Best card to get for my system? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
smitjuH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nijverdal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys.
First off i wish everybody all the best for 2011!! smile.gif
And ill blast in the new year with a question.

Last time i posted here i had bought a 5770, but that wasnt such a succes.
The card acted utter crappy on my system.
I RMA'd it for a Club3D 9800GT green edition 1024mb on their advice (bad choice tbh cuz it acts even worse)
So now ive put back in my old GTS250 which is a bit messed up.
(driver version atm 260.99)

But this card also doesnt achieve what i want.
I play alot of cod.. 4,5 and black ops.
And i need a card that gives me a stable 250 on cod4,125 on cod5 and 91 stable on black ops.

The store i buy my cards from says i cant go higher then a GTS250 due to my OS.. i have XP pro sp3, which supports dx9.
5770 for 1 supports dx11 and so on.
They said thats the reason the card didnt preform and a GTX460 or w/e would have the same effect.

I myself was thinking GTX260 or 4870 IceQ 4 turbo.
But i need some advice from the pro's.

What is the best card for me to buy???
my specs:
-E8400 @ stock 3.0Ghz
-2048 RAM Corsair
-750W PSU
-Asus P5QL-E mobo

I was thinking of OC'ing my 250 but i dont think it will make much difference.
(speeds atm: 740 core/1836 shader/1100 memory)

Thnx in advance for feedback, and sorry for long post tongue.gif

smitjuH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 04:43 PM
Security Sleuth
 
Waffleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 80
A gtx 260 would be fine for what you want to do. I have yet to find a game that I can't run on 1920x1080 resolution with moderately high settings. That said, it is getting to be a pretty old card, I know I will be upgrading in a year or so (at the outside).

"Do not trust Bunny-Cat!" - SF Debris
Waffleboy is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
smitjuH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nijverdal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waffleboy;11845779 
A gtx 260 would be fine for what you want to do. I have yet to find a game that I can't run on 1920x1080 resolution with moderately high settings. That said, it is getting to be a pretty old card, I know I will be upgrading in a year or so (at the outside).

I run all my games on 800x600 or 1024x768
Most settings on low or w/e but i cant seem to hold a stable fps.
So a GTX260 would work on my OS?
How about the 4870?
The compagny i buy cards from say that the 4870 iceQ is dx10/11

smitjuH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:00 PM
1.7ghz
 
xxmintixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any card will work on your os... the only reason a video card wouldn't would be its to old to have a driver for the os.

build cost $400
c2d - free (: thankyou cuz

xxmintixx is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
smitjuH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nijverdal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxmintixx;11845953 
any card will work on your os... the only reason a video card wouldn't would be its to old to have a driver for the os.

the 5770 wouldnt even hold a stable 250 fps in cod4, not even oc'd :S
Due to it not supporting dx9 (according to the store i bought it)

smitjuH is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:04 PM
2.4ghz
 
LiquidKaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitjuH;11845977 
the 5770 wouldnt even hold a stable 250 fps in cod4, not even oc'd :S
Due to it not supporting dx9 (according to the store i bought it)

250fps? Isn't that slightly useless? What was the minimum fps?

LiquidKaos is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:05 PM
1.7ghz
 
xxmintixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
it does support dx9. or well as far as i know (i dont know allot about the 5XXX ati cards) why do you need 250fps? you wont notice the difference between 60fps and 250fps. 60 fps is a good fps. by stable you mean you dont want it to go under 250?

edit: hope i helped gota go do something with the car.. good luck with your comp

build cost $400
c2d - free (: thankyou cuz

xxmintixx is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:08 PM
4.0 GHz
 
dihartnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
250 fps ??? did you mean 25?

I would stick with your 5770 and make a couple of changes to your system instead.

Get win 7 64 bit.
upgrade to 4GB RAM.
Get CM Hyper 212+ Cooler and overclock your CPU to 4GHz.

IMO its your system that is holding you back not the GPU.

post-flame-small.gifNew Zealand Overclock.net Clubpost-flame-small.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gif
dihartnell is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
smitjuH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nijverdal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxmintixx;11846000 
it does support dx9. or well as far as i know (i dont know allot about the 5XXX ati cards) why do you need 250fps? you wont notice the difference between 60fps and 250fps. 60 fps is a good fps. by stable you mean you dont want it to go under 250?

edit: hope i helped gota go do something with the car.. good luck with your comp
250 fps is essential in cod4 for a better hitreg and slightly faster shooting.
Specially when you play competative promod etc.
And with stable i mean it flicking between about 242/250 fps. but not dropping significantly to like 170/180 or w/e

smitjuH is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 12-31-2010, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
smitjuH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nijverdal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dihartnell;11846038 
250 fps ??? did you mean 25?

I would stick with your 5770 and make a couple of changes to your system instead.

Get win 7 64 bit.
upgrade to 4GB RAM.
Get CM Hyper 212+ Cooler and overclock your CPU to 4GHz.

IMO its your system that is holding you back not the GPU.

First of.. i dont have the cash to upgrade anything of that caliber
I allready rma'd the 5770 for that crappy 9800GT green thing
And im not even considering overclocking my cpu cuz i havent the slightest idea how to and i dont want to destroy my mobo/cpu, plus im not that technical to oc my cpu.

smitjuH is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off