PC not POSTing on cold boot-- Q code 00 - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 27 Old 12-17-2017, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
 
marmalada180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It didn't fix it but I tried something different and I was able to boot up. I unplugged the chassis fan connector just above the atx connector, to the right of the dimm slots for the ram, and it worked.

Any idea what's going on? Why did unplugging that one thing get it working? All the fans except the one connected to that connector are working.
marmalada180 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 27 Old 12-17-2017, 01:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cloudforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 60
cant really explain but it may be a short of some sort.

dont plug anything in that pin and test it out for a while

Cloudforever is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 12-17-2017, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
marmalada180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I left it unplugged, reset CMOS, set my overclocking using XMP and I got my boot problem with 00. Did the same overclocking but set to manual mode, and I could shut it down and boot it up with no problem.

And with it set to manual, I plugged the fan connector back and booted the PC up again and no problems.

Have to do more testing throughout the week but I honestly don't know what changed outside of XMP. It wasn't booting previously all on stock in bios with my old power cable, so don't know.
marmalada180 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 27 Old 12-17-2017, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
 
marmalada180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Spoke too soon. Left it for 1 hour and came back, same 00 code and not POSTing.

Completely at a lost.
marmalada180 is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 12-17-2017, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
 
marmalada180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I will try swapping out the RAM as a final measure. If that doesn't resolve the issue, is it safe to assume that there is an issue with the motherboard and that I will need to send it out for a replacement?
marmalada180 is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 12-18-2017, 05:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cloudforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 60
motherboard 100% - time to replace that sucker. Is it under warranty?

Cloudforever is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 12-18-2017, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
 
marmalada180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes it is. A very frustrating process overall.
marmalada180 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off