GTX 770 or R9 280x [Not the usual games] - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 18 Old 11-18-2013, 10:01 AM
 
themasterpiece1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orifiel View Post

I am using moding allot and 2 gb is past due... we already have games that require more than 2... Skyrim + moding 1080p about 2.2gb of vram, bf4, bioshock infinity...need more than 2...

So the next games I am expecting, such as dragon age 3 (heavy moding), fallout 4 (like skyrim, heavy moding), battlefront, mass effect 4 (moding compatible)... they need more than 2.

and heres the catch... I copy paste a msg..

DICE's Johan "repi" Andersson revealed via a Twitter response that there are over 15 titles in development that will utilize not only Frostbite but also the upcoming Mantle technology revealed by AMD. The current list of known titles includes Battlefield 4, Mirror's Edge 2, Star Wars: Battlefront, Need for Speed: Rivals, Dragon Age: Inquisition, Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare, and the next Mass Effect title.

I hope nvidia will start using mantle to. I hope I helped.

This is really good info. I am very wary myself of getting a card that will later choke due to vram issues. I currently own 580 SLI and I am looking to update. Main problem with the 580 is that they choke on a few games due to VRAM.

themasterpiece1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 Old 11-19-2013, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Tunechi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by themasterpiece1 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orifiel View Post

I am using moding allot and 2 gb is past due... we already have games that require more than 2... Skyrim + moding 1080p about 2.2gb of vram, bf4, bioshock infinity...need more than 2...

So the next games I am expecting, such as dragon age 3 (heavy moding), fallout 4 (like skyrim, heavy moding), battlefront, mass effect 4 (moding compatible)... they need more than 2.

and heres the catch... I copy paste a msg..

DICE's Johan "repi" Andersson revealed via a Twitter response that there are over 15 titles in development that will utilize not only Frostbite but also the upcoming Mantle technology revealed by AMD. The current list of known titles includes Battlefield 4, Mirror's Edge 2, Star Wars: Battlefront, Need for Speed: Rivals, Dragon Age: Inquisition, Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare, and the next Mass Effect title.

I hope nvidia will start using mantle to. I hope I helped.

This is really good info. I am very wary myself of getting a card that will later choke due to vram issues. I currently own 580 SLI and I am looking to update. Main problem with the 580 is that they choke on a few games due to VRAM.

Yeah, I read it in an article yesterday or the day before, but it doesn't really apply to me since I don't play those kind of titles. 


Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Galaxy S2) TNz Blend'd

Tunechi is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Tunechi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40

Ordering the card today, will looking for any opinions of either

 

1.) Confirming the GTX 770 choice by arguing whether vram would matter or not in my situation

2.) Argument for the ri 280 in favor of the 1gb of extra vram vs the software/features NVIDIA provides.


Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Galaxy S2) TNz Blend'd

Tunechi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 12:14 PM
WaterCooler
 
Glends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want shadowplay, but buy the R9 280 you can use msi afterburner. It will record the same way, except doing the live stream thingy.

Glends is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Tunechi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glends View Post

If you want shadowplay, but buy the R9 280 you can use msi afterburner. It will record the same way, except doing the live stream thingy.

Yeah, but I do streaming/recording and I'd prefer minimal performance hit. I could be ok without Shadowplay if I had to, I'd just go back to DxTory. I also like the other features NVIDIA has in the graphics part of the controller panel.


Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Galaxy S2) TNz Blend'd

Tunechi is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 01:33 PM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
zemco999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunechi View Post

Yeah, but I do streaming/recording and I'd prefer minimal performance hit. I could be ok without Shadowplay if I had to, I'd just go back to DxTory. I also like the other features NVIDIA has in the graphics part of the controller panel.
You can stream using OBS as well, it does not use many resources.
zemco999 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 01:42 PM
1.7ghz
 
ricklen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
GTX 770 4Gb model not an option? Too expensive?
ricklen is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 11-20-2013, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Tunechi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by zemco999 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunechi View Post

Yeah, but I do streaming/recording and I'd prefer minimal performance hit. I could be ok without Shadowplay if I had to, I'd just go back to DxTory. I also like the other features NVIDIA has in the graphics part of the controller panel.
You can stream using OBS as well, it does not use many resources.

I already use OBS, but like I said, shadowplay seems like it has a better future for streaming/recording and it's other stuff too that NVIDIA has that makes me prefer it.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricklen View Post

GTX 770 4Gb model not an option? Too expensive?

I don't consider the 4gb model a valuable option, at that point the r9 290 would be a clear choice. With r9 280 vs gtx 770 they at least trade blows and have similar performance, r9 290 beats the gtx 770. Also my budget is $335 and won't be able to scrape up anything that would go to my PC for a while, and I need to replace my dying GPU now.


Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Galaxy S2) TNz Blend'd

Tunechi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off