Help me increase my low benchmark scores! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-25-2005, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Hi guys. I've started this thread because i need some help with my low benchmark scores.

Scores:
3D Mark 01 = 3619
3D Mark 05 = 1167 (05 run a while after 01. No longer have 01)

What other benchmarks should i run if you need more?

I have a GeForce 6200SE TurboCache 256Mb (PCI-E) and a Pentium 4 HT 650 3.4Ghz CPU, with 1Gb PC3200 Dual Channel RAM.

With the tests in 3D Mark 05 None run quicker than 5 Fps. I cant figure out why as I can play BF2 at all Medium settings no AA or AF at 40 Fps avg.

Any AA on my card makes games unplayably slow.

Why the hell does it work so crap!? i know this card is bottom of the 6 series, but come on! benchmarks should be better considering to my BF2 performance.

My card is currently OC'ed at 405/615 (using coolbits and 'set to optimal') I've OC'ed to 420/640 but i kept getting a BSOD saying INTERNAL_POWER_ERROR whereas running at stock 350/500 its fine. I have yet to see if my current OC gives me the same problem.

I'm hoping to get a Gigabyte 7800GTX 256Mb when i get another job. I recently lost my job, and my parents aren't too happy, so ic ant spend ne money.

ANY help as to why my card runs like **** would be helpful. thanks guys.

noxious89123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-25-2005, 06:34 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
1 problem is that horrid GPU, Turbocache means it shares your system RAM, = BAD! If you want to upgrade I would get rid of that and get one with 128MB ATLEAST of onboard DDR. How much would you be willing to spend to raise those bench scores and game FPS? I mean your CPU is very fast and the rest of your system is atleast as fast as mine and I get 5405 in 3D Mark 05!

EDIT/// that 7800GTX might just do the trick! BTW the 256MB in the 6200SE TurboCache name is misleading, it means it will use 256MB if your precious system ram, leaving only 768MB for games/benchmarks whatever. That is why you are doing so horrible (no offense) in benches, I mean your CPU is 400MHz faster than mine and I get over 4x your score in 3D Mark 05 and my 03 score is like 22,000!
noxious89123 likes this.

Remonster is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-26-2005, 05:52 PM
Live Ever Die Never
 
wudaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
I agree with Remonster. However a 7800gtx isn't necessary if you're on a budget. A 6800gt will fit nicely in your rig for much cheaper.

wudaddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 11-27-2005, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
=D Now i have an excuse to get a 7800GTX. Im not allowed to spend any moeny at the moment coz i lost my job. But as soon as im earning again, ill be getting a Gigabyte 7800GTX for £360. =D thanks for replying. It has been very helpful. REP+

EDIT: hopefully i can spend some of my money at christmas and get one. I was going to buy one from www.chillblast.com. I've heard nothing but goood things about this site, and i have already had lots of help from there when i was goping to buy a new mobo. Im gonna look up more about the Gigabyte card before i buy it.

I was running my GPU overclocked, but after 1.5 hours of BF2: SF it hits 70C and crashes the game. weird. used to go upto 90C np b4 i installed my intake fan.

Wat ever.

7800GTX!!

noxious89123 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-27-2005, 06:44 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I would consider one of the 7800GTXs with better cooling solutions, for instance the Leadtek TDH myVIVO EXTREME card, it comes OCed to like 490/1300 or so (so does the XFX overclocked version) instead of 430/1200 of the stock GTX, they score about 1100 points higher in 3D Mark 05 than a normal 7800GTX!!

Remonster is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-27-2005, 07:01 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: nowhere
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
the gpu is definitely the problem, and if you are getting a gtx plan on buying a new psu, there are minimum recommendations on what size psu you have to run on most manufacturer's sites.

Some people think that the X2 is a little expensive for its performance...kookoo.gif
I call 2 smp ninja.gifOpty 254'sninja.gif for less than $500 on s939 a fair deal sneaky.gif

Now folding for Team 37726 and team ArMaDa

2nd rig:
Venus - CAB2E 0547 GPMW @ 2.8 ghz and climbing
DFI ULTRA -D / 2 x 512 mb OCZ EL Platinum
6800 GS @ 542 / 1250 and climbing
Powered by OCZ Modstream 450

deathdispenser is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-27-2005, 07:17 PM
 
game's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Look out your window
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathdispenser
the gpu is definitely the problem, and if you are getting a gtx plan on buying a new psu, there are minimum recommendations on what size psu you have to run on most manufacturer's sites.
Did your PSU come with your case? If so you'll need a new one for your new video card. You'll need a minumum of 22A on your 12V rail to power your 7800GTX.
Get this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103934
noxious89123 likes this.

One man, and a crate of puppets.

game is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 11-27-2005, 11:39 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
pfft 7800gtx

i'd say anything you can get your hands on that has a rating higher than 6200 including a radeon x800 GTO would be much much better. i'm all gung-ho about the x800GTOs since they're cheap and perform really well.... but the 7800GT is also pretty nice.

RushJet1 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-28-2005, 12:00 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
6600/GT
6800/GT
X800GTO/XL
X850Pro/XT
7800GT/X

Any of those will be better than that 6200. Choose whatever your budget allows and remember the price to performace ratio is better with the 7800GT than the GTX. Happy card hunting!

socom58 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-28-2005, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Well i cant buy a new card until i get a job, and when i do get a job i can spend as much on 1 as i like. So i want to get the best card possible with in reason (nothing over £500). I realised i would need a new PSU. Even if i OC my 6200 too much i get an error saying INTERNAL_POWER_ERROR.

My current PSU came with my computer (Fujitsu-Siemens). 350W, and even my 6200 needs 300W minimum. What kinda power PSU will i need for a 7800GTX? Also what kinda of price would it be for an SLI certified PSU? I would like an SLI capable PSU for when i go dual GPU's. when not if

Once i got a job again all my money is going on my PC till it is how i like it.

Everntually, i want a new case & mobo with 2 PCI-E, ill then need to buy windows to install with the new mobo, a new desk, coz a bigger case wont fit under this 1. last thing on the list. 5.1 surround sound and a bigger monitor. current 1 is 17" and is ok, but a bigger 1 would complete the who;e thing.

Money really isn't a problem, but within reason. i would spend £500 on a GPU but nothing much over that.

Because i cant get a new GPU till im earning, i either spend a weeks wages on a 6600, 2 weeks wages on a 6800, or 3-4 weeks wages on a 7800GTX.

Bring on the 7 series

EDIT: I set my GPU back to normal clock speeds, and it runs 60C and is nice and stable. no OC for me.

EDIT: I've never played with an ATI, only nVidia, so i wont be buying an ATI. i wanna stick with what i know.

noxious89123 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off