[AnandTech] Crucial Demonstrates DDR4-2133 Modules - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
If I motor boat, she gonna motorbike
 
$ilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 15,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 550
Quote:
We’re not likely to be running DDR4 any time soon on desktops, and even most laptops are probably over a year away from getting the upgrade, but now is the time to prepare for the shift. To that end, Micron (Crucial) has a DDR4 demonstration running at CES 2013.

Source
BulletSponge likes this.
$ilent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 03:51 PM
PC Gamer
 
sherlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by $ilent View Post

Source

They will likely make a lot of money off the early adapters(Haswell-E users) just like they did during the first few years of DDR3.

I don't hug trees, but I do drive a Prius wink.gif

post-flame-small.gif GTX 1080 Overclock Leaderboard & Owners Club post-flame-small.gif


 
sherlock is offline  
post #3 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 03:55 PM
 
Vonnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Weird looking sticks, with the non-straight pin edge. Seems kind of pointless.
Vonnis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 03:56 PM
3.0ghz
 
LunchboxDDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Can't come soon enough for them! Memory is so cheap and has been for a while now. Profit margins have to be hurting.

LunchboxDDS is offline  
post #5 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 03:59 PM
 
brasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonnis View Post

Weird looking sticks, with the non-straight pin edge.

Maybe it's to make them easier to fit?

brasco is offline  
post #6 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 04:07 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Ferrari8608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: St. Louis Metro East
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasco View Post

Maybe it's to make them easier to fit?

Yes, that's what the article said. It supposedly reduces the force required to insert the module by half. I have never had any issues installing RAM myself, so this change is whatever.

Quote:
The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don't care whether you get them or not.
Ferrari8608 is offline  
post #7 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 04:15 PM
 
Vonnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasco View Post

Maybe it's to make them easier to fit?
That is indeed the reason according to the source, but I've never had trouble fitting RAM into the slots. I don't really see how this helps either.
Vonnis is offline  
post #8 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 04:15 PM
 
pcfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 10 TZ from home...
Posts: 3,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasco View Post

Maybe it's to make them easier to fit?

Probably makes it impossible to force push an incompatible dimm in...the notch could be "almost" aligning with older sticks so...
Don't know what else to think...I doubt it makes it any easier to fit this way - does it?

[Build Log] the FooBox - Watercooled 540 AIR, and 2700 threads
Forgive my rants - I am harmless - Nullius in verba after all.
pcfoo is offline  
post #9 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 04:18 PM
 
Kane2207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Crucial/Micron are on a roll today it seems smile.gif

Kane2207 is offline  
post #10 of 52 Old 01-10-2013, 04:47 PM
Commodore 64
 
gsa700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Will this ddr4 continue the "dual/triple/quad channel" method or will there be a more substantial shift to a wider memory bus or maybe a shared bus on a single channel?

The reason I ask is related to the "fact" that memory speed doesn't seem to increase performance so much on Sandy and Ivy, so is there some other bottleneck that could be improved by ddr4?

01001001 00100000 01100001 01101101 00100000 01100111 01110011 01100001 0110111 0110000 0110000
gsa700 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off