GPU HD5450 Competition!!! - Page 7 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 12:25 PM
SLAPPA DAT BASS MON!
 
xxbassplayerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 21,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Sorry to hear about your GPU Pizza.

I'm going to bench mine on air and then water.

Then mod it and see how high I can get

I ended up get the 512MB because of the MIR.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

xxbassplayerxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 12:30 PM
performance fanboy
 
FtW 420's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: near Vancouver, BC
Posts: 10,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 213
At least it was a cheap card, but still sucks that you never even got to see how crappy the framerates are for a new dx11 card (dx11 in strobe lite slow motion, LOL worthy fail).

I still have to get a universal waterblock one of these days. Better yet a gpu pot...

____________________________

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.
post-flame-small.gifOCN bench teampost-flame-small.gif

Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  40 Million+ Folding at Home points 

FtW 420 is offline  
post #63 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 01:14 PM
SLAPPA DAT BASS MON!
 
xxbassplayerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 21,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by FtW 420 View Post
At least it was a cheap card, but still sucks that you never even got to see how crappy the framerates are for a new dx11 card (dx11 in strobe lite slow motion, LOL worthy fail).

I still have to get a universal waterblock one of these days. Better yet a gpu pot...
Or just do what I'm doing and get a MCW80 and some reinforced tubing and run a dice-chilled loop!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

xxbassplayerxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 04:03 PM
Habitual Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 22,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1192
Quote:
Originally Posted by PizzaMan View Post
Is that bottom plate going to let it plug into the slot? Just had a similar problem with an aftermarket air cooler I tried to put on mine.
It off-sets from the slot about 3/8", but I am going to have to trim the bottom plate off about a 1/4" to let it plug in all the way.

Sux about your card, I didn't try mine either, but I have faith if it's dead I did it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by repo_man View Post
Ira that thing looks scary and not in a good way either!
Yeah that red Liquid Tape is wild looking......I usually get it in black but they were out.

Quote:
***Beware all ye Men born of Woman, beware the Hemogoblins...biggrin.gif...If you argue with a Troll the Troll wins. Do not feed the Trolls.***
***TOS***OCN's Professionalism Initiative*** An Emphasis on Quality of Content***Frozen Path. Sub-Zero Cooling Club***
***E8500 @ 5736 Mhz** E8600 @ 5751Mhz***E8400 @ Dead piece of junkQuote:
Originally Posted by Patch
Makes sense. Trolls have nickel plated red blood cells. Helps their copper based hemogoblin deal with the high aluminium content in their spleens.
ira-k is offline  
post #65 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 10:53 PM - Thread Starter
The Electric Boogaloo
 
PizzaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta Ga area
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by ira-k View Post
It off-sets from the slot about 3/8", but I am going to have to trim the bottom plate off about a 1/4" to let it plug in all the way.
If you'll get some screws and nuts, you can remove the mounting plate and bolt the block to the card. That's what I did. Saves your mounting plate in case you need it for another card down the road.

Twitter: PizzaManOCN

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


Extreme OC (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 go_quote.gif
I think you should duct a leaf blower onto your air cooler...wait till liek 2am and fire it up for some hardcore OC action ..really piss of the neighbors.. and see if you can F5 your CPU-Z before the cops show up!! laugher.gif
^^^^thats Extreme OC
Funny (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by el gappo go_quote.gif
Do the opposite of what this guy just said if you want the best results you can get thumb.gif

Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PizzaMan is offline  
post #66 of 332 Old 06-18-2010, 11:33 PM
SLAPPA DAT BASS MON!
 
xxbassplayerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 21,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 610
If I cover the entire card in liquid tape, does that save me from needing to insulate beyond that?

Chimp Challenge Participant 

xxbassplayerxx is offline  
post #67 of 332 Old 06-19-2010, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
The Electric Boogaloo
 
PizzaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta Ga area
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx View Post
If I cover the entire card in liquid tape, does that save me from needing to insulate beyond that?
Liquid tape can be mean to take off if you need to do some re-soldering down the road. I hear Vaseline works well.

Twitter: PizzaManOCN

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


Extreme OC (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 go_quote.gif
I think you should duct a leaf blower onto your air cooler...wait till liek 2am and fire it up for some hardcore OC action ..really piss of the neighbors.. and see if you can F5 your CPU-Z before the cops show up!! laugher.gif
^^^^thats Extreme OC
Funny (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by el gappo go_quote.gif
Do the opposite of what this guy just said if you want the best results you can get thumb.gif

Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PizzaMan is offline  
post #68 of 332 Old 06-19-2010, 02:10 PM
Habitual Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 22,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1192
Quote:
Originally Posted by PizzaMan View Post
If you'll get some screws and nuts, you can remove the mounting plate and bolt the block to the card. That's what I did. Saves your mounting plate in case you need it for another card down the road.
I've got 2 or 3 more, I bought it used and the guy tossed in a bunch of extra parts he had.

xx you'll need to seal around the chip with eraser or neoprene and di-electric/vaseline. The GPU socket needs proofing around it and I'd grease the socket to.

I proof the old way, Conformal/clear finger nail polish, grease and neoprene.

Look in the TEC stickies for the way I generally proof and in the DICE section for the eraser way of doing it.

I use a lot of liquid tape also. Seal around the sockets CPU/GPU with a little clear silicone/Liquid Tape to keep condensation out theat may run in from some other part of the board under the eraser.

I'd try all the proofing ways and see which you like the best, anymore I just proof with what I have on hand, so it's a mix of all of it.

Quote:
***Beware all ye Men born of Woman, beware the Hemogoblins...biggrin.gif...If you argue with a Troll the Troll wins. Do not feed the Trolls.***
***TOS***OCN's Professionalism Initiative*** An Emphasis on Quality of Content***Frozen Path. Sub-Zero Cooling Club***
***E8500 @ 5736 Mhz** E8600 @ 5751Mhz***E8400 @ Dead piece of junkQuote:
Originally Posted by Patch
Makes sense. Trolls have nickel plated red blood cells. Helps their copper based hemogoblin deal with the high aluminium content in their spleens.
ira-k is offline  
post #69 of 332 Old 06-19-2010, 06:05 PM
 
CL3P20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1056
For GPU runs I use:

vaseline, electrical tape and some shop towels to keep the water from dropping on the mobo...and pack around the base of the PCI-E slot with shop towels and such....If its a 24/7 subzero GPU I will prep the core up with eraser..and cover the mem IC's with liquid tape, then add a layer of foam around the block, just to slow the frost growth.

Ordering my GPU next week now. Drinking in Tahoe atm for my lil bro's wedding whoohoo!!


6 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

CL3P20 is offline  
post #70 of 332 Old 06-19-2010, 06:38 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
finally
low eng gpu contest

i will buy one

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off