[Official] Corsair Obsidian 900D/800D/750D/700D/650D/550D/450D/350D/250D Club - Page 510 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5091 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 04:04 PM
Amiga 500
 
Mergatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasttracker440 View Post

Hi all first time posting on any kind of forums so bear with me. I currently have a corsair 600t with a xspc 240 in the top and a phoyba 200 in a push pull config. It works fine for my old i7 920 at 4.0 Ghz and EVGA GTX 670SC idle temps on cpu 40s and gpu mid 30s under prime load low 60s and unigen loop for 1 hr vid gets to 60 all is good with that. with prim and unigen same time only get to mid 60s on vid and low 70s on cpu this is with fans all at half or lower on fan controler. My question is i just got the new Asrock z77 extreme11 MB with a I5 3570k and another EVGA GTX 670 SC. I would like to upgrade my case to the 800D but i am not to sure if there is a spot for my current 200mm rad and if thoes 2 rads will be enough I am going to overclock the cpu as much as it will go same with vids should i slam a 360 someplace in there will there be room for a push pull in the top with that board or should i just get 2/3 new rads compleatly dont realy want to do that but i can just in case i will link to all the items i currently have for my LC i sure most of you all know them buy heart but just in case. See what this opens up thank you all in advance
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/12103/ex-rad-186/Phobya_Xtreme_200mm_Radiator_Silverstone_Cooler_Master_Yate_Loon.html?id=r4xEhLw2&mv_pc=145
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/15545/fan-971/BitFenix_Spectre_Pro_200mm_Fan_-_Green_LED_BFF-LPRO-20025G-RP.html?id=r4xEhLw2&mv_pc=148
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/14327/ex-rad-315/XSPC_EX240_Dual_120mm_Low_Profile_Split_Fin_Radiator.html?id=r4xEhLw2&mv_pc=150
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swaphdcpuwab.html
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10038/ex-res-161/


Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Hey bud. This is the Obsidian thread. You should be posting that in the Corsair Graphite 600T thread.

http://www.overclock.net/t/831636/official-corsair-graphite-club

Nice build though.

Mergatroid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5092 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 05:10 PM
Case Modder
 
47 Knucklehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 12,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Ok, forgive me if this is going to sound stupid, but this is the first time I've used the Corsair Obsidian 550D case. I've installed a 280 radiator and 2 fans on the top part of the case, and I'm wondering if you have to keep the top lid off of the case to get proper air flow. By the looks of it, I believe you do, but I didn't know if there was enough of a gap that you could put the lid back on it. Assuming you can't, is there (or has anyone developed) sort of a "High Hat" that extends like 1" above the height of the case that has vent holes all the way around it and a flat top (so dust doesn't get in and it looks like the rest of the top of the case) that will fit in that rectangle?



Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  75 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Intel Expert Panel 

47 Knucklehead is offline  
post #5093 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 05:32 PM
PC Gamer
 
morencyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasttracker440 View Post

I would like to upgrade my case to the 800D but i am not to sure if there is a spot for my current 200mm rad and if thoes 2 rads will be enough I am going to overclock the cpu as much as it will go same with vids should i slam a 360 someplace in there will there be room for a push pull in the top with that board or should i just get 2/3 new rads compleatly dont realy want to do that but i can just in case i will link to all the items i currently have for my LC i sure most of you all know them buy heart but just in case. See what this opens up thank you all in advance
There is nowhere to mount the 200mm rad in the 800D. You would have to replace it with a 360 to put in the roof of the case. Push+pull should fit but might be a little tight around the 8-pin connector. You could mod the bottom of the case to fit the 240 rad as well.

Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity

Chimp Challenge Participant  9 Million+ Folding at Home points 

morencyam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5094 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 07:21 PM
 
Contra82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My corsair 800D, going to install blue lights sometime this week




Contra82 is offline  
post #5095 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 07:37 PM
WaterCooler
 
Sazexa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contra82 View Post

My corsair 800D, going to install blue lights sometime this week

Why pick a specific color?

Get something like the NZXT Hue! It's cheap, and supports RGB, so you can make any color you want at any time. ;]

Sazexa is offline  
post #5096 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 07:50 PM
 
Contra82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazexa View Post

Why pick a specific color?

Get something like the NZXT Hue! It's cheap, and supports RGB, so you can make any color you want at any time. ;]

Just checked it out and saw few videos on youtube, looks really nice, will get one and upload pics once installed, thanks thumb.gif

Contra82 is offline  
post #5097 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 08:27 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
MrBowzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States, Maine
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone! smile.gif New to the forums, but not so new to water cooling. Wanted to stop in and say I can not wait for the 900d case to show her beautiful face to me for the 1st time, hopefully within a could of weeks. I have a bunch of new parts that I have just bough, gearing up for my 2013 build. It is going to be Extreme, and it is going to be centered around the hull of the massive 900d. I really can not describe how much time I have put into just the basic layout of the wondrous rig I am about to create, but lets just say more time then I should have. I will defiantly show it off to you guys. I have to say, going through this forum has actually given me / inspired me with new and different ideas. I love the way a few of you guys utilize a clear tubing rather then colored. While it seems so basic, it can really grant a super clean look. I am shooting to hide my pump, and throw in duo res. Not sure yet, and might be getting ahead of myself with these last few ideas. But thanks for having me, and I will surely be present when the release day hits, and all the beautiful pictures from everyone's rig gets posted.

-MrBowzer
MrBowzer is offline  
post #5098 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 08:37 PM
WaterCooler
 
Sazexa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contra82 View Post

Just checked it out and saw few videos on youtube, looks really nice, will get one and upload pics once installed, thanks thumb.gif

It's great. I've got one in my FT02, and it's really, really awesome. Plus it will match the case well; you're going to love it.

Sazexa is offline  
post #5099 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 08:49 PM
PC Gamer
 
Kiracubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Copy pasta a post I made about fitting an H100 in push/pull top mounted in a Corsair 650D for any suggestions or help, if it can be done:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiracubed View Post

Just got 2 sets of the Corsair SP120 Quiet edition for a Push/Pull setup in my Corsair 650D...

And to my disappointment, they DO NOT fit! I have the bottom two fans screwed in fine, and it fits perfectly with just one pair of them bottom mounted. I placed the other two fans on top, and tried to fit it in, and it would not get in the right holes (inb4 that's what she said).

I'm using the Corsair 650D, tried to set up with the SP120 Quiet edition fans, and am using an ASRock Extreme 4 mobo.

Any suggestions on how to make it fit?


Also, in the chance it just won't, which option is best for one pair of fans? The bottom mounted fans in push (blowing upward), or pull (blowing downward into case)? I'm a bit of a noob with fans, and the SP120s don't have the arrows, but I suppose it's not needed since the back bracket is where it blows out from.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiracubed View Post

I'm trying top mounted with an H100.





If it can't be done, which one orientation is best for just 2 fans on bottom of radiator? As they are in pics now (push? The fan is blowing out through radiator), or pull. Or should they be on top of radiator? Just wanna know what's the best cooling option for CPU with what I can do with the clearance. It seems to be the RAM is too high up on the ASRock Extreme 4, and it prevents all holes from fitting; about 1-2 would, but that's not enough, and I wouldn't want to stress it.

Kiracubed is offline  
post #5100 of 8682 Old 03-03-2013, 08:59 PM
PC Gamer
 
morencyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 278
How do you have the radiator mounted? The fans should fit in the same holes on the case that the radiator is mounted to.

Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity

Chimp Challenge Participant  9 Million+ Folding at Home points 

morencyam is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off