SATA vs SATAII? - Page 5 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 08:41 AM
1.7ghz
 
Biskitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol Uk
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
so 'in theory' raptors in RAID0 would be uber shizz, however i have heard they do not run well in R0, can someone post thier experiances with raptors in RAID0
Biskitz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 08:43 AM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
maybe because somebody didnt upgrade to sataII cables.
dleccord is offline  
post #43 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 08:50 AM
M$ Fanboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 5,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 336
RAID 0 with only two drives is not very good, RAID 0 really shines when you have 4+ drives.
RussianGrimmReaper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 09:00 AM
1.7ghz
 
Biskitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol Uk
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleccord View Post
maybe because somebody didnt upgrade to sataII cables.
raptors are SATA-1, why would you need SATA2 cables
Biskitz is offline  
post #45 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 09:42 AM
I am Lrrr, ruler of Omicron Persei 8!
 
stumped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The ether
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 293
when I was talking about the HDD being the bottleneck of a computer, I meant that no matter what, you have to load things from the HDD to get them into memory. The drives out there now never have and never will reach their max rated speed (in a single drive configuration) When I was talking about the bottle neck, look at all the transfer speeds in a computer. then compare them to your HDD. Huge difference. The HDD really is a bottle neck. (ever try to load something and hear the hdd chug away at it?) But i lwill say this, they are making progress on it. It is getting faster and faster.

"Most people don't even know what sysadmins do, but trust me, if they all took a lunch break at the same time they wouldn't make it to the deli before you ran out of bullets protecting your canned goods from roving bands of mutants."
stumped is offline  
post #46 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 09:47 AM
Overclocker
 
Unknownm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by sccr64472 View Post
Calling the Iram a hard drive is a stretch. If your computer is unplugged or turned off for 16 hrs, all data is lost. Also, a lot of applications are larger than 4gb, so they wouldn't even fit on the drive. While it may be an innovative device, it's hardly replacing standard hard drives due to its limited ability.
yes but the fact is it's still holds space like the rest of "hardrives". Besides didn't you already learn to leave your computer on for 24/7 SO YOU CAN FOLD WHEN YOUR NOT ON IT. Geez your at overclock.net NOT SHUTDOWNMYCOMPUTER.COM
Unknownm is offline  
post #47 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 10:07 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: caldwell, Idaho
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsunx View Post
'Cause of your RAID0
that was before the raid was even setup.

rx7speed is offline  
post #48 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 11:00 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle,Washington
Posts: 14,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleccord View Post
maybe because somebody didnt upgrade to sataII cables.
Do you mind if I put that in my signature? No offense, but there is no sata cable on the market incapable of being used at Sata2 speeds You, my friend, have been duped by marketing

Comp #2: Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55, 4gb G Skill, X-Fi XtremeMusic,Logitech Z5500, 24" Gateway LCD, Antec P180,3 striped 36gb Raptors + 1 500gb, Hyper 212+, Corsair 520HX.

Comp #3:Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55 , 4gb G Skill, Antec 650W, Logitech 560 4.1, 24" Acer LCD, Chenming MidTower, Liteon DVDRW, 74gb Raptor + 500 gb, Hyper 212+, Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer.

Comp #4: Intel 2500k, MSI 6950 2gb, Asus P8P67A, 4gb G. Skill, 22" Acer LCD,Raptor 150, Hyper 212+, Logitech 530, Antec P180, Antec TruePower 650w,Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic,Liteon DVDRW
sccr64472 is offline  
post #49 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 10:03 PM
fairly bear
 
mrtn400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianGrimmReaper View Post
RAID 0 with only two drives is not very good, RAID 0 really shines when you have 4+ drives.
That's also where it starts getting really easy to lose all your data.

mrtn400 is offline  
post #50 of 50 Old 02-23-2008, 10:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: caldwell, Idaho
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
not really. hard drive are fairly resistant to failure. so easier though I will give you as it is true, really easy I do not agree with.

rx7speed is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off