[Official] Fractal Design Case Club - Page 519 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5181 of 16295 Old 12-10-2012, 11:59 PM
Overclocker
 
Airrick10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by nubbinator View Post

I'd use one as intake in front of the heatsink, but run it at ~50%. I noticed better temps with my Archon when I had one top fan in front of it as an intake.
Thanks for your feedback! I already have 2 140mm fans on the front as intake. I decided to leave them as outtake on top. I just run them at 1/2 speed. I also installed another 140mm as outtake on the rear. Still debating on whether or not to install another 140mm as intake at the bottom.
Airrick10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5182 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 07:44 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: "Joy is but the shadow of pain" You'll figure it out.
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebduncan View Post

how so?
at least with the arc midi, you can mount 3 140mm up top, and 1 120mm Plenty of exhaust, and plenty of fresh air being pulled in if you use the front 2 140mms and one side panel 140mm.
I personally have Intake- Corsair AF140's 3 of them (two in front panel, one on side panel)
Exhaust- Corsair AF140, two Corsair SP 120's (radiator), Power supply.
Case temp is only 2-3 degrees above ambient, and its positive pressure. (the sp 120's don't run at full speed)
I don't know what case your talking about, but the Arc Midi does just fine with positive pressure, which is good because it keeps dust to a min.

My bad, I was in define mode sorry bout that

Huzzbutt is offline  
post #5183 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 12:50 PM
Commodore 64
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1629
Couple of options to test:
* Move top back to bottom as intake, turn top front into low speed intake and open unused PCI slots in back. Will force, hot air out.
* Move top front to bottom intake. Will give you more cool air in.
* For both raise your case up so bottom PSU and intake fans have about 50mm clearance for less restrictive intake. Will increase airflow and make them quieter.

Try each and see what the temps are, than use whichever one works the best.

post-flame-small.gifPhanteks Owners Club post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifWays to Better Cooling post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif1. Controling PWM Case Fans post-flame-small.gif2. Optimizing Case Cooling post-flame-small.gif3. Cooler Size Comparison & Cooling Comparison
post-flame-small.gif
=i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socket
Phanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPU i7 980xCooler R1 Ultimate w/ TY-147A fans RAM Dominator GT 6x2GB GPU ENGTX580 DCUII PSU Corsair TX850 Case [/COLOR]Phanteks Enthoo PrimoBase custom caster base
=i7 980X @ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base
doyll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5184 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 01:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I need some help.

So I just got my fractal 3000 and build installed my pc in it. It was fun to build and the case itself is very sturdy and feels premium smile.gif
I really like the fans, steel, black paint and all the details.

But I need help with cable management. I just suck at it. I have 600w gs NONmodulat corsair psu and installed it fan-down. All psu cables went thru hole right near it and then out of the holes corresponding to the needs. It is still a mess. I also removed the middle cage.

And I am not sure if I want to use the adjustable fan controller. First -it makes a horrible mess with it's cables. Second -it's analog controlled and I am not sure if fans spin with the speed I want. I would prefer 3way controller or maybe should I just plug THOSE FANS INTO MOBO and let em to be controlled by bios settings ? I have asrock p67 pro3.


One last question. Should I cover up the fan free mesh vent on the roof? I feel like dirt might just drop inside or something
HiCZoK is offline  
post #5185 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 02:04 PM
Overclocker
 
Airrick10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ok so I upgraded a couple of things on my Arc Midi:

1) Bitfenix Alchemy White Sleeved Extensions (Power, 8-pin power, 2x6-pin gpu power)
2) I replaced my cooler from an Antec Kuhler 620 to a Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BK (much quieter while having slightly better temps)
3) I replaced 2 front and added 1 rear fans with Corsair AF140's




Airrick10 is offline  
post #5186 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 02:09 PM
 
viox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airrick10 View Post

Ok so I upgraded a couple of things on my Arc Midi:
1) Bitfenix Alchemy White Sleeved Extensions (Power, 8-pin power, 2x6-pin gpu power)
2) I replaced my cooler from an Antec Kuhler 620 to a Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BK (much quieter while having slightly better temps)
3) I replaced 2 front and added 1 rear fans with Corsair AF140's




Once you go past the Phanteks size you can get quite amazed by their efficiency ( both thermal and sound ) . I went from H80 to the aforementioned.

Props for a wicked system!
viox is offline  
post #5187 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 02:26 PM
Overclocker
 
Airrick10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by viox View Post

Once you go past the Phanteks size you can get quite amazed by their efficiency ( both thermal and sound ) . I went from H80 to the aforementioned.
Props for a wicked system!

Thanks Viox! Yeah man, the Phanteks is big but no problem installing this behemoth in the Arc Midi at all! I had to sacrifice my ram cooler but I mainly had it for aesthetics more than anything....oh well. thumb.gif

I now won't have to worry about any leaks. My antec kuhler was pretty good...no problems at all but you never know what might happen.
Airrick10 is offline  
post #5188 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK View Post

I need some help.
So I just got my fractal 3000 and build installed my pc in it. It was fun to build and the case itself is very sturdy and feels premium smile.gif
I really like the fans, steel, black paint and all the details.
But I need help with cable management. I just suck at it. I have 600w gs NONmodulat corsair psu and installed it fan-down. All psu cables went thru hole right near it and then out of the holes corresponding to the needs. It is still a mess. I also removed the middle cage.
And I am not sure if I want to use the adjustable fan controller. First -it makes a horrible mess with it's cables. Second -it's analog controlled and I am not sure if fans spin with the speed I want. I would prefer 3way controller or maybe should I just plug THOSE FANS INTO MOBO and let em to be controlled by bios settings ? I have asrock p67 pro3.
One last question. Should I cover up the fan free mesh vent on the roof? I feel like dirt might just drop inside or something

anyone ?
HiCZoK is offline  
post #5189 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 04:21 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: "Joy is but the shadow of pain" You'll figure it out.
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK View Post

anyone ?

Airborne dust generally tend to not drop into exhausts, cover it up if you feel like it. Let the air flow if temps get high.
As for fans I would use the one provided, but i like analog stuff.

Huzzbutt is offline  
post #5190 of 16295 Old 12-11-2012, 04:41 PM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK View Post

anyone ?

there should be enough space behind mobo tray for all loose cables. I wouldnt use stock fan controller, instead like you said you can plug fans directly into the mobo if mobo has enough headers of course. also best way to cover that fanless grill would be to cover it with a fan biggrin.gif you can move front fan to the empty top grill and buy some new fans for front intake: i have these:

LINK

dont forget that front fans are 140mm on top and 120mm on the bottom
ekg84 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off