Corsair Carbide Series Owners Club - Page 284 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Which One(s) Do you Own?
200R 91 14.65%
300R 135 21.74%
400R 112 18.04%
500R 283 45.57%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 621. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2831 of 4611 Old 01-11-2013, 07:09 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
Yamuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by EoL RiNzleR View Post

that isn't a 500r. that is a Switch 810...


eh-smiley.gif

I think he was saying/asking, "For my 500r, I want a cover like this, but only for the PSU; any suggestions?"
Yamuda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2832 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 04:56 AM
Programmer
 
Zoef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm having trouble with my fan controller, it doesn't "fit" in the 5.25 bay.
The side flips (I have no other word) of the fan controller are to short to reach the click system of the carbide 500r.
Does somebody have a solution for this? I temporarily used ducktape to keep it together doh.gif




Corsair Carbide Series [400R/500R] Owners Club
Zoef is offline  
post #2833 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 05:10 AM
Fan Man
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My 300R H100i Fitting and cable clean-up

I bought an h100i and some sp120 quiet editions to go with it, as i got fed up with my stupid loud machine.
When i first assembled this rig i didn't pay too much attention to the cable management. So i just felt like re-doing it since im gonna be working on the rig anyway. rolleyes.gif

Before : Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

As you can see it is quite messy rolleyes.gif

Installing the H100i:
I tried to research the interwebs if the cooler fits my case, i found really mixed results from different sources so i just made some measurements and went for it.
Everything was fine until I found out that my motherboard heatsink was 1-2mm too tall.
So i just grabbed the drill and made my own mounts! Took me about 15 mins in total.
Here's a pic; Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Final results:
I used a couple of hours in total in thinking the cables trough and I think I got them very nicely considering the case limitations and my non-modular PSU smile.gif
Here's some final pics Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

So this solves it. I'd say with any board with "normal" sized motherboard heatsinks you are not gonna fit h100i without mods. This was my first time ever doing any kind of modification to a case, but then again, i just drilled a couple of holes rolleyes.gif

EPiiKK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2834 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 05:34 AM
 
sheeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Guys. I'm new to these forums but thought I'd join the club. smile.gif

Corsair 400r

Was my first solo build and the Corsair 400r was mostly fine to install in. The all black interior is slick but did make it hard trying to see sometimes. Now that it's all together now though, it's sweet.

I like the LED lights on the front two fans, nice touch, and the whole thing is very understated without being just a black box. I haven't had dust issues yet (had the system for about 2 months) but I can see the grill on the top being a problem in the future as it feels so open. Despite that though the system is fairly quiet. Can be heard but it's a low, unobtrusive tone. smile.gif
sheeps is offline  
post #2835 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 05:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Scott1541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Officially back in Leicestershire...
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post

My 300R H100i Fitting and cable clean-up

I bought an h100i and some sp120 quiet editions to go with it, as i got fed up with my stupid loud machine.
When i first assembled this rig i didn't pay too much attention to the cable management. So i just felt like re-doing it since im gonna be working on the rig anyway. rolleyes.gif


Nice, I'm thinking about doing something like that in the future, but how far in the future it will be I'm not entirely sure rolleyes.gif I need a better CPU to cool first before I even consider doing something like this.

I'm not even going to comment on your cable management wink.gif

Camera Gear: Nikon D600, D7200, F60 & much more...
Steam: scott1541
Origin: Scott3933OCN Funnies... (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plan9 go_quote.gif

"yawn. RMS is trolling again. Wake me when he returns to planet Earth"
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace8uk go_quote.gif

"Staying inside doesn't get you mounting your telephoto on some F mount."

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant 

Scott1541 is offline  
post #2836 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 06:27 AM
 
R4zor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoef View Post

I'm having trouble with my fan controller, it doesn't "fit" in the 5.25 bay.
The side flips (I have no other word) of the fan controller are to short to reach the click system of the carbide 500r.
Does somebody have a solution for this? I temporarily used ducktape to keep it together doh.gif






you need to take the click system out of your 500r and instal the fancontroller with screws.

like this :



greetzz

ps.. dont have a better close up picture
R4zor is offline  
post #2837 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 08:12 AM
Fan Man
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott1541 View Post


I'm not even going to comment on your cable management wink.gif
Is that a good thing or a bad thing? wink.gif
(Im open for constructive critique)

EPiiKK is offline  
post #2838 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 09:26 AM
PC Gamer
 
SebRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: England
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoef View Post

I'm having trouble with my fan controller, it doesn't "fit" in the 5.25 bay.
The side flips (I have no other word) of the fan controller are to short to reach the click system of the carbide 500r.
Does somebody have a solution for this? I temporarily used ducktape to keep it together doh.gif




I have the exact same fan controller and case. You need to remove the clip on the side of the drive bay and secure the controller with screws.
If you need more help I can post pictures.

'Living is easy with eyes closed.'
SebRa is offline  
post #2839 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Scott1541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Officially back in Leicestershire...
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post

Is that a good thing or a bad thing? wink.gif
(Im open for constructive critique)

I'll just suggest that you maybe try and hide a bit more of the cables behind the motherboard tray thumb.gif

I'm no expert in this but try and take the cables the long way around behind the motherboard to get them coming through the nearest hole to where they need to connect to. So you should end up with the least possible amount of cable showing when you look from the front, and a complete mess of cables when you take the back panel off wink.gif

Camera Gear: Nikon D600, D7200, F60 & much more...
Steam: scott1541
Origin: Scott3933OCN Funnies... (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plan9 go_quote.gif

"yawn. RMS is trolling again. Wake me when he returns to planet Earth"
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace8uk go_quote.gif

"Staying inside doesn't get you mounting your telephoto on some F mount."

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant 

Scott1541 is offline  
post #2840 of 4611 Old 01-12-2013, 12:14 PM
Fan Man
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah, but there is nowhere to tie the cables down behind the mother board, so they are moving all the time in the assembly progress, also the holes are really limited and don't have gromets on them. The case isn't ideal for a tidy looking system frown.gif
So ghetto case, ghetto cables.

EPiiKK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off