[Windows 7] Setting up the SMP client (v6.34) - Page 35 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #341 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Just the servers again. Should ease off with the new WUs that were brought out, so see how it goes the next day or so.

On the bright side, you wouldn't have that error if you spent the entire day folding a single WU. Might actually work out better for you.

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #342 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 03:31 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
werds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac View Post
Just the servers again. Should ease off with the new WUs that were brought out, so see how it goes the next day or so.

On the bright side, you wouldn't have that error if you spent the entire day folding a single WU. Might actually work out better for you.
So then it's not the client going to sleep? I ask because as soon as I restart the client I almost always manage to grab a new A3 WU - and if it is actually going to sleep is there a way for me to edit/extend the time before it does go to sleep?


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

werds is offline  
post #343 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
No, it's an issue where the client can't connect to a server and download a WU. Normally, restarting it a few times will get you a WU though, so that's why it starts working again when you try it.

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #344 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 06:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrBalll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West TX
Posts: 3,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Does adding -smp 7 in the Target field make a difference or should I just leave it as -smp? Just wanting to make sure I have a core left over for GPU folding and other things.

"Dubstep is porn for blind people."

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant 

MrBalll is offline  
post #345 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
nVidia GPUs aren't nearly as bad as ATi. Though I think 2 GPU client will have an impact on the SMP, I think you'll lose more PPD dedicating an entire core to them.

You can always try both ways and see how it goes though.

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
post #346 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 07:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrBalll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West TX
Posts: 3,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Alright, will do. I started it up and it was doing well then I added -oneunit to the Target and when I booted it back up it insta-froze. ='(
So, I dropped the OC by 200MHz, just to be sure, so if it freezes again I guess my i7 just wasn't made to fold.

"Dubstep is porn for blind people."

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant 

MrBalll is offline  
post #347 of 1425 Old 04-19-2010, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
ALL i7s are made to fold. Some just need a bit more care.

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
post #348 of 1425 Old 04-20-2010, 02:04 AM
Folding Fanatic
 
mrwesth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alaska's Rain Forest
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I've been out of it a while... will this yield higher ppd then the virtual machine linux smp solutions of old?

If the processor/gpu specs matter it is my sig rig.


Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  5x Chimp Challenge Participant  45 Million Folding Points 

mrwesth is offline  
post #349 of 1425 Old 04-20-2010, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Yes it will, once you start getting bonuses. The first 10 WUs will be at a lower PPD than the VMwares, but after that, you get the bonus points, and the PPD is much higher. Plus, the SMP client is alot easier on the rest of the system than the VMwares were.

You might need to use the "-smp 3" flag though, and leave one core free if you plan to run 6 GPU clients on the same rig.

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
post #350 of 1425 Old 04-21-2010, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Yay, over 10k views!

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off