Can you plug a SATA II Drive into a SATA III Port? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-16-2011, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Swift Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via MSN to Swift Castiel Send a message via Skype™ to Swift Castiel
Just want to know, since the connections for the SATA III ports are at right angles which is better for cabling whilst the SATA II ports are vertical.

Thanks!

P.S. As long as it works as a SATAII Drive, I'll be happy.
Swift Castiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-16-2011, 05:49 PM
550hp Supercharged 5l V8
 
AblueXKRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Smogville, USA
Posts: 5,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Yes. Makes no difference. Same architecture.

I'm running 4 Sata2 drives in Sata3 ports.

(PS. You mean Sata3 and Sata6)
Swift Castiel likes this.

The Euro Truck Simulator 2 Information and Discussion Thread
How to attach a Corsair H60i, H80i, or H100i AIO cooler to your 4X0, 5X0, or 6X0-series nVidia GPU.
Quote:
I punch yo butt

- Tiny Tina

You micro your right stalker in, your left stalker out, and forcefield all about.
AblueXKRS is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-16-2011, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Swift Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via MSN to Swift Castiel Send a message via Skype™ to Swift Castiel
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralThrawn;12036033 
Yes. Makes no difference. Same architecture.

I'm running 4 Sata2 drives in Sata3 ports.

Thanks! That's exactly what I wanted to know.
Swift Castiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-16-2011, 05:50 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Im pretty sure this is possible try it anyway it wont harm your computer in anyway

poke.gifPROUD OWNER AF A 7750 (non black edition) tongue.gif
LuKrype is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off