to stick my fingers in to push it in.

I have yet to overclock the CPU. Still settling in, installing programs and what not. I don't intend on going much higher than 3GHz.

I'd like to go back and get some cable extensions in the future to get a cleaner look. I really need one for the 8-pin motherboard connector. The bundle of cables included with my power supply (Corsiar 750 Watt CMPSU-750TX) I found difficult to hide. There's so many stuffed behind the back panel, it's hard to shut. I hope it isn't bending the back panel too much.

RAM: I could have gone with better ram, but for now, I'm going to stick with what I've got and possibly order some in the future.

Overall I'm enjoying this new system, massive upgrade from my last one. Loads Left 4 Dead matches in less than 30 seconds. And the Quad Gigabit LAN ports, currently only bridging two of them, seems to make a difference with downloading files.

Pics!








Agentdax5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-04-2009, 10:00 PM
 
ckybam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
how come you didnt get 1066 ram? other then that youll love that build.
ckybam3 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-04-2009, 11:37 PM
PC Gamer
 
Spritanium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 2,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckybam3 View Post
how come you didnt get 1066 ram? other then that youll love that build.
800 can cost significantly less than 1066

Spritanium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spritanium View Post
800 can cost significantly less than 1066
Exactly.
I'll probably upgrade the RAM at some point when I've got more money.

Agentdax5 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 08:57 AM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I'd get this set of OCZ 1066 Platinum LVs instead: http://www.amazon.com/OCZ-PC2-8500-P...2162548&sr=8-5

Ryzen R5 1600 @ 3.90GHz (1.35V - 1.337V SVI2 TFN) | NH-D14 | Asus Prime X370 Pro (0902) | GSkill 16GB F4-2800C15-8GVR @ 2933MHz (16-16-16-36-1T) | GTX 970 @ 1507-1978/ R9 390 @ 1140-1600 | 2 SSDs and 2 Mechanical drives | Rosewill Capstone 750M | NZXT Source 220 | Windows 10 Pro x64
daffy.duck is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-10-2009, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Updated first post with pics and my thoughts

Agentdax5 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off