Is 2TB less reliable? Need to know now. Caviar blacks on sale. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
 
JaredxShreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Caviar blacks are on sale on amazon. I originally planned on just a 1TB for now but the 2TB is less than the usuall price of the 1TB. Is 2TB not as reliable or anything?
JaredxShreds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:16 PM
MORE POWER!!!
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PNW - USA
Posts: 11,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 430
My 2TB has been just as reliable as my 1TB and 640GB variants. You should be doing regular backups regardless.

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P. frown.gif
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club

BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
Deafboy's Rack
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
What it means to max a game out (Click to show)
1) All in game settings are as high as they can go, AA include, EVERY setting is MAXED out.
2) Average FPS matches or exceeds the max refresh rate of your monitors, ideally I'd like to say minimum matches but that's just near impossible to guarantee.
3) Game is being played at the native resolution of your monitor(s)**

**can be said that you are maxing a game out at __ resolution as long as you state that resolution and pass the first 2 criteria
deafboy is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BulletSponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midland Texas
Posts: 4,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 234
BulletSponge is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
 
JaredxShreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BulletSponge View Post

I cannot think of any reason why 2TB Blacks would be any less reliable. Link to the drives on sale?

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-WD1002FAEX-Internal-Desktop/dp/B0036Q7MV0/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1365804358&sr=1-1&keywords=western+digital+caviar+black
JaredxShreds is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:25 PM
333mhz
 
godftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
disclaimer as i am not an expert and am barely competent... but this is how i understand it..... while a 500 or 1tb drive has 1 platter a 2tb or 3tb drive may have 2-3 platters... hense a failure rate for each of the platters, im not a statistics major but i dont think that = 2-3x failure rate, but they in theory do have a greater rate of failure??( as a failure of any of the platters renders the drive useless?)

godftw is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 04:44 PM
MORE POWER!!!
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PNW - USA
Posts: 11,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by godftw View Post

disclaimer as i am not an expert and am barely competent... but this is how i understand it..... while a 500 or 1tb drive has 1 platter a 2tb or 3tb drive may have 2-3 platters... hense a failure rate for each of the platters, im not a statistics major but i dont think that = 2-3x failure rate, but they in theory do have a greater rate of failure??( as a failure of any of the platters renders the drive useless?)

With that being said:
Quote:
250GB/platter Section (all drives under here use platters that can hold 250GB of data.)

Caviar Black (7200RPM, 32MB cache, SATA-300 interface)


WD5001AALS-00L3B 500GB (2/4)
WD6401AALS-00J7B1 640GB (3/?)*
*Note: I have no idea why these exist. Seems like a very early batch.


320GB/platter Section (all drives under here use platters that can hold 320GB of data.)

Caviar Black (7200RPM, 32MB cache, SATA-300 interface)


WD5001AALS-00L3B2*/00LWTA0 500GB (2/4)
WD6401AALS-00L3B2/003B20/00E8B0 640GB (2/4)
WD7501AALS-00J7B0/00J7B1/00E8B0 750GB (3/5)
WD1001FALS-00J7B0/00J7B1/00K1B0/00E8B0 (334GB/platter) 1TB (3/6)
*Note: there are rumors on the internet about the WD5001AALS-00L3B2 having one 500GB platter. This is not true. This new revision appears to use 320GB/platters, two of them.


500GB/platter Section (all drives under here use platters that can hold 500GB of data.)

Caviar Black (7200RPM, 32MB cache, SATA-300 interface)


WD5001AALS-00E3A0 500GB (1/2)
WD7501AALS-00E3A0/22E3A0 750GB (2/3)
WD7502AALS-22E3A0 750GB (2/3)
No idea what's up with the drive above..but it does supposedly exist.
WD1001FALS-00U9B0/00E3A0/00Y6A0 1TB (2/4)
WD1501FASS-00U0B0/00W2B0 1.5TB (3/6)
WD2001FASS-00U0B0/00W2B0 2TB (4/8)


Caviar Black (7200RPM, 64MB cache, SATA-300 interface)


WD1001FAES-00W7A0/22W7A0/60W7A0/75W7A0/00Z2A0/60Z2A0 1TB (2/4)


Caviar Black (7200RPM, 32MB cache, SATA-600 interface)


WD5002AALX-00J37A0 500GB (1/2)


Caviar Black (7200RPM, 64MB cache, SATA-600 interface)


WD5002AAEX-00Y9A0/32Y9A0 500GB (1/2)
WD6402AAEX-00Z3A0/00Y9A0 640GB (2/3)
WD7502AAEX-00Z3A0/00Y9A0 750GB (2/3)
WD1002FAEX-007BA0/00Z3A0/00Y9A0 1TB (2/4)
WD1502FAEX-007BA0 1.5TB (3/6)
WD2002FAEX-007BA0 2TB (4/8)


1TB/platter Section (all drives under here use platters that can hold 1TB of data.)

Caviar Black (7200RPM, 64MB cache, SATA-600 interface)


WD5003AZEX-00K1GA0 500GB (1/1)
WD3001FAEX-? 3TB (600GB/platter?) (5/10?)
WD4001FAEX-00MJRA0 4TB (800GB/platter) (5/10)


IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P. frown.gif
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club

BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
Deafboy's Rack
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
What it means to max a game out (Click to show)
1) All in game settings are as high as they can go, AA include, EVERY setting is MAXED out.
2) Average FPS matches or exceeds the max refresh rate of your monitors, ideally I'd like to say minimum matches but that's just near impossible to guarantee.
3) Game is being played at the native resolution of your monitor(s)**

**can be said that you are maxing a game out at __ resolution as long as you state that resolution and pass the first 2 criteria
deafboy is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 05:03 PM
I Didn't Choose The Pug Life, It Chose Me
 
ShortySmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camdenton, MO
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Other then the extra size, it should have no difference from the 1TB model.
ShortySmalls is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 05:09 PM
PC Gamer
 
t0adphr0g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maryland City, Maryland USA
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
WD drives have lasted forever for me. the 5 Year warranty is the best among all manufacturers. I would jump at the chance to get WD Caviars for the lower price, the Caviars are their "flagship" HDDs!

Now the C̶a̶v̶i̶a̶r̶ ̶c̶l̶a̶s̶s̶ WD Black HDDs are NOT good in a RAID. (Use WD Red instead of Black)


On a personal note:

I use 4x WD Caviar Black 2TB drives in my Signature Rig.

Maryland Overclockers
t0adphr0g is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 05:41 PM
I Didn't Choose The Pug Life, It Chose Me
 
ShortySmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camdenton, MO
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0adphr0g View Post

WD drives have lasted forever for me. the 5 Year warranty is the best among all manufacturers. I would jump at the chance to get WD Caviars for the lower price, the Caviars are their "flagship" HDDs!

Now the Caviar class HDDs are NOT good in a RAID. (Use WD Red instead of Black)


On a personal note:

I use 4x WD Caviar Black 2TB drives in my Signature Rig.

WD Strong advised people not to run WD Greens in RAID, and ive been running 2 of them in RAID 0 for 3 years now with not a single problem.
ShortySmalls is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-12-2013, 05:44 PM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
I have a WD Back 2 TB and have had it for 2 years its still running strong never had a problem with it

shilka is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off