Help! I dropped my external 2TB HDD! - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 29 Old 03-01-2012, 07:14 PM
No keyboard detected! Press F1 to continue..
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 698
I dropped a hard drive by accident..it smacked the floor..it's done..Mechanical hdds don't take shock very well
Schmuckley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 29 Old 03-01-2012, 07:19 PM
News Fiend
 
Awsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Trance city (Sana'a,Yemen)
Posts: 2,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 107
i need to sleep now O.O but still i found these two not the best price out there but its only an idea

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Elements-Desktop-External/dp/B002QEBMCI/ref=pd_cp_e_2

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148848


both are the same prices in every major site so tomorrow i might find for you a steal thumb.gif

Early Oneplus 3 adopter feel free to ask me anything

Owner Of The Darth Vader 920
Fuhrer 3770K! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaythem go_quote.gif

Wut?

A i7 3770K on a intel Z87 MoBo???

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixor go_quote.gif

in germany the fuhrer 3770k fits into any mobo, even 775

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLAWNOOB go_quote.gif

In Soviet Russia, sockets fits into you.
Awsan is online now  
post #23 of 29 Old 03-01-2012, 07:22 PM
4.0 GHz
 
SeW800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Was it working (powered on) at the time when you dropped it?

I had a 500GB drive drop while it wasn't powered on, and it's still working a year later.
SeW800 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 29 Old 03-01-2012, 07:27 PM
 
BarryBadrinath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Read this: Save a Failed Hard Drive in Your Freezer, Redux

The same thing happened to one of my external Seagate drives. I removed it from the enclosure and stuck it into the freezer for a day. I was able to recover all my files before the drive failed again.
BarryBadrinath is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 04-15-2012, 03:10 PM
First Time Build
 
onslaught_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C. d(o.O)b
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Any luck getting your external hard drive to work? I'm a fool for not backing up my external hd frown.gif

....I have 3.5 HD in an enclosure sitting on top of my sub woofer...my roommate accidentally knocked it down while it was on...and now it won't work frown.gif


hopefully someone can give me advice on what steps I should take to recover my data...

..it was on when it dropped...but i had no idea my roommate knocked it down..so i kept using it and noticed latency playing music off my itunes...
anyway my roommate finally told me and now its messed up!

Status:
MY PC recognizes the HD...but like OPs it asks to format it before i can use it.
I hear no clicking noises when it powers on..
The power button on is kind of messed up...I can power it on but I can't power it off...its like the button gets stuck.



I've ordered a new enclosure and I'm going to try and put it in there to see if it works.

Can anyone tell me what my next steps should be?

1) Try some of the recovery software others mentioned here
2) Possibly bring it to NCIX and get them to recover the data
3) punch my roommate and slap myself silly for not backing up my data frown.gif

Music and movies...are all replaceable..but my personal pictures..and videos...cannot.. :/


Thanks in advanced for anyone who can shed some light on this!


Cheers <3
onslaught_ is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 04-15-2012, 03:29 PM
Storage Nut
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Sometimes when drives get dropped the head can get wedged into the platter.

People may recommend the "freezer trick" or dropping it again - both tricks have a small chance of getting the head free, but won't do anything for other methods of failure.

I would recommend removing the drive from its enclosure and connecting it directly to a desktop PC. That takes one factor out of the equation. If it spins up and works, grab your most important data as quickly as possible. If not, then you may have to try other things. (such as the above - google for more info)

If it doesn't show up as formatted, try using TestDisk to recover the partition.

That's all I can really recommend. When you drop a drive, there's a high chance something will go wrong. I suppose hitting it at some angles would be alright, but if it lands flat while running you're pretty much screwed. That's guaranteed to cause platter damage.
Kramy is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 04-15-2012, 03:33 PM
 
rawfuls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
If you know somebody with SpinRite, give that a try.

Or you may have other means of coming across it.

When it's off and you drop it, chances of it dying is lower than when you drop it, while it's on, and KEEP using it.

rawfuls is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 04-15-2012, 07:51 PM
First Time Build
 
onslaught_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C. d(o.O)b
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
303

Hey guys thanks!

Just to give you all an update..I've managed to salvage my pictures using Testdisk! Awesome program!!!

Just out of curiosity..I've been running the program for about 6hrs now...and it's still Copying, please wait.."

Will the program give me a message saying it's finished? It doesn't really say that in the Guide I followed tongue.gif


I'm not in a rush or anything...I just have no experience in using this program...anyway so far so good smile.gif thanks again for all the help and OP for creating this tread!

I'm going to purcchase more HDs and mirror all my data from now on!

Cheers!

onslaught_ is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 04-15-2012, 08:04 PM
Storage Nut
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
I don't know the answer to your last question, but I can tell you that it will take a long time to backup or copy most of a large hard drive. 6 hours isn't unreasonable - but if your drive is slightly damaged, it might slow down when it encounters bad sectors, making it take even longer.

I'd say leave it overnight and figure out what it's doing (or not doing) in the morning.
Kramy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off