[VR-Zone] Eizo to display 36.4" 4K resolution monitor at NAB 2012 - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 08:52 AM
Too Mean To Mod
 
Mookster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sexyland
Posts: 2,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackeyjoe View Post

This would take a ridiculous setup to run well... especially in games, I don't think it'd even be possible to play BF3 on this no matter the settings...

I'd say a pair of 7970's or 680's would do fine without crazy AA, but many of the OCN big budget builds would probably do just fine at extreme settings, except those who can't make the VRAM wall.

Mookster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 08:52 AM
 
SyncMaster753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Crazy to think that you could watch 4 1080p streams at once at full size on that thing.

I still dream of using a 30" 1600p monitor, but this puts it to Shame

Yeah.....i still play WC3 TFT, so what....

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhaedraCorruption go_quote.gif

It's bad practice to give advice based on ignorance.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

SyncMaster753 is offline  
post #23 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 08:57 AM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenthos View Post

Call me when it's actually cheap enough to be considered a monitor. Not a vanity item.
The vast majority of sales would be for professional work.... it is not a vanity item.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordikon View Post

I'd estimate 4-5 years.
Longer.... much longer....

30" monitors have been around for 5+ years and their prices have not moved much in the last 3 years. 27" monitors are moving down in price due to demand partly due to Apple.

For prices to really drop, you need mass adoption. HDTV will not go 4K any time in the next 5-10 years simply due to the lack of content and consumer demand.


To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 08:58 AM
 
linkdiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That monitor is really inexpensive if you understand properly the specs ... true 10 bit monitors are a few thousand dollars, and the monitors I've seen at that price were 23-24 inches. Increase the size by 13", quadruple the resolution, and include a 16 bit color table in the circuitry. I think that monitor is fairly priced, despite the markup of it's quasi monopoly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hickeydog go_quote.gif
So this machine is accelerating it's computational power by 1.87 petaflops per second? Now that's impressive. In the time it took me to write this, the machine increased performance by 112.3 petaflops.
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.overclock.net/t/1287375/tr-retina-display-for-pc-windows-8-gui/10#post_17810141 
Quote:
And what, pray tell, professional work are you doing that requires that degree of color accuracy? And while I'm at it, I might as well ask what calibrating tools the both of you use, as surely no professional with such requirements would settle for factory calibration.
MS Paint and I ask my dog for calibration she barks when it's right.
linkdiablo is offline  
post #25 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 09:06 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post

The vast majority of sales would be for professional work.... it is not a vanity item.

My previous post *snip* "For the average user". There. Happy ? tongue.gif


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Xenthos is offline  
post #26 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 09:09 AM
sleepy cat mode
 
Riou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: duffle bag
Posts: 13,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 817
These monitors will initially be for people who make movies and stuff like that. Price is too high for common computer users.

Riou is offline  
post #27 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 09:14 AM
Networking Nut
 
Traeumt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: istanbul
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
10 bit or not! lol just bought an ips capable of 8 bit processing and i wonder how "10 bit process" do.

done

Traeumt is offline  
post #28 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 09:48 AM
sleepy cat mode
 
Riou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: duffle bag
Posts: 13,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traeumt View Post

10 bit or not! lol just bought an ips capable of 8 bit processing and i wonder how "10 bit process" do.

There are very few applications like photography and medical imaging which support 10-bit color and you need expensive Quadro/FireGL cards because they restricted the drivers. Windows Aero does not support 10-bit color.

Riou is offline  
post #29 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 10:01 AM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traeumt View Post

10 bit or not! lol just bought an ips capable of 8 bit processing and i wonder how "10 bit process" do.

What do you mean?

10bit just means that the monitor supports color codes of up to 10-bits long. Since there are 3 colors, the OS and hardware have to support 30-bit colors.

W7 supports 48-bit colors already.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #30 of 72 Old 04-11-2012, 10:26 AM
I want to analyze your chassis
 
PureBlackFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Isn't this being used in airport control towers or something right now?

PureBlackFire is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off