[AdoredTV] Pascal vs Maxwell at same clockspeeds, same FLOPS (1080 vs 980 Ti) - Page 8 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 07:53 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: istanbul
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtcn77 View Post

Yes, I know. If you would read my posts first, you'd come to the realization that I already noted on the conflicting evidence thereof. The irony is how they could have tested Fury X with 4GB VRAM at the nightmare settings that require 5GB...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLCLimax View Post

You can force nightmare settings on any GPU with a command line. It will not fair well on 4GB cards though, including the Fury and Fury X on Vulkan. The gap they have over even Pascal on Ultra settings is completely gone in Nightmare due to VRAM limitation.

But I thought fury line had "unbelievable" compression that it enables less memory to be used smile.gif

This cat scratches free.


**The Official Intel Core i5-2500K/i5-2550k/i7-2600K/i7-2700K Owners Club**
Windows 10 Pro x64
IN - Sapphire AMD 280x 3GB TRI-X OC (Non-Boost) 1020/1500(6000)
Out - AMD Radeon HD 6850/6870 Owners Thread

Catscratch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:00 AM
PC Gamer
 
FLCLimax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catscratch View Post

But I thought fury line had "unbelievable" compression that it enables less memory to be used smile.gif

that's one hell of a straw man.
FLCLimax is online now  
post #73 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:01 AM
Amiga 500
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Turkiye
Posts: 6,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Send a message via MSN to mtcn77 Send a message via Yahoo to mtcn77
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLCLimax View Post

You can force nightmare settings on any GPU with a command line. It will not fair well on 4GB cards though, including the Fury and Fury X on Vulkan. The gap they have over even Pascal on Ultra settings is completely gone in Nightmare due to VRAM limitation.
Fury X can do so, however shouldn't overriding the standard requirements of the test be regarded as its violation? It is clearly obfuscated whether the tests are conducted according to default settings or not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catscratch View Post


But I thought fury line had "unbelievable" compression that it enables less memory to be used smile.gif
It is about compression of the transmitted data, a.k.a bandwith and not vram allocation, imo.

mtcn77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:10 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: istanbul
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLCLimax View Post

that's one hell of a straw man.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtcn77 View Post

Fury X can do so, however shouldn't overriding the standard requirements of the test be regarded as its violation? It is clearly obfuscated whether the tests are conducted according to default settings or not.
It is about compression of the transmitted data, a.k.a bandwith and not vram allocation, imo.

Gimmick is gimmick biggrin.gif I was complled to mention that biggrin.gif I couldn't know the specifics, color compression etc, which started with R9 285 biggrin.gif

This cat scratches free.


**The Official Intel Core i5-2500K/i5-2550k/i7-2600K/i7-2700K Owners Club**
Windows 10 Pro x64
IN - Sapphire AMD 280x 3GB TRI-X OC (Non-Boost) 1020/1500(6000)
Out - AMD Radeon HD 6850/6870 Owners Thread

Catscratch is offline  
post #75 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:14 AM
 
ChevChelios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
I have an above average 980 Ti chip, but still, it matched a 1080 FE (stock) in most games/benchmarks, and beat the 1070 in everything. This is an one year old card.
With maximum OC on the 1080 (~2.1 GHz) it was 10-15% faster at 1440p.

I'm not changing card, buying new block, spending time on custom firmware / finding maximum stable OC for such a little increase in performance. Waste of time and money.

I'm passing on Pascal for sure, even the Titan and Ti can't make me buy it. Maxwell on shrink + small tweaks, nah.. Volta will probably be my next Nvidia architechture, trying out Vega in the meantime.
4096 Vega wont beat your above average 980Ti by any considerable margin (if at all) either wink.gif
ChevChelios is offline  
post #76 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:18 AM
Amiga 500
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Turkiye
Posts: 6,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Send a message via MSN to mtcn77 Send a message via Yahoo to mtcn77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catscratch View Post


Gimmick is gimmick biggrin.gif I was complled to mention that biggrin.gif I couldn't know the specifics, color compression etc, which started with R9 285 biggrin.gif
Great! Another person afflicted with thought terminating clichés...

mtcn77 is offline  
post #77 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:19 AM
Amiga 500
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Turkiye
Posts: 6,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Send a message via MSN to mtcn77 Send a message via Yahoo to mtcn77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevChelios View Post

4096 Vega wont beat your above average 980Ti by any considerable margin (if at all) either wink.gif
You seem rather certain that Vega won't be able to finish the job Fury X started with twice the bandwidth and possibly 4 times the vram.

mtcn77 is offline  
post #78 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:22 AM
 
Exeed Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mhill2029 View Post

Well this confirms my suspicions regarding Pascal, Nvidia pushed it to stupid high clocks just to be competitive against the previous architecture and make it look more impressive than it actually is.

No it doesn't. The 1080 has fewer cores, less bandwidth. I don't know why this is such a big deal, the 1080, the retail one you can buy, out performs the 980ti by 30%. It outperforms the 980 (which it is now replacing) by a good 50%. You people are just LOOKING for reasons to complain. Performance is performance. They got MORE clocks, at LESS power.
Exeed Orbit is offline  
post #79 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:25 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLCLimax View Post

You can force nightmare settings on any GPU with a command line. It will not fair well on 4GB cards though, including the Fury and Fury X on Vulkan. The gap they have over even Pascal on Ultra settings is completely gone in Nightmare due to VRAM limitation.
DX12 and Vulkan allow the use of system memory in addition to the local VRAM. In other words, if a game uses 7 GB, you can program it to allocate 4GB on the local VRAM, and the other 3GB on the system RAM. A smart developer would load whatever doesn't need to be accessed extremely quickly on the system RAM instead. Besides, if an Xbox One can get away with DDR3, how much of a bottleneck would the system RAM be?

No developer has done this yet though. But on the long term, VRAM will be less of an issue than right now, provided you have enough system RAM available.

I still feel more comfortable going with 8GB at least, since there's no guarantee that this feature will be used at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exeed Orbit View Post

No it doesn't. The 1080 has fewer cores, less bandwidth. I don't know why this is such a big deal, the 1080, the retail one you can buy, out performs the 980ti by 30%. It outperforms the 980 (which it is now replacing) by a good 50%. You people are just LOOKING for reasons to complain. Performance is performance. They got MORE clocks, at LESS power.
And the hardware still lacks the most important features that allow DX12 to flourish on it. Which means in a year or two, what happened to the 700 series will happen to the 1060/1070/1080 as well.

They might be fast right now, but they're a waste of money on the long term. You're better off buying a Fury card.
NightAntilli is offline  
post #80 of 305 Old 07-28-2016, 08:32 AM
Networking Nut
 
kylzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevChelios View Post

4096 Vega wont beat your above average 980Ti by any considerable margin (if at all) either wink.gif

2/10 bait.
Robenger likes this.

Intel i7 4790k @ 5ghz on H2o
Corsair Vengeance Pro - 32GB DDR3 - 2666Mhz
Gigabyte - Z97x Gaming 3
Sandisk X400 M.2 - 512GB
NAS Storage - x6 - 4TB WD RED
EVGA - 980ti SSC + Dell U2515H
Corsair - CX650M
kylzer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off