Posting issues after installing GTX 770 4GB Classified - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
chad125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My computer now takes almost 1 1/2 minutes to post once I boot up the system and before it took maybe 10 seconds. While that may not be a huge issue, I know it's not supposed to be doing that. I have the GPU powered up with 4 6-pin pci-e adapters connecting to 2 8-pin adapters and my psu is 1200w so I don't think that's an issue.

Another issue that I am having upon bootup is the fact that I am not able to access the BIOS. If I press delete to get into it, the screen just goes blank and nothing happens. I saw that my BIOS version is F6 and the current version available is F14.

If I wait long enough the system does finally boot to Windows and everything works fine after that. I benchmarked the card and had no issues.

Could the fact that i havent flashed my BIOS to the new version be the reason that this is happening? Anyone else have similar issues to this or have an idea on what I can do to fix it?

chad125 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 07:33 AM
PC Gamer
 
Jamaican Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NSW,Australia
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Not sure what could be the problem,hopefully someone more experienced will come along and help....Well you could try and update the bios and see if that help,did you try just using the igpu on your cpu to access the bios....


Currently Playing...Titanfall...Watch Dogs...Skyrim...Murdered~Soul Suspect...DayZ...BF4...

Up Next...Enemy Front...Sniper Elite 3...Middle-Earth Shadow of Mordor...The Division...The Crew...

''When you're drawing up your list of life's miracles,you might place near the top,the very first moment your baby smiled at you''
Jamaican Reaper is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
chad125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can access the BIOS if I hook up my old card. The boot process hasn't changed with the old card: it's still as fast as it was before. Problem is, I'm not too experienced either and don't know what I would need to change to make any difference once I am in the BIOS...

chad125 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
chad125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I did a little more research and found that this is a fairly common problem which most were able to resolve with a BIOS update so that's what I'm going to try and hopefully it works. I will report back when I test it out. Too bad I have to wait another 10 hours before I get home to try it out! mad.gif It's so frustrating to buy something like that and it doesn't work properly but it seems like a human (me) error for not keeping my BIOS up to date and not a product issue at this point but we will see

chad125 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
chad125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Finally had the chance to get home and update my BIOS from version F6 to F14 and that's what the problem was. The computer boots up as fast as it did before, problem solved. Thanks for the input Reaper, I thought I may need to update it but wasn't sure until you suggested it as well.

chad125 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 07:52 PM
PC Gamer
 
Jamaican Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NSW,Australia
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad125 View Post

Finally had the chance to get home and update my BIOS from version F6 to F14 and that's what the problem was. The computer boots up as fast as it did before, problem solved. Thanks for the input Reaper, I thought I may need to update it but wasn't sure until you suggested it as well.
No prob mate,now go enjoy your new card....biggrin.gif


Currently Playing...Titanfall...Watch Dogs...Skyrim...Murdered~Soul Suspect...DayZ...BF4...

Up Next...Enemy Front...Sniper Elite 3...Middle-Earth Shadow of Mordor...The Division...The Crew...

''When you're drawing up your list of life's miracles,you might place near the top,the very first moment your baby smiled at you''
Jamaican Reaper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off