Gamer Rig / Workstation (3Ds Max) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-06-2013, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
 
Njord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone. I'm a bit unsure where to post this as I might change the build completely depending on your feedback.

I'm trying to build a new PC. It will be used primarily for High end Gaming. But I'm also going to use it for 3Ds Max. (modeling, rendering etc.)

I'd like to be able to run games like:
DayZ Arma2/Arma3, Skyrim, Farcry3, BF3/4, GTA5, TESonline - and practically any upcoming FPS / MMORPG's on Maximum settings.

The optimal thing would be 2 computers. A Gamer rig and a Workstation - but I don't have that kind of money.

So I wanna try and combine the best from both worlds into one build. (if possible)

(I've been away from 3dsmax for about 12 years - So for now 3dsmax will just be a hobby)



The gfx card fried on the old PC, but I'll be using the screen (1920 x 1200), keyboard, mouse and HDD from it - so that should be covered for now.

Will this build work? Any bottlenecks?

Any help/adjustments is appreciated really.


MOBO:
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H - Rev. 1.0

CPU:
Core i7 I7-4770K 8 MB (Intel Boxed)

CPU COOLER:
NZXT Kraken X60

GPU:
eVGA GeForce GTX TITAN Superclocked (6 GB)

RAM:
2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3-1866 CL10

PSU:
Corsair AX860i

SSD:
Samsung 840 EVO MZ-7TE120 120 GB

CASE:
NZXT Phantom 410


OS:
WIN 7 (64 bit)

This will be about 2.800 USD when I convert it from my local currency DKK (Denmark)
This is absolute maximum btw.

2.300 USD was the original budget, but if this^ build works, I'm buying it.


I know a GTX TITAN won't perform near a good Workstation card, but it should work.
(i hope ^ please correct me if I'm wrong)


Less expensive cards in SLI could do better in games, but then I wouldn't have the 6GB VRAM for

3dsmax - which is why I picked the Titan (to get the best from both worlds)


If you have an idea for a better build (high end gaming/3DsMax) for around 2.500 USD please speak up.

Help a n00b out here thumb.gif






Thanks in advance to anyone who contribute to this thread.





//Njord
Njord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-07-2013, 06:05 AM
I swear this "old junk" isn't a waste of $.
 
TheN00bBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 4522 Colfax, block from the Walmart, by the train tracks
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The build you posted is fine. But, if you have an HDD already with stuff on it, why get an SSD?

Best of OCN (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by incurablegeek go_quote.gif

Nah, TheN00bBuilder, no need for you to be jealous of my slow-speed internet. My striking good looks and rock-hard abs - well, that's a whole 'nother story. thumbsupsmiley.png
Quote:
Originally Posted by CynicalUnicorn go_quote.gif

Pros: no more quartet of 40mm fans playing "Jet Engine in 12V Minor."
Quote:
Originally Posted by crust_cheese go_quote.gif

I run a UNIX. This means that I get girls about as often as my PC crashes. mad.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsnake2 go_quote.gif

Uhmmm, you dont pay for girlfriends. You pay for hookers.
Clubs (Click to show)

The OCN Jazz Club!

jealoussmiley.gifJealous Much Of My Mobo?jealoussmiley.gif


Proud Member of the [Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club! headphone.gif
TheN00bBuilder is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-07-2013, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
 
Njord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheN00bBuilder View Post

The build you posted is fine. But, if you have an HDD already with stuff on it, why get an SSD?

Installing the OS on an SSD along with 3dsmax+games and using the old HDD as storage, would make the system faster. At least that was the idea.
Njord is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off