need help overclocking my old dell - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-23-2010, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
thomas260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm trying to overclock my dell optiplex 270 and am having no luck. I cannot find a clock generator number to use SETFSB. Along with my bios not having the option to make any changes. Its at 2.2ghz and i know it could be better. Is there anything i can do to help it along? The chipset is a intel 865p/pe if that helps any. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thomas260 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-23-2010, 08:49 PM
Knows the Song of Time
 
greydor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 3,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 414
No. There are a few software overclocking options you can use, but none that I would recommend. You're going to need to build to have the options that you want.

greydor is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-23-2010, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
thomas260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
any inexpensive recomendation on what to use?
thomas260 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-23-2010, 09:44 PM
333mhz
 
COBSAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Madison, Indiana
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I'm gonna agree with skitzo here, software overclocks are sketchy, but if youre determined check this one out:
http://www.filecluster.com/System-Ut...-ClockGen.html

yessir.gif
COBSAD is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-24-2010, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
thomas260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i've tried clockgen and it wont work for some reason it only brings up the clocks and nothing to make any changes, its kinda crazy. I dont think dell wanted anybody messing with their setup on these.. Any thoughts on a inexpensive mobo and cpu combo that is not expensive and is quick along with being tunable.. I'm kinda new to the overclocking thing... Figured this would be my best start. Thanx guys
thomas260 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off