[Twitter] Jen-Hsun introduces the new NVIDIA TITAN X - Page 208 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 04:46 AM
 
DADDYDC650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevChelios View Post

NDA also lifts on August 2-nd ?
Yes'm.

DADDYDC650 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 05:07 AM
 
DADDYDC650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Just found out why Nvidia is charging so much for the 1080 and Titan XP... tongue.gif
http://www.tweaktown.com/news/53181/nvidia-ordered-pay-each-geforce-gtx-970-30-over-vram-controversy/index.html

DADDYDC650 is offline  
post #2073 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 06:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyVT View Post

DX12 will address this, the problem is the way DX11 works. Vulkan will fix this too.

Umm micro-stuttering is an inherent phenomenon of multi-GPU rendering. It gets worse with each additional GPU. This has to do with the additional time variance added by the additional hardware. Improved frame-pacing communications by the GPUs in hardware will minimize and eliminate it. Not sure how DX12 or Vulkan will fix this.

GPU: GF2GTS 9700Pro 6600GT 8800GT GTX460 GTX570 GTX660(SLI) GTX980Ti 750Ti 1080Ti
CPU: 486DX2 P133 CyrixMII200 PII266 PIII550 XP2200+ XP3200+ Q6600 2100T 3770 4770K X5470 4790K 5775C 1660V2
RAM: 16GHYK0 32GBXVLP 32GTridentX
D3: g3ntooman#1708
post-flame-small.gifI have a 771 CPU in my 775 Motherboard! post-flame-small.gif
mouacyk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2074 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:39 AM
PC Gamer
 
rcfc89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargonplay View Post

At 1440p with a GTX 1080 I don't see why would I need two cards if I can just turn off the MSAA and use TSSAA, TAA or TSAA instead, even if the game doesn't support those then FXAA and SMAA should do.

I'm all for graphics, but there are graphics preset that makes no difference for 1440p like the Nightmare preset on Doom, Gameworks effects on the Witcher ETC...

Then you have adaptive sync that reduces the need for higher than 60 FPS in non competitive games, making everything smoother on lower FPS.

For games where FPS matter like Battlefield 4, Overwatch, Battlefield 1, CS:GO, Smite, HOTs I always tweak the settings for 130+ FPS while still having incredible graphics, for non competitive games 60 is more than enough, and in most of competitive games 200+ FPS is easily achievable with maxed out graphics with a 1070/1080 for a few exceptions (Battlefield 1, because Battlefield 4 already runs beyond 160 FPS 1440p maxed out).

So I don't think I need two GPUs, which would also introduce microstuttering to some degree, especially bad for competitive games where I could disable one GPU to eliminate it, but then again if I have to pay so much money just to have a GPU idling in the background most of the time then id rather just pay more for a single GPU.

Maybe in 4K but anything 1440p is night and day with Msaa. GtaV for example has a monumental visual difference with Msaa 8x vs. none at all. What ever floats your boat I guess. I want to see games at maximum potential. Have no interest in dialing settings back. Not when those settings make the game look considerably better. Not one single gpu available will give me a constant close to 80fps in 3440x1440 max settings Msaa 8x in GtaV. A pair of 980Ti's @ 1500mhz however will. SLI ftw thumb.gif


"GO HAWKS"
rcfc89 is offline  
post #2075 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:42 AM
 
ChevChelios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I would turn AA down/off to avoid SLI any day thumb.gif
ROKUGAN likes this.
ChevChelios is offline  
post #2076 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:44 AM
Auto Overclocker
 
criminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevChelios View Post

I would turn AA down/off to avoid SLI any day thumb.gif

Agree. Otherwise I might as well download 4k pictures and stare at them all day. Would give me more enjoyment than dealing with microstutter and other issues.

I have a big bang house. I had all the materials for my new house brought in and dumped on a vacant lot. I took a stick of dynamite, lit the fuse on fire and tossed it into the pile of materials. BOOM went the explosion and when the dust settled I had a new house! Amazing isn't it? rolleyes.gif

thumb.gif
criminal is offline  
post #2077 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by criminal View Post

I still believe it is an issue only certain people are sensitive to. I am not sure it can be fixed for those people. The ones that arent sensitive to it should thank their lucky stars.

Can't believe there is so little new info on the Titan XP this thread has turned into a multi-gpu discussion.

That is not the problem with Dual GPUs lol. The problem I face with CFX is CFX not working at all. Actual stuttering visible by eye, very poor scaling, increased input lag in some games, artifacts like screen flickering etc etc. "Micro Stuttering" is a myth is FCAT shows good frame times.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #2078 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:46 AM
Auto Overclocker
 
criminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

That is not the problem with Dual GPUs lol. The problem I face with CFX is CFX not working at all. Actual stuttering visible by eye, very poor scaling, increased input lag in some games, artifacts like screen flickering etc etc. "Micro Stuttering" is a myth is FCAT shows good frame times.

I assume you meant that's not the only problem with dual gpus. All those are reasons for me not to deal with dual gpus.

I have a big bang house. I had all the materials for my new house brought in and dumped on a vacant lot. I took a stick of dynamite, lit the fuse on fire and tossed it into the pile of materials. BOOM went the explosion and when the dust settled I had a new house! Amazing isn't it? rolleyes.gif

thumb.gif
criminal is offline  
post #2079 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by criminal View Post

I assume you meant that's not the only problem with dual gpus. All those are reasons for me not to deal with dual gpus.

All those problems I have in Witcher 3 and RoTR. They released Dual GPU support for RoTR DX12 and all was fixed. DX11 Dual GPU is dead.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #2080 of 3587 Old 07-29-2016, 07:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
GorillaSceptre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

All those problems I have in Witcher 3 and RoTR. They released Dual GPU support for RoTR DX12 and all was fixed. DX11 Dual GPU is dead.

Can't be.. I've been told repeatedly that DX12 and Vulkan multi-GPU can only be worse than DX11.. rolleyes.gif

CPU: 2600k @ 4.8GHZ
MB: Maximus IV Extreme-Z
GPU: MSI 390X
CASE: 650D
AUDIO: Xonar Essence One-AKG Q701
GorillaSceptre is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off