Windows isn't recognizing my HDD - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 10:42 AM
"Senior member"
 
Higgins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyyboii View Post
You don't even need the windows CD. Right-click My computers -> Manage. On the left side, go to Disk Management under Storage. Find the drive you want, right-click and format. if you have to, delete the partition then format. That would be my alternative to solving your problem.
Well, im saying you might have to use the Windows CD since the partition may be corrupt, and i thought that you cant write a new partion inside of windows.

I may be wrong since its on a different partition then windows

~Higgins

| Steam : MistaHiggins |
Currently Playing: Soma
Respect PC developers. Fight piracy.
Libertas, numquam ex more.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Higgins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 10:46 AM
 
Justken_4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The windows drive was formated, there is no old computer.
Justken_4ever is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
BAUSS
 
NuclearCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bay Area of California
Posts: 7,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Guys I'm asking for an alternative to avoid formatting that drive, not how to, and I don't have any other computer that can read SATA. As I mentioned a few times before, I have much things inside that I need.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

NuclearCrap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 06:43 PM
Further Instructions
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: /home/alan
Posts: 4,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Sounds like the partition has been set to hidden. PM can unhide it.
NuclearCrap likes this.

"Trance had become a dirty word. Thanks to Ian Van Dahl, Lasgo, Flip 'N' Fill and DJ Sammy, a generation of kids has grown up thinking trance is the ****tiest music since country and western." - Paul Van Dyk

The_Jester is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
BAUSS
 
NuclearCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bay Area of California
Posts: 7,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Jester View Post
Sounds like the partition has been set to hidden. PM can unhide it.
PM?

Chimp Challenge Participant 

NuclearCrap is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 07:38 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I think PM means Partition Magic.

edit: This is just a shot in the dark, but did you try rebooting with the SATA drive disconnected then booting again with it connected.

edit2: I reinstalled windows XP a long time ago so my memory of this is a little fuzzy. After I reinstalled my RAID drivers, I think I had to go and setup the array before I booted into Windows. After I was in windows, I went into the disk manager that was mentioned earlier and formated it as dynamic not basic. My SATA drive is listed now as Dynamic and all my other drives say Basic. Like I said, I'm not 100% sure if this is all I did so don't go reformatting based on what I said. I just thought it might give you something to check into. Wouldn't want youto lose any data based on my memory. LOL Also, my SATA drive was full at the time of reinstallation and everything is still intact.
NuclearCrap likes this.

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
NipDar is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 09:30 PM
 
Justken_4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try Partition magic. If any thing can do it, it can. I put the link in 1 of my posts....

EDIT: Here Ya go .......Free PM link
Justken_4ever is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
BAUSS
 
NuclearCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bay Area of California
Posts: 7,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Uh-oh.........what's next?

D Drive is the Windows drive and all others are storage, in case you wonder.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

NuclearCrap is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 11-11-2006, 10:54 PM
 
Justken_4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Goback?! ***, alright I read up on it goback is a norton utility that restores hard drives back to the way they where.....Cant seem to find a link for a trial so you'll have to google it. Look for Norton Noback and try that I cant promise any thing but hell it aint going to make it worse.
NuclearCrap likes this.
Justken_4ever is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 11-12-2006, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
BAUSS
 
NuclearCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bay Area of California
Posts: 7,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justken_4ever View Post
Goback?! ***, alright I read up on it goback is a norton utility that restores hard drives back to the way they where.....Cant seem to find a link for a trial so you'll have to google it. Look for Norton Noback and try that I cant promise any thing but hell it aint going to make it worse.
No problem for me, I have Systemworks 2006 which includes GoBack. The old GoBack installation might have hidden it. I'll give it a try and see what's up.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

NuclearCrap is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off