New Build (1055T + 890GX) - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 09:53 AM
Engineering the World
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Very Nice Build!

Sys #2,: A10-7700K @ 4.6Ghz, ASRock FM2A88X Extreme6+( FM2+) ,4gb GSkill Ripjaws @2133Mhz, Corsair 300R, Samsung P2770 HD-1080p, R7 250, Crucial C300 64GB Boot + Samsung F3 500Gb, NOCTUA NH-D14, Antec 620C Neo


Electroneng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:04 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philly
Posts: 6,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 558
changes I would make
http://www.dustin.no/pd_5010366922.aspx
http://www.dustin.no/pd_5010132220.aspx

you could use the 550w version if you had too
redalert is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:06 AM
 
jameschisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somerset, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by redalert View Post
changes I would make
http://www.dustin.no/pd_5010366922.aspx
http://www.dustin.no/pd_5010132220.aspx

you could use the 550w version if you had too
+1 Agree

I'd rather build something to be proud of. Build a system that is my own. Acquire upgrades and peripherals in my own time. Enjoy my creation as it evolves.

STEAM ID: KPAkiller
Origin ID: KPAkiller

proof.gif 4.2ghz

Buildlog

jameschisholm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:06 AM
4.0ghz
 
SilverPotato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Don't get the ASUS board. Mine came half broken. Intergrated graphics don't work, ACC doesn't work and fan speed controls are finicky as hell.

I suggest the Gigabyte 890GX

Syrillian, You will never be replaced. Rest easy friend.
SilverPotato is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:11 AM
 
jameschisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somerset, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Although I agreed with the Corsair PSU instead, I also agree with Silverpotato's comments, I read someone reviewing that Motherboard, saying for some reason the Samsung F3's click/make an odd noise using that motherboard, which can be fixed with a hdd firmware fix or something.

Tbh go with a Gigabyte 890GX, like SP suggested.

So in short:

corsair PSU -- yes
that particular asus board -- no

The other thing I'd like to say is that yes go with the 1055T !, because it is much easier in the long run to change GPU's than CPU's, less messing.

I'd rather build something to be proud of. Build a system that is my own. Acquire upgrades and peripherals in my own time. Enjoy my creation as it evolves.

STEAM ID: KPAkiller
Origin ID: KPAkiller

proof.gif 4.2ghz

Buildlog

jameschisholm is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Not downstate
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Just read a review of the Fractal Design Tesla and it looks like a high quality power supply. People are recommending other brands because they haven't heard of it. But i believe they will be hearing about it soon enough, now that they are becoming available outside of Norway. Plus good to buy a product designed in your own country. I say everything looks good on this build.... 890 series board is a must IMHO for the 6 cores.... Good Luck on you new build!

THE CHEVY Owners CLUB!!!
DD-WRT Firmware Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by neurolysis go_quote.gif
Damn, I love skipping to page 5 and thinking that this page has turned into pimp related discussions. Somebody put that dolphin in mink.
MrAMD_Fan is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:22 AM
 
1337LutZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherland
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Nice build, but as stated, id check out on the asus mobo.


gunner2.gif Automated TC Stats! sniper.gif  |   I'm the guy that fixes the TC stats
1337LutZ is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:26 AM
 
jameschisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somerset, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I would try to see if you can get ahold of an MSI 890GXM-G65, I've been eyeing that up, because I'm torn between a i3/i5 build and AMD 890GX/PII build as my backup.

I've heard great things about the MSI board.

I'd rather build something to be proud of. Build a system that is my own. Acquire upgrades and peripherals in my own time. Enjoy my creation as it evolves.

STEAM ID: KPAkiller
Origin ID: KPAkiller

proof.gif 4.2ghz

Buildlog

jameschisholm is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 10:31 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverPotato View Post
Don't get the ASUS board. Mine came half broken. Intergrated graphics don't work, ACC doesn't work and fan speed controls are finicky as hell.

I suggest the Gigabyte 890GX
First of all your build seems great specially with the psu cooler, and PSU suggestion. The only thing is the motherboard.

If you do get the GA-890GX which I have just be informed that even though it works great and ppl have gotten overclocks to 4GHZ the BIOS is still a bit unstable for clocks over 3.7Ghz and 3.8Ghz, but I do believe that a new BIOS is coming out soon. And that's if you want to overclock your cpu that is!

Sodalink is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 05-16-2010, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
SupremeP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Moss, Norway
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Switched motherboard to Gigabyte 890GX, and PSU to corsair (I would prefer the Teslas, but theyre out of stock.)

I changed the cpu cooler to Hyper 212, i guess i would start hittin 3,2Ghz

SupremeP is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off