[Tech4Gamers] AMD Radeon RX 460 for $99 and the Radeon RX 470 for $149 - Page 33 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #321 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 09:36 AM
 
schubaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philippines
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
schubaltz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #322 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 09:45 AM
 
tkenietz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmericanLoco View Post

So it runs at a 15-20% higher clock than the 7790 and is 15-20% faster. Same memory buswidth, same shader count. What happened to all those "architecture improvements" AMD made to improve shader performance/efficiency?

At least the power consumption is down ~40 watts compared to the 7790, but I expected this to be a ~30-50 watt card based on AMD's early Polaris demos....
7790 used 69w on typical gaming load according to tpu. This is no improvement.



Edit: looking at charts on guru3d and it's pretty close to 950 in pretty much every game, even beats the 960 in hitman and rotr.. dunno how that's taken as bad.
tkenietz is offline  
post #323 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 10:02 AM
 
owliwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Do you think pairing the rx 460 with a amd apu will save that card? they had massive improves in some games last year or so? dont remember

because at this price its kinda pointless.
owliwar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #324 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 10:03 AM
 
owliwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Still, if it looked like the r9 nano as the picture i would buy one just for the looks but my dream is dead now
owliwar is offline  
post #325 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 10:05 AM
 
tkenietz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by owliwar View Post

Do you think pairing the rx 460 with a amd apu will save that card? they had massive improves in some games last year or so? dont remember

because at this price its kinda pointless.

It's as pointless as any of the cards at that price. And I believe if you ran it with an apu it would bring it's performance down much much lower, and you would have to deal with lack of support and terrible minimum frame rates all for performance that I would assume couldn't be much better than the 460 by itself, if any better at all
tkenietz is offline  
post #326 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 10:51 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
sepiashimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: India
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
RX 460 is priced at over $200 in India.
sepiashimmer is offline  
post #327 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post

Production cost are not inline to bonaire.

By what measure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post

Bonaire is launch at a more mature 28nm thats 1year 2 months after 7970 release, wafer cost is cheaper, but Bonaire are still launching at $160.


Bonaire was relaunched as Tobago (Bonaire Pro) in June 2015 as the R7 360 for $109 and Bonaire XTX was discontinued. Not sure where you are finding Bonaire for $160...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post

chip at this size will not have serious yield issues. It will have enough fully enable chips for laptops professional card & desktop. It makes no sense to disable 2 CU to have the GPU fall short below GTX950 which is already selling at very low price now. AMD did not defeat their competition at all. .


Like you said, there is no sense to this product. AMD has already announced a full Polaris 11 professional card at the same TDP without a 6 pin. There are also rumors of a full Polaris 11 entry for laptops.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post

if anything about mining craze, I think 36CU RX480 @ 150w is overall more efficient than 14CU 75w RX460.


This I can agree with.
LAKEINTEL likes this.

“You are young, my son, and, as the years go by, time will change and even reverse many of your present opinions. Refrain therefore awhile from setting yourself up as a judge of the highest matters. ” -Plato, Laws X

Inner liberty can be judged by how often a person feels offended, for you can no more insult a mature man than you can paint the air. -Vernon Howard


Slomo4shO is offline  
post #328 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 12:50 PM
1.3ghz
 
Popple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post

The 750Ti's power figure is totally out of line.

Popple is offline  
post #329 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popple View Post

The 750Ti's power figure is totally out of line.

Probably might be a OC model with 6-Pin.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #330 of 470 Old 08-08-2016, 01:00 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
NuclearPeace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
This is really, really, really poor from AMD. If it wasn't obvious before, GCN needs to either get scrapped or have serious improvements.
NuclearPeace is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off