Birthday PC? - Page 6 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
Domino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canoodle
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
What you guys think of this case?

It is something that looks better then the storm scout. I'm also looking for good cable management and quality parts inside. What you guys think?
Domino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
Domino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canoodle
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domino View Post
What you guys think of this case?

It is something that looks better then the storm scout. I'm also looking for good cable management and quality parts inside. What you guys think?

hmmm, maybe not. The price goes up and the storm scout has free shipping.

I'm thinking i might have a better time with the storm scout eh?

EDIT: i might just get this pc sooner. Looks like a solid build? A nice upgarde from how I had. I don't know if the video cards and sound card is faulty and I need to test them out before I can get this rig anyways (I'm being reliant on these parts).

I could very well have a PC without video cards, or maybe one of the 9600GTs working. But overall, do you guys think this is a good rig?
Domino is offline  
post #53 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 01:49 PM
PSU Buff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Yup, one reason that I like SeaSonic is that they always keep ripple levels extremely well controlled. Their new S12II units are under 25mV on the +12V.

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 01:52 PM
4.0ghz
 
Crucial09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post
Yup, one reason that I like SeaSonic is that they always keep ripple levels extremely well controlled. Their new S12II units are under 25mV on the +12V.
oh man that is goooooood =]
I literally learn something new from almost each of your posts pheadrus lol
Thanks for the info. I'll continue to refer people to you if I need to, Domino appreciated it.



As for that case. If you can get a cm storm sniper, I would get that. Click on my club link in my sig to see mine.
The sides bulge out for cable management. All cables are well hidden, and great airflow.
I believe it costs more then that scout though, so if you cannot afford the sniper I would say get the scout. Here is the link to the storm scout club, and users who have the case. Pics are allover the entire thread so you can see the cable management.
http://www.overclock.net/computer-ca...cout-club.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby1 go_quote.gif
Crytek found a solution to piracy, who wants to play crysis 2 in DX9 mode? No one.
Crucial09 is offline  
post #55 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 05:10 PM
 
_Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I just noticed that you included the -$20.00 for the rebate. All of the parts in my build that had rebates expired before I would even buy the parts. Pointed it out so you don't go over budget accidentally.

EDIT: lol I keep forgetting you are located in CA! I come across items that are cheaper, but the shipping bumps them over.

_Trev is offline  
post #56 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
Domino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canoodle
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Trev View Post
I just noticed that you included the -$20.00 for the rebate. All of the parts in my build that had rebates expired before I would even buy the parts. Pointed it out so you don't go over budget accidentally.

EDIT: lol I keep forgetting you are located in CA! I come across items that are cheaper, but the shipping bumps them over.
Good find, thanks!
Domino is offline  
post #57 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 08:58 PM
4.0ghz
 
3dfxvoodoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: stalker
Posts: 4,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 146
No DVI on the ASUS VH192D

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

3dfxvoodoo is offline  
post #58 of 278 Old 04-13-2010, 10:11 PM
1.7ghz
 
laxhockey1563's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dfxvoodoo View Post
No DVI on the ASUS VH192D
Yeah I noticed that, but significantly cheaper than a DVI one and his originally monitor only had D-Sub. OP maybe you should try and buy a monitor locally. Probably around the same price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prise go_quote.gif
It is the process that is the most rewarding, not the end result. If the result is the only end important to us, then we'd simply buy the newest parts, and be done with it; or, pay someone to build it with the fastest components fully optimized.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

laxhockey1563 is offline  
post #59 of 278 Old 04-14-2010, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
Domino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canoodle
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dfxvoodoo View Post
No DVI on the ASUS VH192D
Quote:
Originally Posted by laxhockey1563 View Post
Yeah I noticed that, but significantly cheaper than a DVI one and his originally monitor only had D-Sub. OP maybe you should try and buy a monitor locally. Probably around the same price.
Ya I noticed that also. That might be a good idea, but locally here is overpriced. Maybe if I'm in Edmonton.

What sort of things should I look for in a screen? I notice that I can still see choppy like movements on 60hz (even gaming at 60fps, it is usually around 74-80fps where I don't notice a difference) but the 120hz screens are a lot more expensive.

I don't notice much of a difference going from analog to dvi. I've heard at lower resolutions it doesn't make a big impact, including short distance connections.

Edit: this one?
Domino is offline  
post #60 of 278 Old 04-14-2010, 08:15 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In a trailer park
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Sentry21 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off