What program to remove files? Selling my sig rig. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-11-2011, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
4.0 GHz
 
slytown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I want to remove, games, personal files, etc. from my HDD for sale, but what's the best program for that? I've used CC cleaner before, but want some suggestions. I plan to just keep windows 7.
slytown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-11-2011, 02:37 PM
1.7ghz
 
LiFTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to LiFTed
Reinstalling would be way easier since it removes traces of everything..

LiFTed is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-11-2011, 02:37 PM
PC Gamer
 
OverTheBelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Darik's Boot n Nuke.

Writes 0's to all sectors of your harddrives so 100% of files can't be recovered.

Support PC developers - act against piracy.

OverTheBelow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 02-11-2011, 02:39 PM
Commodore 64
 
Ophan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Another vote for Darwin's Boot and Nuke. Just boot off the CD and do a clean sweep. No need to go all out and wipe 10x just once will be enough. Just make sure you back everything up first.
Ophan is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-11-2011, 03:02 PM
Audiophile
 
anoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Land of Cheese and Snow (and sometimes happiness)
Posts: 2,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiFTed;12350144 
Reinstalling would be way easier since it removes traces of everything..

Nope, that doesn't remove everything that just re-writes over the data that is already there. Most files can still be accessed even with a reinstall.

There's only one proper way of removing data on hard drives and that is Darik's Boot and Nuke as some have already mentioned.

http://www.dban.org/

But as for destroying data you need a strong magnetic field.

anoob is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-23-2011, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
4.0 GHz
 
slytown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Looks like I'll be keeping the Windows 7 machine but selling my Mac. What's the best program for wiping an OSX HDD?
slytown is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-23-2011, 02:21 PM
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Kokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 6,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by slytown;12498276 
Looks like I'll be keeping the Windows 7 machine but selling my Mac. What's the best program for wiping an OSX HDD?

Good choice.
Kokin is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-23-2011, 02:26 PM
DrC
2.4ghz
 
DrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Can you use to wipe out just a slave or an external hard drive?

DrC is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-23-2011, 02:30 PM
Programmer
 
selectstriker2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrC;12498346 
Can you use to wipe out just a slave or an external hard drive?

you can use it to wipe any hard drive as I am aware, I've run it on both SATA and PATA drives, never had to do it on an external drive


Quote:
Originally Posted by VulcanDragon go_quote.gif
Look out! A zombie thread! I thought it was dead two years ago, but it's back! SHOOT IT!!! SHOOOOOOT IIIITTTT!!!!!!!!
selectstriker2 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-23-2011, 02:32 PM
DrC
2.4ghz
 
DrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I haven't had a chance to thoroughly look at it, but I was wondering because from glancing at the link, it says that it automatically wipes out any drive that's hooked up. It would be good to find a way to clean just a slave or external drive without wiping out the primary too.

DrC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off