[Official] Fractal Design Case Club - Page 1204 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 16297 Old 12-25-2014, 01:04 AM
 
devilz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,

I'm looking at purchasing the Fractal Design R5 for my upcoming build, but I need some help with the dimensions/measurements. What's the measurements of the length between the case feet?? The cabinet of my computer table can only fit a case with a depth of 395mm.


devilz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 16297 Old 12-25-2014, 08:55 AM
PC Gamer
 
contay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oulu, Finland (No reindeer around!)
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilz View Post

Hi guys,

I'm looking at purchasing the Fractal Design R5 for my upcoming build, but I need some help with the dimensions/measurements. What's the measurements of the length between the case feet?? The cabinet of my computer table can only fit a case with a depth of 395mm.


Okay since no R5 owners active, here's something: I measured the case length in image and distance between center of the feet and scaled it with known length of the case.

Here is an image and this should help a little!

A = 371 mm, B = 402 mm, C = 55 mm.

Remember these are not exact but there should not be more than few % error there.

Merry Xmas for those who celebrate, no gifts for those who don't!

EDIT: There's always typos in first review.
devilz likes this.

Sure, it is easy to build your rig.

Hard mode: Build your rig and have a kid.

Hardcore mode: Build a rig. Own a cat. Survive.

EDIT: No one mentioned I had a typo in my signature whistle.gif
contay is offline  
post #12033 of 16297 Old 12-25-2014, 01:35 PM
 
AperfectCircle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Im thinking to buy fractal design define R5 but I dont know which one,I mean the window or the non window.I want the case to be silent,If you have window isnt gonna be noisy?
AperfectCircle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12034 of 16297 Old 12-25-2014, 03:24 PM
Folding Fanatic
 
Barbouri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilz View Post

Hi guys,

I'm looking at purchasing the Fractal Design R5 for my upcoming build, but I need some help with the dimensions/measurements. What's the measurements of the length between the case feet?? The cabinet of my computer table can only fit a case with a depth of 395mm.

Measured distance center to center of feet is 371.5 L X 193.5 W on my R5.
Distance from back of case to front edge of front feet is 444.5 mm.
devilz likes this.

█▓▒█▓♦ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 980 Owner's Club ♦█▓▒█▓
I <3 Mechanical Keyboard
Barbouri is offline  
post #12035 of 16297 Old 12-25-2014, 11:03 PM
 
devilz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbouri View Post

Measured distance center to center of feet is 371.5 L X 193.5 W on my R5.
Distance from back of case to front edge of front feet is 444.5 mm.

Thanks mate!

devilz is offline  
post #12036 of 16297 Old 12-26-2014, 04:03 AM
PC Gamer
 
contay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oulu, Finland (No reindeer around!)
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilz View Post

Thanks mate!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbouri View Post

Measured distance center to center of feet is 371.5 L X 193.5 W on my R5.
Distance from back of case to front edge of front feet is 444.5 mm.

Looks like my measurements from picture were quite accurate, if there is 0,5mm difference when measured from case wink.gif

Sure, it is easy to build your rig.

Hard mode: Build your rig and have a kid.

Hardcore mode: Build a rig. Own a cat. Survive.

EDIT: No one mentioned I had a typo in my signature whistle.gif
contay is offline  
post #12037 of 16297 Old 12-27-2014, 03:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by combine1237 View Post

Hello, just ordered an r4 (yes, I know r5 is out, but parts had to be purchased from a specific retailer) and am wondering what fan I could squeeze in the bottom with a 200mm psu? From what I have researched it will fit a 120mm fan with a 180mm psu, but I have a 200mm psu so would that mean fitting a 100mm fan in there? The reason I am asking is I plan to crossfire 2 290x in there, and I worry a side fan will no be enough.

Thanks for any possible input.
There is a mesh by default you can screw/attach the fan in any position and distance even the 140mm.
It will only go a little over the hole since it will be offset.
I have 140mm on the bottom with Leadex PSU, I think 180mm and I have mounted the bottom 140mm fan on a second hole from the original one. Reason being there are connectors on the PSU, I think I had to clear those and wanted the air be blow past them not blocked by them and left some space between the PSU and fan.
You can mount a 140mm there even with 200mm PSU but a 120mm could be a better fit if you don't like or can't have the fan offset to front.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrockinWV View Post

I thought about it but just never got around to setting it up in the front of the case. I did originally have it set up as exhaust on the top, but figured I would try to use it as intake to see what my temps were. It was rather difficult setting it up as intake so I figured Id just leave it haha. My temps are pretty good now so I figure I will leave it as is for awhile or until I get bored of it.
Plus with radiator on top you can always sprinkle some cold water on it to cool it down! *just kiddin'* tongue.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by AperfectCircle View Post

Im thinking to buy fractal design define R5 but I dont know which one,I mean the window or the non window.I want the case to be silent,If you have window isnt gonna be noisy?
Windowed panels are noisier and don't a fan option. Plus if you don't have case on your desk = very noisy to do, you won't see the window with "blinky distracting lights" anyway.
JackCY is offline  
post #12038 of 16297 Old 12-27-2014, 10:34 AM
3.5ghz
 
Aluc13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
The window for me is more silent than my PS4.

Aluc13 is offline  
post #12039 of 16297 Old 12-27-2014, 10:56 AM
PC Gamer
 
contay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oulu, Finland (No reindeer around!)
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluc13 View Post

The window for me is more silent than my PS4.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AperfectCircle View Post

Im thinking to buy fractal design define R5 but I dont know which one,I mean the window or the non window.I want the case to be silent,If you have window isnt gonna be noisy?

If you are not sure buy non window. Windowed side panels surely come for sale seperately, like they did with R4. So, if you later want to make build with blinkies and shiny stuff inside, you can buy windowed side then.

Sure, it is easy to build your rig.

Hard mode: Build your rig and have a kid.

Hardcore mode: Build a rig. Own a cat. Survive.

EDIT: No one mentioned I had a typo in my signature whistle.gif
contay is offline  
post #12040 of 16297 Old 12-27-2014, 11:15 AM
 
gopanthersgo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by contay View Post


If you are not sure buy non window. Windowed side panels surely come for sale seperately, like they did with R4. So, if you later want to make build with blinkies and shiny stuff inside, you can buy windowed side then.
Oh wow that helped me out to if I build a new PC in an R5 or something.

gopanthersgo1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off