Truecrypt unable to mount drive - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
AMD Overclocker
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I've created a seperate partition on my Steam Drive to encrypt it with TrueCrypt so that I can keep my personal files within.

Trying to select a hidden drive and the volume, and it comes up with the error

Error: Cannot Mount Volume. The Host File/Device is already in use.
Attempt to mount with exclusive access failed as well.

And yes, Iv'e ran the TrueCrypt program with Admin etc...., Why would something be using the drive as Iv'e just freshly created that partition?

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Atomfix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 07:56 AM
☰ Syrillian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 10,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomfix;13573281 
I've created a seperate partition on my Steam Drive to encrypt it with TrueCrypt so that I can keep my personal files within.

Trying to select a hidden drive and the volume, and it comes up with the error

Error: Cannot Mount Volume. The Host File/Device is already in use.
Attempt to mount with exclusive access failed as well.

And yes, Iv'e ran the TrueCrypt program with Admin etc...., Why would something be using the drive as Iv'e just freshly created that partition?

Unmount it from windows disk manager.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

RonindeBeatrice is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AMD Overclocker
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonindeBeatrice;13573297 
Unmount it from windows disk manager.

Iv'e deleted the drives letter, and I'm gueesing that the only way to unmount it. Still the same after I deleted the Drive's letter

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Atomfix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
AMD Overclocker
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
error1.png

error2.png

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Atomfix is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:19 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Greensystemsgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
restart? hope you had a backup of your encrypted data :/


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Greensystemsgo is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AMD Overclocker
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greensystemsgo;13573474 
restart? hope you had a backup of your encrypted data :/

I done a restart, and there's nothing in the partition, Iv'e just split 7GB from my 500GB Steam DATA drive.

What I want to do is encrypt that 7GB partition that I have just created and it's not letting me do it frown.gif

Iv'e tried removeing the drives letter name and replaceing it back with the :J letter.... frown.gif *crys*

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Atomfix is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
AMD Overclocker
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
It seems to be Encrypting now, I had to select the normal mode, I coulden't use the Direct Mode for some reason :/

EDIT: It didn't work again, as soon as it finished formatting the partition on 100%, it said failed to mount the outer volume system frown.gif

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Atomfix is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:43 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Greensystemsgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
hrm, how did you partition it to begin with? I would recommend using an independent drive, avoiding the need for partitions and what not.


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Greensystemsgo is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 08:45 AM
☰ Syrillian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 10,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
I would delete the partition in windows, then run the truecrypt wizard and point it at this unallocated space.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

RonindeBeatrice is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-20-2011, 09:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
esocid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomfix;13573572 
It seems to be Encrypting now, I had to select the normal mode, I coulden't use the Direct Mode for some reason :/

EDIT: It didn't work again, as soon as it finished formatting the partition on 100%, it said failed to mount the outer volume system frown.gif

You can't do Direct mode unless you already have a Truecrypt volume and want to make a hidden volume inside of it. I'm not entirely sure why it fails to mount it. Are you using the wizard, or doing it all manually?

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

esocid is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off