EK introduces new REVO D5 series of pumps and reservoirs combos - Page 7 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 369 Old 10-02-2015, 01:17 AM
 
AidenH96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear304 View Post

Satisfied now ? biggrin.gif

Indeed. thumb.gif Thanks for the info.
AidenH96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 369 Old 10-03-2015, 11:28 PM
please keep drinking the koolaide
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 700
@EK_tiborrr @akira749

do you need the diva mod to make this work with aquaero !
Quote:
Originally Posted by IT Diva View Post


Yes, . . . .

There's a really good way with an add-on PCB, but there's also a quick and easy way that yields acceptable results without having to run wires and plug into a 5V molex pin somewhere.

Here's copied from the "old" A6 thread with some additional information:

For the capable DIY'er . . .

While not as optimal a solution as the active component based solutions, this is a workable solution to the issue of having a PWM D5.




I've tried it on a single and a dual D5 setup and it works satisfactorily with pullups optimized for each case, and it's dead nuts simple, though not exactly elegant.

At issue is that the D5 needs a fairly "strong" pullup, (lower resistance) . . . while the A6 works best with weaker pullups, (higher resistance).




This setup uses the 12V available from the first 2 of the 4 PWM fan pins on each channel of the A6.

The Zener diode and larger resistor form a 5V regulated source that the smaller resistor connects the PWM line to.

The diode is a 5.1V Zener diode, and the larger resistor, the 1/2 W one, is a 560 Ohm, but 470, 680, 820, or 1K will work as well. 1K may be the easiest to find.

Be sure you have the Zener diode polarity connected as in the pic.

The smaller resistor, 1/4 W, is a 2.2K which I'd suggest for a dual D5 setup, but for a single D5, a 3.3K would be fine.

The smaller size, 1/6W or 1/8W are electrically OK, but the smaller physical size makes lead breakage more of an issue, so stay with 1/4W.


Everything shown is available from RadioShack.


Hope that helps,

Darlene

IE does this have the pullup for the pwm line ?

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
post #63 of 369 Old 10-04-2015, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
EKWB Forum Support Representative
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Man View Post

@EK_tiborrr @akira749

do you need the diva mod to make this work with aquaero !
IE does this have the pullup for the pwm line ?

I will let the Chief (@EK_tiborrr) answer this one but since it's not a "special" D5 PWM that we sell, I would say yes.
akira749 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 369 Old 10-07-2015, 12:53 PM
WaterCooler
 
Rahldrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you going to release a Vario version of the D5 Revo? Any specific reasons for not going with the "set and forget" way with this pump? smile.gif
Rahldrac is offline  
post #65 of 369 Old 10-08-2015, 05:11 AM
MORE THAN LIFE
 
tiborrr12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Slovenia, EU
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rahldrac View Post

Are you going to release a Vario version of the D5 Revo? Any specific reasons for not going with the "set and forget" way with this pump? smile.gif
Not likely. We are steering away from non-PWM controlled gear in our portfolio. However you can still assemble your own D5 Revo with Vario pump smile.gif

EK R&D Chief
ekwb.com

Follow us on Facebook & twitter!

Please do not message me on PM.
tiborrr12 is offline  
post #66 of 369 Old 10-08-2015, 06:59 AM
WaterCooler
 
Rahldrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you for you answer! smile.gif
Is the d5 pwm problem just with aquaero, or is it with normal motherboards too?
Rahldrac is offline  
post #67 of 369 Old 10-08-2015, 07:03 AM
please keep drinking the koolaide
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rahldrac View Post

Thank you for you answer! smile.gif
Is the d5 pwm problem just with aquaero, or is it with normal motherboards too?

it isnt a problem with the aquaero. it is a problem with the implementation of the pwm on the d5s ( Lang did not follow pwm spec ( from intel ) and did not include a pullup circuit ) that said most mobos dont seem to care but some might/do

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
post #68 of 369 Old 10-08-2015, 07:25 AM
WaterCooler
 
Just a nickname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Wow... I need this!

CPU owned:
i5-750 & EVGA Classified 200 - 4.8GHz
i7-870 & EVGA Classified 200 - 5GHz
i7-2600k & Z77X-UD3H - 5GHz
i7-4790k & MSI Gaming 5 - 5GHz
Just a nickname is offline  
post #69 of 369 Old 10-11-2015, 07:03 AM
 
barsh90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Which one is quieter? the old square one or the revo? Planning on replacing my current xspc combo. At speed 3.5-5 is quiet but I can hear a high pitched noise that drives me nuts.

barsh90 is offline  
post #70 of 369 Old 10-11-2015, 07:42 AM
MORE THAN LIFE
 
tiborrr12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Slovenia, EU
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Both are more or less the same, new one should be more quiet tbh.

EK R&D Chief
ekwb.com

Follow us on Facebook & twitter!

Please do not message me on PM.
tiborrr12 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off