upgrading to 965 x4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
rtc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
my rig below is what im upgrading from im trying to stay around $400 i know im getting the 965 x4
im looking at this mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128431
and this ram
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231193
i want at least 4gb ram
i dont care to do CF or sli now so
any ideas or? does this sound good

rtc05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 11:34 AM
HEY, PAUL
 
meticadpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1389
Protip: Get the X4 955 C3 instead; they've been overclocking better than the 965s on average.

Good choice on both the motherboard and RAM.


meticadpa is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 11:36 AM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have that ram and i dont have any complaints so far

ph34r2.gif.:|Gigabyte790FXTA-UD5Club|:.ph34r2.gif
PlatonicBS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 11:39 AM
Achievement Unlocked
 
airplaneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Looks pretty good to me.

Q9650 @ 4.5, 1.4 vCore (1.376 CPU-Z)proof.gif
Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.8, 1.525 vCore (1.520 CPU-Z)proof.gif
i7 920 @ 4.2, 1.30 vCore (1.296 CPU-Z)proof.gif

i5 3570K @ 4.5, 1.1 vCore (1.096 CPU-Z)proof.gif
airplaneman is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ericld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 138
This would be a better board for the 965.

I have used the 770 one time, and it was the last time. It would not over clock very well. Since then I have always stuck to the 790 chipset. And you are getting USB 3.0, 6GB SATA 3.0, two 16x GPU slots, and the CPU power phase will support the Bulldozer series if you ever want to upgrade. It is an all around better board.

ericld is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
rtc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
what makes it better?

rtc05 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 01:58 PM
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 456
The GIGABYTE GA-770T-USB3 AM3 AMD 770 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard doesn't list the how many watts it can supply to the processor. Just make sure it will give enough juice to what ever cpu you go with. 965 C3 stepping is 125 watts I believe.

FX8370E 5839mhz MSI 990FXA GD80 - custom water http://valid.x86.fr/3jk1vz
FX - 9370 @ 5740mhz MSI 990FXA GD-80 with an H-100 proof.gifhttp://valid.canardpc.com/s04jcj
I like MSI motherboards and this is why smile.gif
8350 @ 5.2 ghz on a stock cooler proof.gif PM me! smile.gif
cssorkinman is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-28-2010, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
rtc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
rtc05 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off