Dremel burnout on aluminum - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Eddie3dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I think it's the wheel hitting the alum causing too much friction or pressure on the motor. Maybe I should get an aftermarket wheel of some sort

Come check out my worklog

For Sale: 780i-790i ek parts, mips blocks, apogee gt
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472035...terblocks.html

For Sale: Aqua Computer aquatube mounts
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472011...ts-plates.html
Eddie3dfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:02 AM
Still Standing
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 37°782'Nx122°506'W
Posts: 19,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2560
Are you using excessive pressure?

Custom Case building, dream and build

Custom Cases: Obsidian Silence, Silentium, Halcyon, Anvil, Indigo
Case Mods: Liquid Chameleon, LC-Lan Box


"Semper Fidelis"

Overclock.net Mod of the Month 0910  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-02 (Feb)  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-05 (May)  4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Syrillian is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Eddie3dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I wouldn't say excessive, but enough pressure. I just read that the black and decker rtx has a more powerful motor and uses the same wheels. I'm thinking of trying this tool

Come check out my worklog

For Sale: 780i-790i ek parts, mips blocks, apogee gt
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472035...terblocks.html

For Sale: Aqua Computer aquatube mounts
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472011...ts-plates.html
Eddie3dfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:07 AM
AZN
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queens Bridge
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah the 400 should be able to do the job, just dont use it for autobody works. If all else fails, I reccommend you get a real men
s tool; get a Rotozipper.
AZN is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:16 AM
Blocksmith
 
fstfrddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Camden NY
Posts: 3,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Like any power tool, let it do the work not your muscles.
fstfrddy is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Eddie3dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Yeah, my roto is in the basement. It's way too powerful for precise cuts unfortunately

Come check out my worklog

For Sale: 780i-790i ek parts, mips blocks, apogee gt
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472035...terblocks.html

For Sale: Aqua Computer aquatube mounts
http://www.overclock.net/sale/472011...ts-plates.html
Eddie3dfx is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:21 AM
Moderator
 
mega_option101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 23,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstfrddy View Post
Like any power tool, let it do the work not your muscles.
QFT

HOW TO USE THE NEW FORUM: Site Features Guide

Quote:
The man never feels the want of what it never occurs to him to ask for. - Arthur Schopenhauer

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  15 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

mega_option101 is online now  
post #18 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:21 AM
4.0ghz
 
smokinbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Ive cut alot of stuff with dremels stainless steel u bolts for 1. I used similar cutting disks not the dremel ones though but they look like what was posted. Maybe just woking it too hard gotta slow it down, not the speed of the dremel your speed. Alos the brushes do need replacement after while. They dont make them like they used to
smokinbonz is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:21 AM
AZN
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queens Bridge
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstfrddy View Post
Like any power tool, let it do the work not your muscles.
Well if you're tool is either too weak or powerful, I guess you would need to resort to muscles
AZN is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 02-28-2008, 10:27 AM
Blocksmith
 
fstfrddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Camden NY
Posts: 3,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZN View Post
Well if you're tool is either too weak or powerful, I guess you would need to resort to muscles
In that case you are using the wrong tool.
fstfrddy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off