I'm Back! - X5680's, 48GB, 13 SSD, Phase Change, 7 monitors, GTX 580's+more... - Page 44 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #431 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
akrEAGLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
YES! I got the GTX 480 to work

I threw it on the ground a couple times an it suddenly turned on!

No jk, but I actually did fix the problem by reconnecting the 6-pin PCI-E power connector. Kinda weird?
CyberDruid likes this.

[center]Do not go where the path may lead... Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. [center]

Throw all the rules out the window and ignore what people claim as impossible... that is where true innovation begins.

akrEAGLE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #432 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:37 PM
Windows Wrangler
 
Fooxz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BD, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by akrEAGLE View Post
YES! I got the GTX 480 to work

I threw it on the ground a couple times an it suddenly turned on!

No jk, but I actually did fix the problem by reconnecting the 6-pin PCI-E power connector. Kinda weird?
Hmm, maybe the plug on the card was ever so slightly loose? good to hear that its working though.

Fooxz is offline  
post #433 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:37 PM
4.0ghz
 
Fr0sty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwwanna View Post
He said he beta tested, have you ever done betas? Theres no "Programming" involed. Even if there was whats so hard about using a debugger to find a little kick-up, even at 15/14.

@OP really looking forward to future progress on the build, amazing work so far.


im quite sure OP did mention that he programed for the beta instead of being on the beta program wich shouldnt need a mention at all ... aka debugger ....



Quote:
Originally Posted by scollins go_quote.gif
the thing about nda club, is that you don't talk about nda club.
Fr0sty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #434 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:47 PM
F@H Like a 1HR Laundromat
 
ShtSh00ttr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by akrEAGLE View Post
YES! I got the GTX 480 to work

I threw it on the ground a couple times an it suddenly turned on!

No jk, but I actually did fix the problem by reconnecting the 6-pin PCI-E power connector. Kinda weird?

Maybe a bad solder joint on the pcb?
ShtSh00ttr is offline  
post #435 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:48 PM
Endtroducing...
 
XAslanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 290
The 480 wasn't dead. When you have two cards plugged in without a SLI bridge it defaults the output to the second card.

I don't reply to trolls.

RIP SyrillianWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian go_quote.gif

Woohoo!


Well done you zombie stompin', Best Buy dissin' Lion Man!

applaud.gif
XAslanX is online now  
post #436 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
akrEAGLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr0sty View Post
im quite sure OP did mention that he programed for the beta instead of being on the beta program wich shouldnt need a mention at all ... aka debugger ....
Correct.

But lets stay on topic guys, I learned that going off topic apparently attracts haters lol

[center]Do not go where the path may lead... Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. [center]

Throw all the rules out the window and ignore what people claim as impossible... that is where true innovation begins.

akrEAGLE is offline  
post #437 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:49 PM
Make beats, not war...
 
Swiftes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 7,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAslanX View Post
The 480 wasn't dead. When you have two cards plugged in without a SLI bridge it defaults the output to the second card.
This, and OP, pics of the stock cooler idling 2c over ambient?

Its good, but surely not that good.
Swiftes is offline  
post #438 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
akrEAGLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAslanX View Post
The 480 wasn't dead. When you have two cards plugged in without a SLI bridge it defaults the output to the second card.
Even with the SLI bridge it still didn't work.

But again I reseated the PCI-e power connector and now it works fine.

[center]Do not go where the path may lead... Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. [center]

Throw all the rules out the window and ignore what people claim as impossible... that is where true innovation begins.

akrEAGLE is offline  
post #439 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by akrEAGLE View Post
Even with the SLI bridge it still didn't work.

But again I reseated the PCI-e power connector and now it works fine.
Good to hear it works, fault could be card, could be power rail, could be 6-pin connector from PSU.

Intel:MainRig i7 2600K@4.5/Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H/16GB DDR3@1600/2xHD6990
Intel:Secondary Xeon x5650@4.4 1.35v/X58A-UD3R/12GB DDR3@1600/3xHD6970
AMD:HTPC 2400-BE/A7GM-S 2.0/2GB DDR2@855/HDMI
Server1ell R610 DualQuad/48GB@1333
Server2:HP Proliant DL360 G5 DualQuad/32GB@533

rpm666 is offline  
post #440 of 1552 Old 08-23-2010, 12:54 PM
4.0ghz
 
Fr0sty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwwanna View Post
He said he beta tested, have you ever done betas? Theres no "Programming" involed. Even if there was whats so hard about using a debugger to find a little kick-up, even at 15/14.

@OP really looking forward to future progress on the build, amazing work so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr0sty View Post
im quite sure OP did mention that he programed for the beta instead of being on the beta program wich shouldnt need a mention at all ... aka debugger ....
Quote:
Originally Posted by akrEAGLE View Post
Correct.

But lets stay on topic guys, I learned that going off topic apparently attracts haters lol


omg i was right ....



Quote:
Originally Posted by scollins go_quote.gif
the thing about nda club, is that you don't talk about nda club.
Fr0sty is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off