[Official] The CoolerMaster Storm Scout, Scout II Club - Page 1266 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: What is your Overall Opinion on this case
Great 929 49.87%
Good 573 30.76%
Meh 226 12.13%
Bad 27 1.45%
SUX 108 5.80%
Voters: 1863. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12651 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 07:55 PM
4.0ghz
 
Enigma8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Center of Alabama
Posts: 11,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireLeon2010 View Post
If anyone is interested, I found both a 2$ (LOL) and a 12$ pair of Dykes (SP?) at Walmart. Not sure about the quality.
Go for the $12 dollar dykes.. They will be around forever.

Enigma8750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12652 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 08:00 PM
4.0ghz
 
Enigma8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Center of Alabama
Posts: 11,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigma8750 View Post
Bien Venu. My French is not so good too.. Welcome to the CMSSC. I think you are our first French Scout.. We love you.

Vu le vu dance'

Gen. Enigma.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker36 View Post
BRI!!!!! HAPPY ALMOST B-DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Enigma. as for the backplates for the EVGA 4xx cards. allot of people are actually reporting a pretty significant drop in V-Reg/ram (not sure wich one atm) temps. like on the order of 5 to 10*c. i cant confirm any of this but i remember seeing it some place on the EVGA boards a few days ago
That doesn't surprise me. I could see that the aluminum of the plate would pull out the heat from the bottom. Smart.

Enigma8750 is offline  
post #12653 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 08:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
Enigma8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Center of Alabama
Posts: 11,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by raspinudo View Post
Installation 90% finished xD.
Just waiting on my gfx card and gentle typhoons now.


Installation 90% done pt2 by Raspinudo, on Flickr



Installation 90% done by Raspinudo, on Flickr
You need to run that 4/8 pin power cable under the board before your Video Card comes in..

Enigma8750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12654 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 08:11 PM
4.0ghz
 
Enigma8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Center of Alabama
Posts: 11,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by baldo_1013 View Post
This is actually my 2nd 470 card and I have no clue what effect the backplate has on the card. I only bought it because it looks pretty cool I have it in my HTPC build in a silverstone sugo case so i hope the card does not get too hot because of the backplate.







Beautiful Build Baldo.. and your photography is brilliant as always. I have learned from your shots.. Thanks..

Enigma8750 is offline  
post #12655 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 08:35 PM
733mhz
 
devilsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Georgia, US
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hey fellow scouts. It's been a long time since I went MIA and I apologize for the hiatus, and I've miss this place and you guys so much. Life's got a way of taking over when you least expect it. Anyway, I have a really huge favor to ask of you. Due to a mistake on my part, I am left with a motherboard that cannot be returned per newegg's policy. The board is brand new, only taken out of the box. It has not been installed, no component/cable has been plugged into it. If I could sell this at atleast 90% value, I would really appreciate it. I will cover shipping too. I apologize for sounding forceful and/or rude, and thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

This is the motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-621-_-Product

P.S. I wish that says OCN Award and not OCC, but yeah
devilsx is offline  
post #12656 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 09:48 PM
333mhz
 
baldo_1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyboyd View Post
Nice build and photos. What camera were they taken with?

thanks man! I'm just using a sony a300 DSLR .. wish I had the newer nikon and canon cameras though...
baldo_1013 is offline  
post #12657 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 09:56 PM
333mhz
 
baldo_1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
@ Baldo: What CPU are you using for that HTPC? I've been thinking about picking up a Gemini for my Aerocool. That thing gets so hot... CPU idles at 47c! In comparison, my sig rig loads at 47c =[ Do you personally like the Gemini?
hyujmn, I'm using a scythe big shuriken HSF but i replaced the 120mm fan with a gelid12PL fan. Works good for my needs. Right now my my cpu is a xeon x3110 which is equivalent to intel e8400. It idles at 38c and load is at 52c.

I can't really recommend the HSF since its so freaking hard to install and you can't use RAMS with taller heatsinks. here's the link for the HSF anyway. hope this helps!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-129-_-Product
baldo_1013 is offline  
post #12658 of 28613 Old 09-10-2010, 10:48 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trademark View Post
nice build man

same here im waitin for my video card on my new i7 build. i havent install my scythe gentle typhoon ap-15 though. btw i highly recommend the ap15 over ap14. its just hard to find available stock nowadays..
Yeah I cant find any ap 15s in stock lol thats why I got 14s

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockr69 View Post
Ok, nice looking build so far, but... If you flip over that psu ; I know it looks cool with the decal and everything, but it's totally going to upset the proper airflow. For optimal cooling you want cool air drawn in from the front and exhausted out the back and top. Heat rises you know. Plus you can then do a much better job cleaning up those psu wires. Also you can run the 4/8 pin cable behind the MOBO tray as well as the ATX 24 pin cable can be ran out the hole in the MOBO tray and back in at the side of the hard drive cage.
Thanks for the advice, Ill rearrange those wires and flip the PSU tonight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockr69 View Post
@ raspinudo re-arrange your H50 wiring like this

Now you can get the kinks out of those coolant tubes and route the pump power wire along the coolant tubes for a much cleaner look. Run the fan wire along the top of the MOBO to the CPU fan header. After all it technically is the CPU cooler fan just removed to an other area. Right? Of course it's right.
Thanks for the help, Ill get on that tonight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigma8750 View Post
You need to run that 4/8 pin power cable under the board before your Video Card comes in..
Alright, Ill look into that.

raspinudo is offline  
post #12659 of 28613 Old 09-11-2010, 12:03 AM
733mhz
 
agent__551's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: not so far
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i got this



this was a hard fit through the upper gap, front panel cable is zip tied so removing them was not an option, not for now





now i cant close the side panel, i know the back of the case got more space due to the shape
but the front panel cables overlap with the 24 pin, this is where i cant shut the side
and i feel there so much space wasted next to the PSU!
what do u think? am thinking intake like cm690
but what kind of steel is there?
agent__551 is offline  
post #12660 of 28613 Old 09-11-2010, 12:20 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hows this guys?

I routed the 8 pin PCI-E cables through the back and out the hdd hole, as well as the 24 pin mobo cable. I routed the PC power 8 pin up through the top, I had to loosen the top three mobo screws to get enough wiggle room. I also rerouted the two h50 cables as per you guyses reccomendations. She looks a lot cleaner now. I can wait to sleeve all the cables, and get a false floor+hdd cover in the future. xD

wire management front by Raspinudo, on Flickr

wire management back by Raspinudo, on Flickr

I just need to know where the one molex from the case that is female goes, and where I plug in the HD audio cable and the one attached to it from the case.

raspinudo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off