DX10 and its Pros - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
Gregor222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
well ive been saving money to make a conroe build, im gunna wait prolly until quad core comes out and conroe drops even more in price. but what ive been wondering about is what about dx10, what features will it have that will really distinguish it from a dx 9 card( im asking for a simplification of the technical specs), and will they really be used by the games that will come out?

I love building computers, its my passion, and im tyring to keep up with the latest technology, but this dx10 rage is really confusing me. will there be a huge change in memory size on the card, or speed? Are they going to work in PCI 16x? thanks for reading, im ready to learn

Gregor222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 10:53 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 225
dx10 is simply the completely new direct x api, yeh games will use it obviously.

there's also a huge difference, just check out crysis, that will be using dx10.

-|SiS , VIA chipset? Using Clockgen? Then check this FAQ out!|-

mootin is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 10:55 AM
Can't fly straight and level
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 10,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 978
To answer some questions there, no there wont me a huge change in memory size for DX10 cards, but they are power hungry, I think I'll have to build a hydroelectric dam to power the G80. Yes they will work for existing PCI-E slots. They will be used by games coming out for vista, Crysis is the first DX10 game coming out, looks amazing, check out some screenshots for that.


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Penicilyn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 10:57 AM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
It will be able to use Geometrical Shaders instead of the regular Pixel and Vertex shaders. This prevents unbalanced use.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

gonX is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 11:00 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
What about the DX9 (like DX9c or something like that) advance to cover most of the DX10 abilities for XP? I know nothing of it but there has been a little talk of it and may be relavant to those who are focused on where this is going relative to thinking only Vista will cover this.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

The Duke is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 11:01 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Geometrical Shaders
aka unified shaders

Quote:
What about the DX9 (like DX9c or something like that) advance to cover most of the DX10 abilities for XP
isnt it called dx 9 L or something like that

-|SiS , VIA chipset? Using Clockgen? Then check this FAQ out!|-

mootin is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 11:03 AM
..the party can start now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 8,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 589
Sm 4.0?

Sideburns is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 11:51 AM
 
jigglylizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 3,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mootin
isnt it called dx 9 L or something like that
Yes I believe it is

Higher FSB Vs Higher Multi: Gaming Difference
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeodorant go_quote.gif
No. If I grow up, I can't fight Captain Hook with Peter Pan any more.


Chimp Challenge Participant 

jigglylizard is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 01:49 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke
What about the DX9 (like DX9c or something like that) advance to cover most of the DX10 abilities for XP? I know nothing of it but there has been a little talk of it and may be relavant to those who are focused on where this is going relative to thinking only Vista will cover this.
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=35140

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

grunion is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-22-2006, 02:39 PM
Storage Nut
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
DirectX 10 lets stupid developers, that refuse to learn OpenGL, access powerful features on expensive next-gen cards.

</oversimplification>
Kramy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off