The Cooler Master Storm Enforcer Club - Page 51 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #501 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 12:25 AM
 
rastablastaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I live in the Pacific Northwest, near Seattle. I am not sure why my temp is 24 at idle-- I do have virtu enabled thru the z68 mobo, so I think that lets the gpu rest during 2d use, and the Seasonic PSU basically puts out no heat during low load.
About the mobo, I definitely want to upgrade, but will have to save the scratch to do so. But then the question would be : new mobo or new gpu? I am leaning toward gpu, at least until the next big chipset becomes affordable/necessary.
Side note: if I get the HAF 912 side enclosure with the fan cut out, any recs for type of fan and whether I should have it set to intake or exhaust?
Thanks!

i-2500 K (4.45 ghz)
Thermalright Macho Cooler
Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 (1.3)
G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600 (PC3 12800)
G.Skill Ram Fan
Seasonic Platinum 1000
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD Boot
Seagate Barracuda 7200 SATA 3
Western Digital Caviar Blue SATA 3
EVGA GTX 560Ti 2GB (944/2044)
Corsair F90 Keyboard
Logitech G500
Plantronics Gamecom 780
Samsung 24" LED display
rastablastaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #502 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 12:42 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
RushFudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Yeah virtu does the job there. When i tried using virtu, windows uses aero theme without the transparency lol. and my mkv/mp4 videos played on vlc looks like *bleep*. so i rolled back to non-virtu.
for the side-fan. definitely intake, exhausts were optimally placed on top or at the back.
RushFudge is offline  
post #503 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 12:15 PM
 
Coregas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I did some very light modifications, took off the door and the dust filter in front, now the fan glows event more and I have more airflow because the filter was getting dusted very fast and there was still dust in my case, I also tried to make my cable management better bit it still aint the prettiest one.
700 450 556 564
Coregas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #504 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 02:11 PM
 
ra27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is everyone else having a quick dust build up?
With the limited fan intakes it is more difficult to obtain a positive pressure inside. I was planning to install new dust filters.
ra27 is offline  
post #505 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 02:21 PM
 
Coregas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ra27 View Post

Is everyone else having a quick dust build up?
With the limited fan intakes it is more difficult to obtain a positive pressure inside. I was planning to install new dust filters.

what if I would change the rear fan as a intake(buy a dust filter for it) turn the cpu heatsink 90 degrees so it would propel hot air from the gpu and cpu to the top 200mm fan and this would be the only output fan would that hel whit the dust build up?
Coregas is offline  
post #506 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 03:44 PM
 
ra27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coregas View Post

what if I would change the rear fan as a intake(buy a dust filter for it) turn the cpu heatsink 90 degrees so it would propel hot air from the gpu and cpu to the top 200mm fan and this would be the only output fan would that hel whit the dust build up?

Doubt that would do much, but I'm a beginner when it comes to PC builds and I'm reading a lot about air flow as I'm pretty OCD with the dust.
Is that a shelf above your Enforcer? What is the space difference? Will it cause issues with expelling the hot air?
ra27 is offline  
post #507 of 2348 Old 04-03-2012, 03:59 PM
 
Coregas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ra27 View Post

Doubt that would do much, but I'm a beginner when it comes to PC builds and I'm reading a lot about air flow as I'm pretty OCD with the dust.
Is that a shelf above your Enforcer? What is the space difference? Will it cause issues with expelling the hot air?

Don't worry about that thing It's a temporary place because I am having Easter vocation from university, and I moved back to my home just for a week, in the amm "dormitory"? (English is not my mother language) my pc is standing on the table so it gets a lot of fresh air and because it is at a table height not the ground level I think it should intake less dust, but the effect is opposite, there is a lot of dust in the filters, so yeah maybe I should make the top one intake and the front one as output, because there would be not that much dust coming through the top?
Coregas is offline  
post #508 of 2348 Old 04-04-2012, 06:31 AM
NV2
Networking Nut
 
NV2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've tried doing top intake, rad on the back exhausting, and front exhaust. It basically reversed the effect. the inside was littered with dust within days instead of weeks. If there were filters it would've been better. On the plus side, my CPU temp was pretty good but not enough to justify a messy inside. Can't say the same about the cards tho...

NV2 is offline  
post #509 of 2348 Old 04-04-2012, 06:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
di inferi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hey guys, any ideas on how to mount this 120mm in this position?

349fc34a.jpg

fa9244f5.jpg

It'll be used for intake. Not enough room in between the card reader and o-drive to place it at the front most part of the bays. Plus it looks pretty sweet in this position. I thought about Velcro, mounting tape, and of course zip ties. Just seeing if any of you guys had any luck doing anything similar.

EDIT: Well, I went ahead and used a combination of packaging foam, Velcro, and zip ties to secure it in place. I think it looks pretty good. Now I just need to clean up the rear end of my o-drive. Might cover it in carbon di-noc.

3a1093a1.jpg

Sorry for poor quality pictures. I will post up some high qualities once I get my 7870, sleeved cables, and SSD in the case smile.gif


Semper Fidelis USMC

Shall not be infringed... How clear does it need to be?
di inferi is online now  
post #510 of 2348 Old 04-04-2012, 04:52 PM
 
rastablastaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
That looks great! I was just thinking about the doing the same thing, wondering if it works...and there it is!

i-2500 K (4.45 ghz)
Thermalright Macho Cooler
Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 (1.3)
G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600 (PC3 12800)
G.Skill Ram Fan
Seasonic Platinum 1000
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD Boot
Seagate Barracuda 7200 SATA 3
Western Digital Caviar Blue SATA 3
EVGA GTX 560Ti 2GB (944/2044)
Corsair F90 Keyboard
Logitech G500
Plantronics Gamecom 780
Samsung 24" LED display
rastablastaa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off