Copy and Paste a backup Image - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-31-2008, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
So I created a backup image using Seagate Discwizard (Acronis Lite Version), but I want to move this backup image to another drive.


I heard somewhere that somebody had trouble when Vista defragged a drive that had his backups.

If I just manually copy and paste the backup image to another drive, will I be fine? I'll be able to restore this image to another drive without any problems, right?

homestyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-01-2008, 01:00 PM
 
Clox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere in time
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I use Acronis myself but have not had that problem and I have cut and pasted the images from one drive to another. Most of the time I will even just do a fresh install and then mount the image just to grab stuff from it.


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Clox is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-01-2008, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
So it didn't work.

The validation didn't even want to run.

It said,

"This is not the last created volume of the image backup. Please insert the last created volume to start working with this archive."

I then tried to proceed anyway and this popup came up,

"The selected file is not an Seagate DiscWizard archive or the file is corrupted. Please, select another file."


BTW, I'm running off of Acronis lite (the free version that comes with Seagate drives). Maybe this feature is not included in my version?

homestyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 04-03-2008, 02:02 AM
333mhz
 
apsyrtus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I would join both support team Acronis and Seagate.

Here is link for acronis forum support Acronis.

P.S. Clox, i want you (at least the one on the avatar)!

apsyrtus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off