Need: Cpu & Motherboard. <$180 To Spend. Please Suggest Options. - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 31 Old 03-06-2013, 10:41 PM
 
Stay Puft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: My Garage
Posts: 9,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by drnilly007 View Post

Usually have crap components

It's a 3220/B75 combo. Not crap at all.


Stay Puft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 31 Old 03-06-2013, 11:08 PM
Overclocker
 
DaFirnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
That actually looks like a pretty good deal.
Pros 4x usb 3.0 on the back panel
mobo has 3 year warranty
cons no usb 3.0 internal header
only 1 sata 6gb/s port
DaFirnz is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 03-07-2013, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 805
^ Cons: It's AsRock which is known to have analog mosfets on lga1155 :S

Validation (Click to show)

4.49GHz @1.272-1.284V , 11hr Prime95
-> original
gimped BCLK (125W TDP limit)
4.6GHz@1.272-1.284V (Overvolt enabled), 14hr Prime95
4.7GHz @1.296-1.32V (Overvolt enabled), 14hr OCCT Linpack (& F19e BIOS , OCCT 11hr)
4.8GHz @1.296V
5.1Ghz @1.404V (130W TDP) .... wish it was stable
Sandy Bridge Binning guide @ HWBot


AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.925GHz 1.35V dynamic voltage ... 1hr AIDA64 (8hr AVX Prime95 with -50MHz)
W.I.P R7 1700X @ 4.040GHz (Fixed voltage is bugged , this booted at 1.39V , testing in Windows 10 PE so no GPU driver)
40.75 multi @ 1.39V
41 multi, booted @ ~ 1.41V
Recommended GPU Projects: Einstein@Home , Milkyway@Home (Tahiti , Cayman , Cypress Radeons) (AMD moreso)
Other notable GPU projects: Asteroids@Home (nvidia), GPUGrid (nvidia) , Universe@Home (Tahiti , Cayman , Cypress Radeons with double precision) (AMD)

Project list
AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 31 Old 03-07-2013, 11:58 AM
 
Stay Puft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: My Garage
Posts: 9,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

^ Cons: It's AsRock which is known to have analog mosfets on lga1155 :S

I'm so sick of hearing about this. Sin benched an Extreme4 and it did 5.3Ghz and didnt blow up on a test bench. What makes you think you'll have a problem in a case with airflow running ove rthe motherboard?

I myself ran a 3770K at 4.8Ghz on a Z77 Pro3 for 6 months and it had no issues. I wouldnt post the combo if i didnt have faith in it.

Stay Puft is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 03-07-2013, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Offender_Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Thank you for your recommendations and provided links guys. thumb.gif I'll give it another week before I purchase anything, then let you know what I come up with. smile.gif

Offender_Mullet is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 03-10-2013, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Offender_Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Alrighty, after searching non-stop the past few days and going through waaaaay tooooo much Copenhagen while doing so tongue.gifbiggrin.gif I've boiled it down to these 3 options. I already know what most of you will say smile.gif but I'm just throwing the AMD ones out there.


AMD #1 the "oldschool cpu" build
Cpu: http://www.microcenter.com/product/325874/Phenom_II_X4_965_Black_Edition_34GHz_Boxed_Processor (the Phenom II X6 1045T is also the same price)
Motherboard: http://www.microcenter.com/product/375772/GA-970A-UD3_Socket_AM3_970_ATX_AMD_Motherboard (open box)
Total: $172.35


AMD #2
Cpu: http://www.microcenter.com/product/401797/FX_6300_Black_Edition_35GHz_Six-Core_Socket_AM3_Boxed_Processor
Motherboard: http://www.microcenter.com/product/382894/970_Extreme3_Socket_AM3_970_ATX_AMD_Motherboard
Total: $177.77


INTEL
Cpu: http://www.microcenter.com/product/398006/Core_i3_3225_33GHz_LGA_1155_Boxed_Processor
Motherboard: http://www.microcenter.com/product/398418/GA-B75M-D3H_LGA_1155_mATX_Intel_Motherboard
Total: $172.38


The FX-6300 and i3-3225 both have their advantages and disadvantages, but part of me wants to try the FX-6300. Not really sure what to do. I forgot I had a 4GB of Kingston HyperX T1 2000MHz ram, so now I don't have to buy any. thumb.gif This is only a temp build anyway. Once I get the upgrade bug late this year or early next, then I'll go over to Haswell.

Offender_Mullet is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 03-10-2013, 08:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 805
May want to grab the AM3+ stuff (FX-6300) for resale value.... i3 will be basically unsellable , both CPU and motherboard will be old stuff


& you could overclock it.

Just my thought on that

Validation (Click to show)

4.49GHz @1.272-1.284V , 11hr Prime95
-> original
gimped BCLK (125W TDP limit)
4.6GHz@1.272-1.284V (Overvolt enabled), 14hr Prime95
4.7GHz @1.296-1.32V (Overvolt enabled), 14hr OCCT Linpack (& F19e BIOS , OCCT 11hr)
4.8GHz @1.296V
5.1Ghz @1.404V (130W TDP) .... wish it was stable
Sandy Bridge Binning guide @ HWBot


AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.925GHz 1.35V dynamic voltage ... 1hr AIDA64 (8hr AVX Prime95 with -50MHz)
W.I.P R7 1700X @ 4.040GHz (Fixed voltage is bugged , this booted at 1.39V , testing in Windows 10 PE so no GPU driver)
40.75 multi @ 1.39V
41 multi, booted @ ~ 1.41V
Recommended GPU Projects: Einstein@Home , Milkyway@Home (Tahiti , Cayman , Cypress Radeons) (AMD moreso)
Other notable GPU projects: Asteroids@Home (nvidia), GPUGrid (nvidia) , Universe@Home (Tahiti , Cayman , Cypress Radeons with double precision) (AMD)

Project list
AlphaC is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 03-10-2013, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Offender_Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
That's what I was thinking as well. Thanks for all the info you posted in here Alpha.

Offender_Mullet is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 03-11-2013, 01:58 AM
Overclocker
 
DaFirnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Does the AMD board support the fx-8350? If it does and you felt the need to upgrade, bam, i5 killer. Or at least same as. If not still might be the best option.
DaFirnz is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 03-11-2013, 03:52 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Offender_Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFirnz View Post

Does the AMD board support the fx-8350? If it does and you felt the need to upgrade, bam, i5 killer. Or at least same as. If not still might be the best option.
Yes, all 3 that I listed support the 8350. However, I'm going to ditch the ASRock and get the Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 instead. It seems to have a much more 'robust' power phase compared to the ASRock. I didn't want to fall into the "it doesn't cost that much more" trap, which can snowball depending on how many components you're buying, but I really didn't want to skimp on the motherboard. Plus, I've never been crazy about ASRock boards.

Offender_Mullet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off