CPU Burn in - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-17-2013, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
 
DAChimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok so I'm going to build my new system and want to know about CPU burn in. Is it necessary, what does it accomplish, and what do I use to do this. I'm pretty sure I don't take my torch to burn it in lol. How long should I burn in the CPU?
DAChimera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-17-2013, 11:38 AM
'-'
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 14,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 500
I wouldn't worry about it at all. I've never heard of a good reason for anyone doing it.
IEATFISH is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-17-2013, 11:42 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
junkerde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
just disregard that entirely, dont even worry about that

Previous CPU (i5 3570k) Overclockhttp://valid.canardpc.com/2575459

Current CPU (i7 3770k) Overclockhttp://valid.canardpc.com/2600445
junkerde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-20-2013, 12:43 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
sepiashimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: India
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I don't think CPUs have burn in. Maybe speakers and headphones do.
sepiashimmer is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-20-2013, 12:48 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Bl00dyMurd3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
CPUs don't need burning in, they're good to go out of the box. Thermal paste, however, can sometimes benefit from normal usage burn in. It depends on the TIM, Artic silver, for example, takes about 200 hours of computer use for it to reach it's best ability, which is just a few degrees lower than day 1 thumb.gif


I did error10's Windows Challenge and I now have a codependent relationship with Windows! heart.gif

May your framerate be mighty and your draw distance far
Bl00dyMurd3r is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-20-2013, 08:26 AM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
CPU burn in?
What's next...

naikee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off